tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

29/09/2013 : ROMAIN GRAVAS - OUR DAY WILL COME

ROMAIN GRAVAS

OUR DAY WILL COME

Movie


[78/100]   

Filmfreaks
29/09/2013, Didier BECU

EN

So far Romain Gavras was known in the musicscene because of his videoclips from M.I.A., but since Our Day Will Come (in French Notre Jour Viendra) he also wants to conquer the movieworld with some shocking images. And judging on his debut it looks like he did a very fine job even if this is mainly due to Vincent Cassel. As after all it’s difficult to find a much better person than him for an extremely violent role, not?

All by all there is not that much story in the movie and that’s probably because Our Day Will Come can be best described as a kind-of-tribute to the nihilism of today’s society. No one understands the young Rémy ( Olivier Barthélémy). He’s neglected by anyone and even behind his pc-screen he’s the victim from harassments. This all changes when he met the disturbed psychiatrist Patrick (Vincent Cassel). The two decide to go to Ireland but before they hit their goal, they transform Northern France into their playground.

The movie looks like a magnificent tribute to the work of Bertrand Blier. Just like Gerard Depardieu and Patrick Dewaere in Les Valseuses, Cassel and Barthélemy show no mercy or pity for their victims. Anyone who crosses their path can better start praying and hoping that everything will be allright.

The only weird thing though is that the finale misses some force, but apart from that you can state that Our Day Will Come is as strong as Baise-Moi and almost as magnificent as Natural Born Killers.

This rather strange look on today’s society by Romain Gavras is available on both dvd and Blu-ray and is in the Benelux available through Filmfreaks.

A tip for those who liked La Haine, Baise-Moi or Preparez Vos Mouchoirs.

 

 

Didier BECU
29/09/2013


NL

Romain Gavras was tot op heden een bekende naam in de muziekwereld die heel wat stof deed opwaaien met de controversiële clip van M.I.A., maar met Our Day Will Come (in het Frans Notre Jour Viendra) wil hij ook de nodige keet in de filmwereld schoppen. Dat is iets wat hem met verve lukt, ofschoon hij zeer veel te danken heeft aan Vincent Cassel. Want zeg nu zelf, kan je een betere karakterkop dan Cassel vinden als je een geweldfilm wil maken?

Er zit eigenlijk maar weinig verhaal in Gavras debuut en dat komt vooral omdat Our Day Will Come in feite een ode (of zoiets toch) aan het nihilisme van de huidige maatschappij is. Rémy ( Olivier Barthélémy) is een nietsnut die zich door niemand begrepen voelt. Iedereen negeert de roodharige jongeman. Zelfs wanneer hij achter zijn pc-scherm zit om Warcraft te spelen is hij het slachtoffer van allerlei pesterijen. Daar komt op een schone dag verandering in wanneer de losgeslagen psychiater Patrick (Vincent Cassel) zijn pad kruist. De twee besluiten om samen naar Ierland te trekken, maar alvorens dat zo ver is zorgen ze voor de nodige heibel in Noord-Frankrijk.

De film oogt bij momenten als een magnifiek eerbetoon aan de schandaalfilms van Bertrand Blier. Net zoals dat met Gerard Depardieu en Patrick Dewaere in Les Valseuses het geval was, tonen ook Cassel en Barthélemy geen greintje sympathie (laat staan medelijden) voor hun medemens. Wie in hun vizier loopt, prevelt maar best een schietgebedje in de hoop dat alles goed komt.

Vreemd genoeg is het evenwel net de finale die wat kracht mist, maar los daarvan is Our Day Will Come minstens even sterk als Baise-Moi en bijna even briljant als Natural Born Killers.

Deze vreemde kijk op de moderne maatschappij door Romain Gavras is vanaf nu op dvd en Blu-ray verschenen en wordt door Filmfreaks uitgebracht.

Een tip voor fans van films als La Haine, Baise-Moi of Preparez Vos Mouchoirs.

 

 

Didier BECU
29/09/2013


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures