tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/10/2013 : SALVATION AMP - Hidden Faces

SALVATION AMP

Hidden Faces

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark WaveGothic Rock

[80/100]   

afmusic
06/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Yet another band I didn't know, thx to Falk Merten. It's nice to know that I received nr. 212 of 500 copies from this one.

This one ('Hear me') starts off pretty bluesy, with a nice guitar. The voice is not bad. Somehow it reminds me of the movie 'Lost Highway' and of 'Twin Peaks'. It has a spooky sound, mixed with noises from the wild nature. 'Salvation' is more into Gothic Rock with a cool retro sound (and some typical Fields of The Nephilim adds). Love the epic guitars and the strong chorus, this song I one of those I will put into my I-tunes playlist for sure! '(we are here) is another soft one, tearing you down into a dream faze: it's indeed a nice interlude. 'Pandorum' is more up-tempo with the typical gothic Rock feel and a nice chorus (love the melancholic sound). 'She in the rain' has the same qualities as the previous one. 'Falling' has something in it that reminds me of another song, but it just doesn't enter my mind, it slips away somehow. It's a nice slow one, with great drums and guitars. The vocals are also great. 'Last night' is not the song I know from The Elusive: it's softer and somehow the weakest song on the album (somehow the voice could be more powerful, at least until the chorus comes). 'Stormclouds' sounds great as a title, but the song is softer as what I expected. Still it's a great song, with an epic sound and nice solo's. 'Iceflower' is a nice title for a track, love the softer side of the singer on his vocal duty for this one. I would love to see and hear this one on stage. 'Hidden faces' is a nice up-tempo track, with a well worked out epic sound (great guitars, mastered drums, a great mix on the voice). 'Seeker' sounds like a videogame play. Short and lovely, seeking for that one magical item that you need. Great last track that keeps the magic going on.

To end this one: It's a nice discovery. I hope a lot of other people will try it out and maybe we'll see them somewhere on stage too. I think they can get a little bit of help to get a bit higher up, but that's up to the fans and promoters...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
06/10/2013


 

Next reviews
30,000 MONKIES • Somewhere Over The Painbow
FUXA • Dirty D.
POLYNOMIQ • Languages (exclusive preview)
ERAN CREEVY • WELCOME TO THE PUNCH
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)
DER BLUTHARSCH, POSITION PARALLELE, DEUTSCH NEPAL, JASTREB, MONGOLITO • Review of the concert at Magasin 4 in Brussels on 28th September 2013
THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD • To Lunar Canyons
BRUCE LEE • Bruce Lee: The Complete Boxset
CLOé DU TRèFLE • D'une nuit à une autre
KARL MARKOVICS • Atmen

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
ASH CODE • Empty Room (Single)
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber
THE NIGHTCHILD • The world unseen, the world unknown
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • If Wormwood Falls

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural

Music reviews

19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me