tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

25/09/2013 : FRUSTRATION & JESSICA 93 - Review of the concert at Atelier 210 in Brussels on 20 September 2013

FRUSTRATION & JESSICA 93

Review of the concert at Atelier 210 in Brussels on 20 September 2013

Concert
Post PunkShoegaze

[85/100]   
25/09/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

It was simply one of the best concerts of the year, in my opinion! On the bill, two French bands that have a lot in common: energy, a dark edge and a clear postpunk heritage.

Jessica 93 is the first to take the stage. The wonderful old theater hall is packed with more than 300 fans of different styles: hipsters, electroheads, punks, and of course a lot of "darko's" (postpunk/new-wave fans - I hate the word "goth's")... Jessica 93 is the one-man-band project by Geoffroy Laporte from Paris. Funny: the name, Jessica 93, comes from the fact that Laporte's mother told him that if he had been a girl, she would have named him "Jessica", the 93 comes from a nickname given to him by a friend, "Jojo 93". His latest album, "Who Cares", released at the end of June 2013, has been acclaimed by the music press and is available on three music labels, among which Teenage Menopause.

Alone on the stage, wearing a hooded sweatshirt, which gives him a devilish look, Laporte uses a Boomerang looper machine to build his songs layer by layer. First, he triggers a drum pattern, on which he then plays a bass or guitar riff on the fly, which is then integrated in the backing loop track, and then, on top of this, he sings and plays additional (live) guitar or bass lines. The result is a hypnotic, haunting shoegaze music that puts you in a trance, a combination of My Bloody Valentine, Sisters of Mercy and The Soft Moon. The highlight of the set was the wonderful song "Away": more than 8 minutes of pure pleasure. Check my video of this unique moment:

Laporte also played two new, unreleased songs: "Endless" and "Asylum". A great concert, which was very much appreciated by the audience. The only drawback of this kind of live acts is of course the fact that the musician is alone on stage, which tends to become a bit boring in the long run, a feeling that can be strengthened by the repetitive, rigid arrangements. Laporte told me after the concert that he plans to change this in his new compositions, which will be more diversified, less linear. In the meantime, don't hesitate and rush to buy Jessica 93's album "Who Cares" here!!

After a few beers, it's time for the headlining band. Frustration is a French electro-punk-rock band formed in 2002 in Paris. The group combines electronic sounds with a punk rhythm. It is probably one of the best avatars of Joy Division on the scene today (esp. since the legendary band de Volanges called it quits). They have this unique capacity of creating postpunk anthems with highly energetic (and very catchy) arrangements and melodies. Songs like "Blind", "Too Many Questions" or "No Trouble" are must-have's for every dark DJ. The new album entitled "Uncivilized" was released in early 2013 and is a collection of future classics.

I had already seen Frustration many times, a.o. at the Recyclart in Brussels and in Templeuve and here again, they gave a memorable concert, leaving us soaked to the skin at the end. Oddly enough, the band members, especially the singer, Fabrice Gilbert, looked perfectly sober (it wasn't always the case in the past, to say the least!). I would even say they had a 'professional' attitude on stage, playing the songs perfectly without exceeding enthusiasm. Not really a 'punk attitude', but who cares: their music is so strong, so efficient in its nature that the audience was completely carried away from the first song ("Worries") to the last ("Faster").

They played no less than nine songs from their new album and I must admit that they smashed the house. But of course, the highlights of the show were the band's hits, especially "No Premises", "No Trouble" and the last song of the first set, their masterpiece "Too Many Questions". Check my video of this performance below:



In the circle pit before the stage, there was a lot of moshing all through the show and at the end, a few girls even jumped on the stage to dance beside the musicians, who didn't seem to worry too much about this invasion. The first song of the first encore was a new, unreleased song, "Coz You Ran Away", followed by the absolute killer: "Blind", from the band's first album "Relax". Then, they played "Dying City", from their last album, a very danceable composition, with its pounding electro riff, played by Fred Campo on his vintage Oberheim OB-12 synth. When the lights came back in the hall, many people thought it was over and left the venue but a few minutes later, Frustration came back to play "Faster" like a final punch in the face.

A fantastic concert! No trouble: don't ask yourself Too Many Questions: those guys are still On The Rise!...

Congratulations to Atelier 210 and Elzo Durt (Teenage Menopause) for the flawless organization!

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
25/09/2013


 

Next reviews
THE SHAKING SENSATIONS • Start Stop Worrying
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber
WIRE, MUM, WOLF EYES & ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • Review of the concert at American Theater (AB) in Brussels on 21 September 2013
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
BEAST • Dead or Alive
DALAPLAN
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
ARCHITECT • Mine
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked
JOSEPH RUBEN • PENTHOUSE NORTH

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?