tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/10/2015 : BORN FOR BLISS - Falling Back To Never

BORN FOR BLISS

Falling Back To Never

MusicCD
Gothic RockPsychedelic

[81/100]   

Echozone
14/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It has been eighteen years since Frank Weyzig, Willem van Antwerpen and Remco Helbers (who later joined the band) founded Born For Bliss (often abbreviated as B4B). The group was often categorized as gothic because Weyzig was part of Clan Of Xymox in the early days. Although you still can hear the dreamy goth atmosphere, the music has progressed to atmospheric psychedelic rock with a dark (say black) side. After a second album, the trio disappeared for a while from the music scene as inspirer Frank was involved in White Rose Transmission. The resurrection of Born For Bliss actually came when the German Echo Zone label was interested in releasing the never released album Between Living And Dreaming. Suddenly the three were keen to do something else and after the release of an EP, their new album Falling Back To Never is out.

It's funny that a couple of days ago we asked Frank which records have influenced his life, because all the bands the Dutchman mentioned are in one way or another included in this new album.

Opener Innocent is a song that was made to play hard, preferably with headphones on so you can be transported to the psychedelic rock that gives you a punch in the stomach, but that is also beautiful. This Narrow Place is also psychedelic, this time added with synths which give the song an almost magical effect. Porcupine Tree is never far away.

Of course a perfect CD also needs a poppy track (whatever that means), but if you ever feel the need to sing a Born For Bliss song in the shower, then Underground is the ideal choice. From pop to pure bombast, it is possible, Greed is the kind of song that could be a lost track of The Wall, but Frank Weyzig is the one who composed the song.

Each Clan Of Xymox fan will be surprised when hearing Falling Back. It is certainly the best (and most impressive) song that Born For Bliss has ever done, and it recalls you of a song named Crying In The Wind. Beautiful, and after hearing this track, you ask yourself why this psychedelic goth rock band never reached a bigger audience. Anyone who loves Merciful Nuns or Whispers In The Shadow, should embrace this trio! Sublime!

Better Than Me seems like an (original ) tribute to Pink Floyd! Wrong is one piece of energy, a song that consists of various layers and reveals its true identity after several spins. The sound of Four Horsemen is as menacing as the title suggests. Thorns is yet another track on which the guitars carry you away to distant dreams, the Fields Of The Nephilim feeling on this record is always somewhere nearby. We finish with Anxiety, in which the trio unleashes its demons for ten minutes.

Falling Back To Never is not an easy record, it even requires serious efforts of the listener and it takes a while before you understand the B4B world, but thankfully you get a lot in return. Without any doubt the strongest thing Born For Bliss has ever done! Impressive!

Didier BECU
14/10/2015


NL

Het is ondertussen al achttien jaar geleden dat Frank Weyzig, Willem van Antwerpen en Remco Helbers (die er wat later bijkwam) Born For Bliss (vaak afgekort als B4B) oprichtten. De groep werd vaak in het gothicvakje gestopt omdat Weyzig jarenlang deel uitmaakte van Clan Of Xymox. Alhoewel je de dromerige gothsfeer nog altijd kan horen, is de muziek van dit Nederlandse trio geëvolueerd naar atmosferische psychedelische rock met een duister (zeg maar zwart) kantje. Na een tweede album verdween het trio voor een tijdje van het muziektoneel omdat bezieler Frank betrokken was bij White Rose Transmission. De verrijzenis van Born For Bliss kwam er eigenlijk toen het Duitse Echozone-label interesse had om het onuitgebrachte album Between Living and Dreaming alsnog op de markt te brengen. Het drietal had er plots weer zin in en na de release van een ep, ligt ondertussen hun nieuwste spruit (Falling Back To Never) in de winkelrekken te glunderen.

Het is grappig dat we een paar dagen geleden Frank vroegen welke platen zijn leven hebben beïnvloed, want al de bands waarmee de Nederlander op de proppen kwam, zitten op de één of andere manier in deze nieuwe plaat verwerkt.

Opener Innocent is een nummer dat gemaakt is om keihard te spelen, liefst met de koptelefoon op je hoofd, zodat je wordt meegevoerd op de tonen van psychedelische rock die je tegelijkertijd een stomp in de maag verkoopt, maar die ook bloedstollend mooi is. This Narrow Place is tevens psychedelica, maar deze keer met synths die een betoverend effect hebben. Porcupine Tree is nooit veraf.

Een perfecte plaat heeft natuurlijk ook een poppy track nodig (wat dat ook mag betekenen), maar als je ooit de behoefte hebt om een nummer van Born For Bliss onder de douche te zingen, dan is Underground de ideale keuze. Van pop naar pure bombast, het moet kunnen, Greed is het soort nummer dat ooit wel eens als een verloren track uit The Wall zou kunnen opduiken, maar het is wel degelijk Frank Weyzig die het lied componeerde.

Iedere Clan Of Xymox-fan zal wel van zijn stoel donderen als hij Falling Back hoort. Het is zonder meer het mooiste (en meest imponerende) wat Born For Bliss ooit heeft gedaan, maar het doet je wel denken aan een nummer dat Crying In The Wind heet. Wondermooi, en na het horen van deze track, vraag je je alleen maar af waarom deze psychedelische gothrockgroep nooit een groter publiek heeft bereikt. Wie van Merciful Nuns of Whispers In The Shadow houdt, kan niet anders dan dit trio omarmen. Groots!

Maar niet alleen Clan Of Xymox-fans worden op hun wenken bediend, Better Than Me lijkt een (originele) ode aan Pink Floyd te zijn! Wrong is één stuk energie, een nummer dat uit verschillende lagen bestaat en pas zijn ware identiteit na een aantal beluisteringen onthult. Het geluid van Four Horsemen klinkt even dreigend als de titel. Thorns is alweer zo’n nummer waarop de gitaren je naar verre dromen wegvoeren, het Fields Of The Nephilim-gevoel is op deze plaat altijd wel ergens in de buurt. Afsluiten doen we met Anxiety, waarin het trio tien minuten lang zijn demonen op de wereld loslaat.

Falling Back To Never klinkt geen seconde gemakkelijk, het vergt zelfs de allerhoogste inspanningen van de luisteraar en het duurt een tijdje vooraleer je de plaat door hebt, gelukkig krijg je er heel wat genot voor terug. Zonder twijfel het sterkste wat deze Nederlanders ooit hebben gedaan! Knap!

Didier BECU
14/10/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel