tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

11/12/2016 : TEEN BRAINS - Translucent (EP)

TEEN BRAINS

Translucent (EP)

MusicCassette
Shoegaze

[88/100]   

Witchgirl Recordings
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band consists of four young guys from London who have released a second EP on tape (yes!) through Witchgirl Recordings. They make shoegaze/post-punk music. If you like The Stone Roses or The Horrors, Slowdive and Ride, you will certainly have a good time with this album.

Translucent contains only four songs, but what kind of songs! Four gems. In a haze begins with a real shoegaze intro, long stretched in the style of The Stone Roses, with a guitar melody that settles in your head after one listening. Isolation sounds more dreamy. Wash Away sound like darkwave (guitar) and has a very beautiful chorus that lifts the song to a new level. The final song Translucent is a lovely and rather quiet track.

This EP is highly recommended: delicious and dreamy music which is well put together. What can life sometimes be beautiful...

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Deze band bestaat uit vier jonge kerels uit Londen die hun tweede ep uit hebben, verkrijgbaar op cassette (jawel) via Witchgirl Recordings. Ze maken shoegaze-/postpunkmuziek. Wie heimwee heeft naar The Stone Roses of houdt van The Horrors, Slowdive of Ride, zal met deze ep zeker en vast aan zijn trekken komen.

Op Translucent staan slechts vier songs, maar wat voor songs! Vier pareltjes. In a Haze begint met een echte shoegaze-intro, lang uitgerekt zoals we dat kennen van de Stone Roses, met een gitaarmelodietje dat na één keer al in je hoofd blijft rondspoken. Isolation komt bijna meteen ter zake en klinkt iets dromeriger. Wash Away heeft wat darkwave (gitaar) in de genen en een heel mooi refrein dat de song op een hoger niveau tilt. Translucent is de afsluiter, een heerlijke en eerder rustige track die mooi is uitgewerkt.

Deze ep is echt een aanrader. Ik zou zelfs zeggen: laat de volgende keer maar een full album op ons los. Heerlijke en dromerige muziek dat tevens goed in elkaar zit. Wat kan het leven soms mooi zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)