tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/10/2013 : CLOé DU TRèFLE - D'une nuit à une autre

CLOé DU TRèFLE

D'une nuit à une autre

MusicCD
ElectroEthereal / Heavenly VoicesPopSinger Songwriter

[95/100]   

Trefle Prod.
01/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To start with, I know Cloé Since the 90's. I was member of the organisation of Woodjet Rock Festival and had to interview her, take pictures of her, write the promo article... Since them i kept following her. She played in the AB, Botanique, Dour Festival and so many other nice places.

20 years after that I get one of the nicest booklets I have ever seen, must have costed a fortune. The music has even a bit of electro influences. The French is very stylish, still with a little bit of An Pierlé influences. Love the nice and well worked out production. 'L'appel' is a stylish intro. 'Je pars' has nice violins and a nice drive. For years 'No Matter' was on my mp3 and later on my i-tunes (please if you don't know this song: go looking after it), as a fix song and I think this one will be added soon enough. 'L'epicier' sounds like a trip trough Brussels, with all the lowparts and the nice accents of people from all kind of parts of Europe who live in Brussels, all together. Somehow this song reminds me a bit of Front242, in a French version. Love the electro and the nice musical details. 'L'esquisse' is another nice electro minded track, with a vocal play, nice strings and funny little noises. A ravishing ecclectic song, with an angelic voice. 'Le Musée' is a classic track, meaning a lot of classic intruments have been used here. The lyrics are like a poem, sung as if it was a nice game of wordplay. 'Descendance' has some reggae flow in it, reflecting the city life & love. Maybe I should call it a city soundscape? I hear even some 80's and Miles Davis influences. 'Jef' is another city story about this guy, with a classic 'Underviewer' drive, love it. 'Chanchan' sounds as a song from the 60's with some electro wizz kid things (some drum' bass) and is sung in English. Love the bassline in this song and the sound of Cloé's voice. 'Même longitude mais bien plus au Nord' is a typical Cloé du Trefle sad song with the melancholic voice and dito story. It's clearly where this story is going and what the message is. It's clear why she was on the same stage as Ani DiFranco years ago. Top quality from Brussels! 'Avez-vous rencontré' is a very poetic song, with a great piano and the nice wordplay i know from this great artist. Nicely and smoothly building up the tension. 'L'effeuilleuse' is another great piano song, where you can hear no sound but the sound of great and talented people producing an angelic sound, with classic instruments. Love the violins and the cello, they add thi little extra. This is a song you need to hear and see during a gig, whilst holding your lover. You might shed a tear in the end. This song gives me goosebumps and goes straight to my bones. 'L'air semble déjà différent' starts very simple, almost a capella. Slowly building up, adding sounds and instruments. Without really noticing you will start to move and maybe even start to dance on this song. A great ending for a pearl, a beauty of the heart! Love the musical chaos in the end, taking it to the top, getting to the musical extasy!

Cloe did a great job, not only is the music great, but she dared to bring the story of an illegal living in Brussels. This album is the story of this person, nowadays a hot topic. So thumbs up for daring to bring this story!

I hope you will all embrace this talent from Brussels! I'm for sure still sold. It's a pleasure when you can see an artist grow, getting stronger, better, wiser and mature!

more info:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cloe-du-Trefle/146143049153?fref=ts

http://www.cloedutrefle.com/cloe/News.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=CbpqquLj-LM

review of a previous gig:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/cloe-lylac-live-at-the-botanique-10-10-2013-brussels-belgium/?viaadmin=1

new gig, 28/02/2014 at Ixelles. More info:

https://www.facebook.com/events/1454757508085654/?ref_newsfeed_story_type=regular&source=1

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/10/2013


 

Next reviews
KARL MARKOVICS • Atmen
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Control EP
ARTS OF EREBUS • An Open Case Of Parousia
AEON SABLE • Aequinoctium
ROT ON THE MARCH • Era of the Penultimate Steps
• ESN X - Electric Summer Night 2013 - 28 september 2013
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Imprint Daath
NFD • Reformations
ROMAIN GRAVAS • OUR DAY WILL COME
VELOCHROME • A new design for love

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline