tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/10/2015 : BORN FOR BLISS - Falling Back To Never

BORN FOR BLISS

Falling Back To Never

MusicCD
Gothic RockPsychedelic

[81/100]   

Echozone
14/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It has been eighteen years since Frank Weyzig, Willem van Antwerpen and Remco Helbers (who later joined the band) founded Born For Bliss (often abbreviated as B4B). The group was often categorized as gothic because Weyzig was part of Clan Of Xymox in the early days. Although you still can hear the dreamy goth atmosphere, the music has progressed to atmospheric psychedelic rock with a dark (say black) side. After a second album, the trio disappeared for a while from the music scene as inspirer Frank was involved in White Rose Transmission. The resurrection of Born For Bliss actually came when the German Echo Zone label was interested in releasing the never released album Between Living And Dreaming. Suddenly the three were keen to do something else and after the release of an EP, their new album Falling Back To Never is out.

It's funny that a couple of days ago we asked Frank which records have influenced his life, because all the bands the Dutchman mentioned are in one way or another included in this new album.

Opener Innocent is a song that was made to play hard, preferably with headphones on so you can be transported to the psychedelic rock that gives you a punch in the stomach, but that is also beautiful. This Narrow Place is also psychedelic, this time added with synths which give the song an almost magical effect. Porcupine Tree is never far away.

Of course a perfect CD also needs a poppy track (whatever that means), but if you ever feel the need to sing a Born For Bliss song in the shower, then Underground is the ideal choice. From pop to pure bombast, it is possible, Greed is the kind of song that could be a lost track of The Wall, but Frank Weyzig is the one who composed the song.

Each Clan Of Xymox fan will be surprised when hearing Falling Back. It is certainly the best (and most impressive) song that Born For Bliss has ever done, and it recalls you of a song named Crying In The Wind. Beautiful, and after hearing this track, you ask yourself why this psychedelic goth rock band never reached a bigger audience. Anyone who loves Merciful Nuns or Whispers In The Shadow, should embrace this trio! Sublime!

Better Than Me seems like an (original ) tribute to Pink Floyd! Wrong is one piece of energy, a song that consists of various layers and reveals its true identity after several spins. The sound of Four Horsemen is as menacing as the title suggests. Thorns is yet another track on which the guitars carry you away to distant dreams, the Fields Of The Nephilim feeling on this record is always somewhere nearby. We finish with Anxiety, in which the trio unleashes its demons for ten minutes.

Falling Back To Never is not an easy record, it even requires serious efforts of the listener and it takes a while before you understand the B4B world, but thankfully you get a lot in return. Without any doubt the strongest thing Born For Bliss has ever done! Impressive!

Didier BECU
14/10/2015


NL

Het is ondertussen al achttien jaar geleden dat Frank Weyzig, Willem van Antwerpen en Remco Helbers (die er wat later bijkwam) Born For Bliss (vaak afgekort als B4B) oprichtten. De groep werd vaak in het gothicvakje gestopt omdat Weyzig jarenlang deel uitmaakte van Clan Of Xymox. Alhoewel je de dromerige gothsfeer nog altijd kan horen, is de muziek van dit Nederlandse trio geëvolueerd naar atmosferische psychedelische rock met een duister (zeg maar zwart) kantje. Na een tweede album verdween het trio voor een tijdje van het muziektoneel omdat bezieler Frank betrokken was bij White Rose Transmission. De verrijzenis van Born For Bliss kwam er eigenlijk toen het Duitse Echozone-label interesse had om het onuitgebrachte album Between Living and Dreaming alsnog op de markt te brengen. Het drietal had er plots weer zin in en na de release van een ep, ligt ondertussen hun nieuwste spruit (Falling Back To Never) in de winkelrekken te glunderen.

Het is grappig dat we een paar dagen geleden Frank vroegen welke platen zijn leven hebben beïnvloed, want al de bands waarmee de Nederlander op de proppen kwam, zitten op de één of andere manier in deze nieuwe plaat verwerkt.

Opener Innocent is een nummer dat gemaakt is om keihard te spelen, liefst met de koptelefoon op je hoofd, zodat je wordt meegevoerd op de tonen van psychedelische rock die je tegelijkertijd een stomp in de maag verkoopt, maar die ook bloedstollend mooi is. This Narrow Place is tevens psychedelica, maar deze keer met synths die een betoverend effect hebben. Porcupine Tree is nooit veraf.

Een perfecte plaat heeft natuurlijk ook een poppy track nodig (wat dat ook mag betekenen), maar als je ooit de behoefte hebt om een nummer van Born For Bliss onder de douche te zingen, dan is Underground de ideale keuze. Van pop naar pure bombast, het moet kunnen, Greed is het soort nummer dat ooit wel eens als een verloren track uit The Wall zou kunnen opduiken, maar het is wel degelijk Frank Weyzig die het lied componeerde.

Iedere Clan Of Xymox-fan zal wel van zijn stoel donderen als hij Falling Back hoort. Het is zonder meer het mooiste (en meest imponerende) wat Born For Bliss ooit heeft gedaan, maar het doet je wel denken aan een nummer dat Crying In The Wind heet. Wondermooi, en na het horen van deze track, vraag je je alleen maar af waarom deze psychedelische gothrockgroep nooit een groter publiek heeft bereikt. Wie van Merciful Nuns of Whispers In The Shadow houdt, kan niet anders dan dit trio omarmen. Groots!

Maar niet alleen Clan Of Xymox-fans worden op hun wenken bediend, Better Than Me lijkt een (originele) ode aan Pink Floyd te zijn! Wrong is één stuk energie, een nummer dat uit verschillende lagen bestaat en pas zijn ware identiteit na een aantal beluisteringen onthult. Het geluid van Four Horsemen klinkt even dreigend als de titel. Thorns is alweer zo’n nummer waarop de gitaren je naar verre dromen wegvoeren, het Fields Of The Nephilim-gevoel is op deze plaat altijd wel ergens in de buurt. Afsluiten doen we met Anxiety, waarin het trio tien minuten lang zijn demonen op de wereld loslaat.

Falling Back To Never klinkt geen seconde gemakkelijk, het vergt zelfs de allerhoogste inspanningen van de luisteraar en het duurt een tijdje vooraleer je de plaat door hebt, gelukkig krijg je er heel wat genot voor terug. Zonder twijfel het sterkste wat deze Nederlanders ooit hebben gedaan! Knap!

Didier BECU
14/10/2015


 

Next reviews
ETHAN FAWKES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YABANCI • Chaoss
SHE PAST AWAY • B52, Eernegem (11/10/2015)
SKINDRED • Volume
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk
ANGÉLINE • Back To Pike Place
MIKE KEIRSBILCK (CONSOULING SOUNDS/9000 RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BORN FOR BLISS • Diary of recording an album
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
LIA FAIL • Cynical Stones

 

Other reviews from BORN FOR BLISS
BORN FOR BLISS • Diary of recording an album
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + PSYCHEDELIC
STILL PATIENT? • Shape Shifters

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'
07
10
20 years of Mindstrip by Suicide Commando!
06
10
New MOTOR!K album MOTOR!K - 2 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
LISA GERRARD(DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!
16
10
AKALOTZ
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... AKALOTZ!
26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
16
10
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods
15
10
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
Gold (Live at WGT 2014)
14
10
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)