tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

29/09/2013 : ROMAIN GRAVAS - OUR DAY WILL COME

ROMAIN GRAVAS

OUR DAY WILL COME

Movie


[78/100]   

Filmfreaks
29/09/2013, Didier BECU

EN

So far Romain Gavras was known in the musicscene because of his videoclips from M.I.A., but since Our Day Will Come (in French Notre Jour Viendra) he also wants to conquer the movieworld with some shocking images. And judging on his debut it looks like he did a very fine job even if this is mainly due to Vincent Cassel. As after all it’s difficult to find a much better person than him for an extremely violent role, not?

All by all there is not that much story in the movie and that’s probably because Our Day Will Come can be best described as a kind-of-tribute to the nihilism of today’s society. No one understands the young Rémy ( Olivier Barthélémy). He’s neglected by anyone and even behind his pc-screen he’s the victim from harassments. This all changes when he met the disturbed psychiatrist Patrick (Vincent Cassel). The two decide to go to Ireland but before they hit their goal, they transform Northern France into their playground.

The movie looks like a magnificent tribute to the work of Bertrand Blier. Just like Gerard Depardieu and Patrick Dewaere in Les Valseuses, Cassel and Barthélemy show no mercy or pity for their victims. Anyone who crosses their path can better start praying and hoping that everything will be allright.

The only weird thing though is that the finale misses some force, but apart from that you can state that Our Day Will Come is as strong as Baise-Moi and almost as magnificent as Natural Born Killers.

This rather strange look on today’s society by Romain Gavras is available on both dvd and Blu-ray and is in the Benelux available through Filmfreaks.

A tip for those who liked La Haine, Baise-Moi or Preparez Vos Mouchoirs.

 

 

Didier BECU
29/09/2013


NL

Romain Gavras was tot op heden een bekende naam in de muziekwereld die heel wat stof deed opwaaien met de controversiële clip van M.I.A., maar met Our Day Will Come (in het Frans Notre Jour Viendra) wil hij ook de nodige keet in de filmwereld schoppen. Dat is iets wat hem met verve lukt, ofschoon hij zeer veel te danken heeft aan Vincent Cassel. Want zeg nu zelf, kan je een betere karakterkop dan Cassel vinden als je een geweldfilm wil maken?

Er zit eigenlijk maar weinig verhaal in Gavras debuut en dat komt vooral omdat Our Day Will Come in feite een ode (of zoiets toch) aan het nihilisme van de huidige maatschappij is. Rémy ( Olivier Barthélémy) is een nietsnut die zich door niemand begrepen voelt. Iedereen negeert de roodharige jongeman. Zelfs wanneer hij achter zijn pc-scherm zit om Warcraft te spelen is hij het slachtoffer van allerlei pesterijen. Daar komt op een schone dag verandering in wanneer de losgeslagen psychiater Patrick (Vincent Cassel) zijn pad kruist. De twee besluiten om samen naar Ierland te trekken, maar alvorens dat zo ver is zorgen ze voor de nodige heibel in Noord-Frankrijk.

De film oogt bij momenten als een magnifiek eerbetoon aan de schandaalfilms van Bertrand Blier. Net zoals dat met Gerard Depardieu en Patrick Dewaere in Les Valseuses het geval was, tonen ook Cassel en Barthélemy geen greintje sympathie (laat staan medelijden) voor hun medemens. Wie in hun vizier loopt, prevelt maar best een schietgebedje in de hoop dat alles goed komt.

Vreemd genoeg is het evenwel net de finale die wat kracht mist, maar los daarvan is Our Day Will Come minstens even sterk als Baise-Moi en bijna even briljant als Natural Born Killers.

Deze vreemde kijk op de moderne maatschappij door Romain Gavras is vanaf nu op dvd en Blu-ray verschenen en wordt door Filmfreaks uitgebracht.

Een tip voor fans van films als La Haine, Baise-Moi of Preparez Vos Mouchoirs.

 

 

Didier BECU
29/09/2013


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel