tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/10/2013 : SALVATION AMP - Hidden Faces

SALVATION AMP

Hidden Faces

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark WaveGothic Rock

[80/100]   

afmusic
06/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Yet another band I didn't know, thx to Falk Merten. It's nice to know that I received nr. 212 of 500 copies from this one.

This one ('Hear me') starts off pretty bluesy, with a nice guitar. The voice is not bad. Somehow it reminds me of the movie 'Lost Highway' and of 'Twin Peaks'. It has a spooky sound, mixed with noises from the wild nature. 'Salvation' is more into Gothic Rock with a cool retro sound (and some typical Fields of The Nephilim adds). Love the epic guitars and the strong chorus, this song I one of those I will put into my I-tunes playlist for sure! '(we are here) is another soft one, tearing you down into a dream faze: it's indeed a nice interlude. 'Pandorum' is more up-tempo with the typical gothic Rock feel and a nice chorus (love the melancholic sound). 'She in the rain' has the same qualities as the previous one. 'Falling' has something in it that reminds me of another song, but it just doesn't enter my mind, it slips away somehow. It's a nice slow one, with great drums and guitars. The vocals are also great. 'Last night' is not the song I know from The Elusive: it's softer and somehow the weakest song on the album (somehow the voice could be more powerful, at least until the chorus comes). 'Stormclouds' sounds great as a title, but the song is softer as what I expected. Still it's a great song, with an epic sound and nice solo's. 'Iceflower' is a nice title for a track, love the softer side of the singer on his vocal duty for this one. I would love to see and hear this one on stage. 'Hidden faces' is a nice up-tempo track, with a well worked out epic sound (great guitars, mastered drums, a great mix on the voice). 'Seeker' sounds like a videogame play. Short and lovely, seeking for that one magical item that you need. Great last track that keeps the magic going on.

To end this one: It's a nice discovery. I hope a lot of other people will try it out and maybe we'll see them somewhere on stage too. I think they can get a little bit of help to get a bit higher up, but that's up to the fans and promoters...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
06/10/2013


 

Next reviews
30,000 MONKIES • Somewhere Over The Painbow
FUXA • Dirty D.
POLYNOMIQ • Languages (exclusive preview)
ERAN CREEVY • WELCOME TO THE PUNCH
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)
DER BLUTHARSCH, POSITION PARALLELE, DEUTSCH NEPAL, JASTREB, MONGOLITO • Review of the concert at Magasin 4 in Brussels on 28th September 2013
THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD • To Lunar Canyons
BRUCE LEE • Bruce Lee: The Complete Boxset
CLOé DU TRèFLE • D'une nuit à une autre
KARL MARKOVICS • Atmen

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
ASH CODE • Empty Room (Single)
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber
THE NIGHTCHILD • The world unseen, the world unknown
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • If Wormwood Falls

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy