tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/10/2013 : CLOé DU TRèFLE - D'une nuit à une autre

CLOé DU TRèFLE

D'une nuit à une autre

MusicCD
ElectroEthereal / Heavenly VoicesPopSinger Songwriter

[95/100]   

Trefle Prod.
01/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To start with, I know Cloé Since the 90's. I was member of the organisation of Woodjet Rock Festival and had to interview her, take pictures of her, write the promo article... Since them i kept following her. She played in the AB, Botanique, Dour Festival and so many other nice places.

20 years after that I get one of the nicest booklets I have ever seen, must have costed a fortune. The music has even a bit of electro influences. The French is very stylish, still with a little bit of An Pierlé influences. Love the nice and well worked out production. 'L'appel' is a stylish intro. 'Je pars' has nice violins and a nice drive. For years 'No Matter' was on my mp3 and later on my i-tunes (please if you don't know this song: go looking after it), as a fix song and I think this one will be added soon enough. 'L'epicier' sounds like a trip trough Brussels, with all the lowparts and the nice accents of people from all kind of parts of Europe who live in Brussels, all together. Somehow this song reminds me a bit of Front242, in a French version. Love the electro and the nice musical details. 'L'esquisse' is another nice electro minded track, with a vocal play, nice strings and funny little noises. A ravishing ecclectic song, with an angelic voice. 'Le Musée' is a classic track, meaning a lot of classic intruments have been used here. The lyrics are like a poem, sung as if it was a nice game of wordplay. 'Descendance' has some reggae flow in it, reflecting the city life & love. Maybe I should call it a city soundscape? I hear even some 80's and Miles Davis influences. 'Jef' is another city story about this guy, with a classic 'Underviewer' drive, love it. 'Chanchan' sounds as a song from the 60's with some electro wizz kid things (some drum' bass) and is sung in English. Love the bassline in this song and the sound of Cloé's voice. 'Même longitude mais bien plus au Nord' is a typical Cloé du Trefle sad song with the melancholic voice and dito story. It's clearly where this story is going and what the message is. It's clear why she was on the same stage as Ani DiFranco years ago. Top quality from Brussels! 'Avez-vous rencontré' is a very poetic song, with a great piano and the nice wordplay i know from this great artist. Nicely and smoothly building up the tension. 'L'effeuilleuse' is another great piano song, where you can hear no sound but the sound of great and talented people producing an angelic sound, with classic instruments. Love the violins and the cello, they add thi little extra. This is a song you need to hear and see during a gig, whilst holding your lover. You might shed a tear in the end. This song gives me goosebumps and goes straight to my bones. 'L'air semble déjà différent' starts very simple, almost a capella. Slowly building up, adding sounds and instruments. Without really noticing you will start to move and maybe even start to dance on this song. A great ending for a pearl, a beauty of the heart! Love the musical chaos in the end, taking it to the top, getting to the musical extasy!

Cloe did a great job, not only is the music great, but she dared to bring the story of an illegal living in Brussels. This album is the story of this person, nowadays a hot topic. So thumbs up for daring to bring this story!

I hope you will all embrace this talent from Brussels! I'm for sure still sold. It's a pleasure when you can see an artist grow, getting stronger, better, wiser and mature!

more info:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cloe-du-Trefle/146143049153?fref=ts

http://www.cloedutrefle.com/cloe/News.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=CbpqquLj-LM

review of a previous gig:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/cloe-lylac-live-at-the-botanique-10-10-2013-brussels-belgium/?viaadmin=1

new gig, 28/02/2014 at Ixelles. More info:

https://www.facebook.com/events/1454757508085654/?ref_newsfeed_story_type=regular&source=1

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/10/2013


 

Next reviews
KARL MARKOVICS • Atmen
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Control EP
ARTS OF EREBUS • An Open Case Of Parousia
AEON SABLE • Aequinoctium
ROT ON THE MARCH • Era of the Penultimate Steps
• ESN X - Electric Summer Night 2013 - 28 september 2013
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Imprint Daath
NFD • Reformations
ROMAIN GRAVAS • OUR DAY WILL COME
VELOCHROME • A new design for love

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

18
11
THE COCKY BITCHES
MERCY
17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad