tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA

live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

Concert
Cold EBMEBMElectroIndustrialMinimal

[90/100]   
22/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To be honest this was one of the things I was looking for & I really wanted to be here. There were so many other events that I was astonished to see so many people showing up. For me It was also the first time as a reporter and photographer (honestly I don't have the ambition to overpass our own professional guy, this one is a try out, knowing that the lightshow would be perfect for a try out as this one is known for beiing a pain in the ass of many photographers)... a good test for my new camera!

First band to start with came in as last minute replacement, but Maria was an incoming missile, a shot in the rose! For those who don't know Maria is a side-project from Pierre Pauly (Parade Ground). It was clear to me that this one was a tribute to electro and EBM gods. One of them is Fad Gadget ('Lady Shave' & 'Back to Nature' were mixed into his music). Frank Tovey's madness on stage was here to, the show was set on fire. People really loved it. It was crazy and fired up. There was a lot of delay & repeat on the voice and some things reminded me clearly about the early Front242, and that was something everybody appreciated very much. For me it was for sure a nice time (but the lightshow was too horrible for me to produce good enough pics, you'll have to see the ones of Xavier).

Next band Cruise CTRL is cool duo, two friends of me who worked their ass off to get where they are today and working even harder to get higher up. 120 BPM! It wasn't retro, but they managed to get the fire going and build it up. Not much to see, but the music spoke for itself. Brux (Hell) is fine for my friends!

The main event is really a step back to its origins. Nothing more but the shell out which Front242 grew up. It's clear that Underviewer is really minimal wave and cold EBM, however is saw a lot of people moving around and dancing. I also noticed how much of Underviewer is part of the newer project 32Crash. Love the French songs! 'Kampfbereit' was one of the highlights. The lightshow is great & they show nice footage. Underviewer has some clear messages and J-L knows how to bring them. Something else that came up to is that most of the songs are very short & I must admit: it's the first time I see them on stage. I was a bit astonished when the show came to an end, I felt like there was time for more & strangely enough the audience was happy with that. I was happy to see them & hope to see them more. Once again it was very clear how much people Underviewer (and later on Front242) influenced. Thanks a lot Fred Cotton for organizing stuff and keeping the scene alive! (and that's also a quote from J-L)!

As a photographer I had to delete a lot, but that's already a big difference with the past (at least it doesn't cost you a fortune). I felt the right vibe and have a long path to go. Thanks for the help coming from Xavier & Sylvie for the help and advice.

For the fans, the interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/underviewer-pre-front242/

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
22/09/2013


22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

 

Next reviews
BEAST • Dead or Alive
DALAPLAN
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
ARCHITECT • Mine
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked
JOSEPH RUBEN • PENTHOUSE NORTH
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)
NEON ELECTRONICS • 99 To 12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
JIHAD • Retrospekt
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21

 

Same genre: EBM
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa