tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

11/12/2016 : TEEN BRAINS - Translucent (EP)

TEEN BRAINS

Translucent (EP)

MusicCassette
Shoegaze

[88/100]   

Witchgirl Recordings
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band consists of four young guys from London who have released a second EP on tape (yes!) through Witchgirl Recordings. They make shoegaze/post-punk music. If you like The Stone Roses or The Horrors, Slowdive and Ride, you will certainly have a good time with this album.

Translucent contains only four songs, but what kind of songs! Four gems. In a haze begins with a real shoegaze intro, long stretched in the style of The Stone Roses, with a guitar melody that settles in your head after one listening. Isolation sounds more dreamy. Wash Away sound like darkwave (guitar) and has a very beautiful chorus that lifts the song to a new level. The final song Translucent is a lovely and rather quiet track.

This EP is highly recommended: delicious and dreamy music which is well put together. What can life sometimes be beautiful...

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Deze band bestaat uit vier jonge kerels uit Londen die hun tweede ep uit hebben, verkrijgbaar op cassette (jawel) via Witchgirl Recordings. Ze maken shoegaze-/postpunkmuziek. Wie heimwee heeft naar The Stone Roses of houdt van The Horrors, Slowdive of Ride, zal met deze ep zeker en vast aan zijn trekken komen.

Op Translucent staan slechts vier songs, maar wat voor songs! Vier pareltjes. In a Haze begint met een echte shoegaze-intro, lang uitgerekt zoals we dat kennen van de Stone Roses, met een gitaarmelodietje dat na één keer al in je hoofd blijft rondspoken. Isolation komt bijna meteen ter zake en klinkt iets dromeriger. Wash Away heeft wat darkwave (gitaar) in de genen en een heel mooi refrein dat de song op een hoger niveau tilt. Translucent is de afsluiter, een heerlijke en eerder rustige track die mooi is uitgewerkt.

Deze ep is echt een aanrader. Ik zou zelfs zeggen: laat de volgende keer maar een full album op ons los. Heerlijke en dromerige muziek dat tevens goed in elkaar zit. Wat kan het leven soms mooi zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl