tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA

live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

Concert
Cold EBMEBMElectroIndustrialMinimal

[90/100]   
22/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To be honest this was one of the things I was looking for & I really wanted to be here. There were so many other events that I was astonished to see so many people showing up. For me It was also the first time as a reporter and photographer (honestly I don't have the ambition to overpass our own professional guy, this one is a try out, knowing that the lightshow would be perfect for a try out as this one is known for beiing a pain in the ass of many photographers)... a good test for my new camera!

First band to start with came in as last minute replacement, but Maria was an incoming missile, a shot in the rose! For those who don't know Maria is a side-project from Pierre Pauly (Parade Ground). It was clear to me that this one was a tribute to electro and EBM gods. One of them is Fad Gadget ('Lady Shave' & 'Back to Nature' were mixed into his music). Frank Tovey's madness on stage was here to, the show was set on fire. People really loved it. It was crazy and fired up. There was a lot of delay & repeat on the voice and some things reminded me clearly about the early Front242, and that was something everybody appreciated very much. For me it was for sure a nice time (but the lightshow was too horrible for me to produce good enough pics, you'll have to see the ones of Xavier).

Next band Cruise CTRL is cool duo, two friends of me who worked their ass off to get where they are today and working even harder to get higher up. 120 BPM! It wasn't retro, but they managed to get the fire going and build it up. Not much to see, but the music spoke for itself. Brux (Hell) is fine for my friends!

The main event is really a step back to its origins. Nothing more but the shell out which Front242 grew up. It's clear that Underviewer is really minimal wave and cold EBM, however is saw a lot of people moving around and dancing. I also noticed how much of Underviewer is part of the newer project 32Crash. Love the French songs! 'Kampfbereit' was one of the highlights. The lightshow is great & they show nice footage. Underviewer has some clear messages and J-L knows how to bring them. Something else that came up to is that most of the songs are very short & I must admit: it's the first time I see them on stage. I was a bit astonished when the show came to an end, I felt like there was time for more & strangely enough the audience was happy with that. I was happy to see them & hope to see them more. Once again it was very clear how much people Underviewer (and later on Front242) influenced. Thanks a lot Fred Cotton for organizing stuff and keeping the scene alive! (and that's also a quote from J-L)!

As a photographer I had to delete a lot, but that's already a big difference with the past (at least it doesn't cost you a fortune). I felt the right vibe and have a long path to go. Thanks for the help coming from Xavier & Sylvie for the help and advice.

For the fans, the interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/underviewer-pre-front242/

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
22/09/2013


22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

 

Next reviews
BEAST • Dead or Alive
DALAPLAN
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
ARCHITECT • Mine
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked
JOSEPH RUBEN • PENTHOUSE NORTH
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)
NEON ELECTRONICS • 99 To 12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
JIHAD • Retrospekt
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21

 

Same genre: EBM
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht

Music reviews

18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature
19
12
ORANGE SECTOR
Alles wird Gold

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
Horror Punk Band CUT LIKE THIS Personifies Insomnia With Latest Single, 'The Boogeyman' Featuring ANGELSPIT
18
01
On this day, 42 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
FREDRIK CROONA Condemns The Vain With New Project & Debut Single, 'Scum'
17
01
Today, 37 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
27 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 4 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven
14
01
DI*OVE
Please Stop!
13
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Socopelli
12
01
AEX
Selected Memories