tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA

live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

Concert
Cold EBMEBMElectroIndustrialMinimal

[90/100]   
22/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To be honest this was one of the things I was looking for & I really wanted to be here. There were so many other events that I was astonished to see so many people showing up. For me It was also the first time as a reporter and photographer (honestly I don't have the ambition to overpass our own professional guy, this one is a try out, knowing that the lightshow would be perfect for a try out as this one is known for beiing a pain in the ass of many photographers)... a good test for my new camera!

First band to start with came in as last minute replacement, but Maria was an incoming missile, a shot in the rose! For those who don't know Maria is a side-project from Pierre Pauly (Parade Ground). It was clear to me that this one was a tribute to electro and EBM gods. One of them is Fad Gadget ('Lady Shave' & 'Back to Nature' were mixed into his music). Frank Tovey's madness on stage was here to, the show was set on fire. People really loved it. It was crazy and fired up. There was a lot of delay & repeat on the voice and some things reminded me clearly about the early Front242, and that was something everybody appreciated very much. For me it was for sure a nice time (but the lightshow was too horrible for me to produce good enough pics, you'll have to see the ones of Xavier).

Next band Cruise CTRL is cool duo, two friends of me who worked their ass off to get where they are today and working even harder to get higher up. 120 BPM! It wasn't retro, but they managed to get the fire going and build it up. Not much to see, but the music spoke for itself. Brux (Hell) is fine for my friends!

The main event is really a step back to its origins. Nothing more but the shell out which Front242 grew up. It's clear that Underviewer is really minimal wave and cold EBM, however is saw a lot of people moving around and dancing. I also noticed how much of Underviewer is part of the newer project 32Crash. Love the French songs! 'Kampfbereit' was one of the highlights. The lightshow is great & they show nice footage. Underviewer has some clear messages and J-L knows how to bring them. Something else that came up to is that most of the songs are very short & I must admit: it's the first time I see them on stage. I was a bit astonished when the show came to an end, I felt like there was time for more & strangely enough the audience was happy with that. I was happy to see them & hope to see them more. Once again it was very clear how much people Underviewer (and later on Front242) influenced. Thanks a lot Fred Cotton for organizing stuff and keeping the scene alive! (and that's also a quote from J-L)!

As a photographer I had to delete a lot, but that's already a big difference with the past (at least it doesn't cost you a fortune). I felt the right vibe and have a long path to go. Thanks for the help coming from Xavier & Sylvie for the help and advice.

For the fans, the interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/underviewer-pre-front242/

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
22/09/2013


22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013 22/09/2013 : UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA - live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013

 

Next reviews
BEAST • Dead or Alive
DALAPLAN
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
ARCHITECT • Mine
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked
JOSEPH RUBEN • PENTHOUSE NORTH
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)
NEON ELECTRONICS • 99 To 12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)
STYLE SINDROME • A MYSTERIOUS DESIGN

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Same genre: EBM
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine