tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/09/2013 : THE SHAKING SENSATIONS - Start Stop Worrying

THE SHAKING SENSATIONS

Start Stop Worrying

MusicCD
Post Rock

[80/100]   

Pelagic Records
23/09/2013, Chris KONINGS

Whenever labels start sending me mails where their precious reviews are, I get on my nerves... I mean, this is a hobby, it's not like a task with a deadline, I've got plenty of those at work ya know. So I wasn't to keen on reviewing this one, but eventually I have, so you're welcome Pelagic Records!

Anyway, Pelagic Records seems to churn out primarily guitar based music, something I'm also fond of but I seem to be stuck in electronics... Don't know why, when I was 15 I hated anything even remotely sounding like techno and now I'm digging dubstep... You know, ripped jeans, lumberjack vests and longish hair and tapes of Sonic Youth and Soundgarden, a weird turn indeed!

BUT ANYWAY!... The Shaking Sensations (what's in a name) are from Copenhagen, this is their second album and while I'm not easily excited when it comes to post rock, these guys have my attention. Only six songs, all of them good and a total of 45 minutes later you can easily give the vinyl (yep vinyl) another spin. It never get;s boring, no inventions but just good, clear sounding post rock with very distinct moods weaving through each other. Yes you heard it right, "clear sounding post rock", that's a relief after all the monotonous drab most post rock bands seem to drool upon.

Nice to hear a band that understands they're not automatically "cool" if they throw heaps of fuzzy guitars together. The artwork consists of handcrafted illustrations by Danish artist Dorthe Naomi, cut in linoleum and silkscreened.

So anyway... Probably the best post rock album I heard this year... also one of the first but well...

Chris KONINGS
23/09/2013


Music reviews

09
04
DDDJMX
Oceaned
31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
04
Rabia Sorda strikes back with new single!
06
04
Blutengel and Hocico, have recorded the single 'Obscured' in collaboration!
04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
04
NZ
Attitude And Passion
30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

09
04
DAVID A. LINE
Der dunkelste Tag
08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]