tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

11/12/2016 : TEEN BRAINS - Translucent (EP)

TEEN BRAINS

Translucent (EP)

MusicCassette
Shoegaze

[88/100]   

Witchgirl Recordings
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band consists of four young guys from London who have released a second EP on tape (yes!) through Witchgirl Recordings. They make shoegaze/post-punk music. If you like The Stone Roses or The Horrors, Slowdive and Ride, you will certainly have a good time with this album.

Translucent contains only four songs, but what kind of songs! Four gems. In a haze begins with a real shoegaze intro, long stretched in the style of The Stone Roses, with a guitar melody that settles in your head after one listening. Isolation sounds more dreamy. Wash Away sound like darkwave (guitar) and has a very beautiful chorus that lifts the song to a new level. The final song Translucent is a lovely and rather quiet track.

This EP is highly recommended: delicious and dreamy music which is well put together. What can life sometimes be beautiful...

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Deze band bestaat uit vier jonge kerels uit Londen die hun tweede ep uit hebben, verkrijgbaar op cassette (jawel) via Witchgirl Recordings. Ze maken shoegaze-/postpunkmuziek. Wie heimwee heeft naar The Stone Roses of houdt van The Horrors, Slowdive of Ride, zal met deze ep zeker en vast aan zijn trekken komen.

Op Translucent staan slechts vier songs, maar wat voor songs! Vier pareltjes. In a Haze begint met een echte shoegaze-intro, lang uitgerekt zoals we dat kennen van de Stone Roses, met een gitaarmelodietje dat na één keer al in je hoofd blijft rondspoken. Isolation komt bijna meteen ter zake en klinkt iets dromeriger. Wash Away heeft wat darkwave (gitaar) in de genen en een heel mooi refrein dat de song op een hoger niveau tilt. Translucent is de afsluiter, een heerlijke en eerder rustige track die mooi is uitgewerkt.

Deze ep is echt een aanrader. Ik zou zelfs zeggen: laat de volgende keer maar een full album op ons los. Heerlijke en dromerige muziek dat tevens goed in elkaar zit. Wat kan het leven soms mooi zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)