tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/10/2015 : YABANCI - Chaoss

YABANCI

Chaoss

MusicCD
Dark WaveGothic Rock

[85/100]   

SwissDarkNights
14/10/2015, Didier BECU

You won’t find that much info about this Italian trio on the net, but because quality sells, this may not take too long. Two years after the release of the EP Birth, the three are back with a mini-CD that has seven songs.

Laura, Emiliana and Valerio certainly listened to the great goth rock examples, and even though you can easily recognize their influences, they still manage to come up with a very personal sound.

Chaoss actually feels like a superb trip to the dark past of the 80s. Already in the instrumental opener Sublimate you hear the mystique of Bauhaus, and when Laura sings, it is clear that Yabanci adores Siouxsie & The Banshees without sounding like a copy.

Coma is a very dark song with a Birthday Massacre touch, while The Call is already an instant classic that belongs on every self-respecting goth party. The song is doomy, danceable because of the tribal drums and it stays in your head. The band will forgive us that we think that The Veil sounds a bit like Sin In My Heart by Siouxsie, but why can’t musicians look up to their idols?

Star In A Man is a dark goth rock song with a mysterious piano, and perhaps the darkest track on this mini-album. Through the use of the Italian language and the dark cult atmosphere, it's hard not to think of Kirlian Camera on the title track Chaoss that is divided into two tracks, although the second part is uptempo goth rock.

You can drop many names when hearing Yabanci, from Christian Death to Sex Gang Children, you will find in each track something of the great gods. That is called respect! Yabanci is gothrock at its best, highly recommended!

You can listen to this mini-album through Bandcamp, but it's of course better to get the disc. You'll have to hurry because this gem is limited to 500 copies.

Didier BECU
14/10/2015


 

Next reviews
SHE PAST AWAY • B52, Eernegem (11/10/2015)
SKINDRED • Volume
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk
ANGÉLINE • Back To Pike Place
MIKE KEIRSBILCK (CONSOULING SOUNDS/9000 RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BORN FOR BLISS • Diary of recording an album
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
LIA FAIL • Cynical Stones
CATHOLIC SPIT • A Pact With The Devil
DANIEL BARBIERO & CRISTIANO BOCCI • Vόστος

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
LACRIMOSA • Hoffnung
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
AEON SABLE • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SAGITARIO • Violent
ASH CODE • Empty Room (Single)
DIARY OF DREAMS • Elegies in Darkness
SALVATION AMP • Hidden Faces
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation