tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

11/12/2016 : TEEN BRAINS - Translucent (EP)

TEEN BRAINS

Translucent (EP)

MusicCassette
Shoegaze

[88/100]   

Witchgirl Recordings
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band consists of four young guys from London who have released a second EP on tape (yes!) through Witchgirl Recordings. They make shoegaze/post-punk music. If you like The Stone Roses or The Horrors, Slowdive and Ride, you will certainly have a good time with this album.

Translucent contains only four songs, but what kind of songs! Four gems. In a haze begins with a real shoegaze intro, long stretched in the style of The Stone Roses, with a guitar melody that settles in your head after one listening. Isolation sounds more dreamy. Wash Away sound like darkwave (guitar) and has a very beautiful chorus that lifts the song to a new level. The final song Translucent is a lovely and rather quiet track.

This EP is highly recommended: delicious and dreamy music which is well put together. What can life sometimes be beautiful...

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Deze band bestaat uit vier jonge kerels uit Londen die hun tweede ep uit hebben, verkrijgbaar op cassette (jawel) via Witchgirl Recordings. Ze maken shoegaze-/postpunkmuziek. Wie heimwee heeft naar The Stone Roses of houdt van The Horrors, Slowdive of Ride, zal met deze ep zeker en vast aan zijn trekken komen.

Op Translucent staan slechts vier songs, maar wat voor songs! Vier pareltjes. In a Haze begint met een echte shoegaze-intro, lang uitgerekt zoals we dat kennen van de Stone Roses, met een gitaarmelodietje dat na één keer al in je hoofd blijft rondspoken. Isolation komt bijna meteen ter zake en klinkt iets dromeriger. Wash Away heeft wat darkwave (gitaar) in de genen en een heel mooi refrein dat de song op een hoger niveau tilt. Translucent is de afsluiter, een heerlijke en eerder rustige track die mooi is uitgewerkt.

Deze ep is echt een aanrader. Ik zou zelfs zeggen: laat de volgende keer maar een full album op ons los. Heerlijke en dromerige muziek dat tevens goed in elkaar zit. Wat kan het leven soms mooi zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down