tempobet yeni adresi

21/06/2013 : BORN FOR BLISS - Innocent (EP)

BORN FOR BLISS

Innocent (EP)

MusicCD
Cold WaveGothic Rock

[98/100]   

Echozone
21/06/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Born for Bliss was born in 1994, not without a five star legacy... In the eighties, the Dutch Born for Bliss-members Frank Weyzig and Willem van Antwerpen created thrilling sounds together with the other founding members of the cult band (Clan of) Xymox, and on this new EP you can hear that these musicians were involved with early "Xymox"... After a long shut down they are back!

The title track starts very well, almost hypnotic! I love the chants, the slow jumping in of instruments, nice build up. I love Frank's voice. And indeed: you can hear that these musicians where part of the early Xymox. The guitars, the acoustic sound, drums and backings: they all fit so well and the production is fingerlicking great! This one could even become a club hit! Lori Sloan has also a nice and addictive voice. The variation within the song is great and there's a little extra that some songs need to make the difference.

'Forever' is a slow, with a nice piano and (I think) a cello or is it a violin? Frank and Lori sing together and their voices blend perfectly! The end is pretty mysterious, but could have been cut off a bit shorter (but oh my, who am I?). You can also listen to the instrumental version (last song on this EP).

'This Narrow place' starts with a nice 80 's sound, then the drums join in, then the synth and there I go again: the voice captivates you. The lyrics are a bit dramatic, just as the sound. In the end, it becomes even a bit bombastic, but I love it. The outro is great, nice fade out!

'Underground' really rocks, showing some more potential, but is it appropriate to say when speaking about this great band? Once again, the quality of the recording caught me and almost hypnotised me. I hope DJ's try this one out too! It has a lot of potential! I love the little break in the middle and the charismatic voice.

Born for Bliss is finally back! Can't wait to see them on stage or hear more new stuff from them! Thumbs up, very impatiently, so head on!

frankweyzig.com

www.bornforbliss.nl

facebook.com/frankweyzig

new clip:

http://terrarelicta.com/index.php/news/2245-born-for-bliss-new-video-clip-premiered-online


 

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
21/06/2013


 

Next reviews
TECHNOIR • We came for love
THE EDEN HOUSE • Half Life
COVENANT • Last Dance
PSY'AVIAH • Future Past (EP)
.COM/KILL
ENDUSER / NEEDLE SHARING / TEKNOIST, THE • Enduser Shares Needles With The Teknoist
NIMON • Drowning In Good Intentions
MXRCXL • A Lauging Matter
VARIOUS ARTISTS • _ever Alive: A Tribute to Snowy Red
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO, IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES, ROME, TRIARI, MENTALPLASTIC BODYFILLER, EMPUSAE, DEAD MAN'S HILL & MR. MANUVA • Porta Nigra, 1/6/2013, Aarschot, Belgium

 

Other reviews from BORN FOR BLISS
BORN FOR BLISS • Falling Back To Never
BORN FOR BLISS • Diary of recording an album

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
O VEUX • O Veux
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • Human Taxonomy
NORMA LOY • Baphomet
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
OPENED PARADISE • Buried in Rain
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading