tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

11/12/2016 : TEEN BRAINS - Translucent (EP)

TEEN BRAINS

Translucent (EP)

MusicCassette
Shoegaze

[88/100]   

Witchgirl Recordings
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band consists of four young guys from London who have released a second EP on tape (yes!) through Witchgirl Recordings. They make shoegaze/post-punk music. If you like The Stone Roses or The Horrors, Slowdive and Ride, you will certainly have a good time with this album.

Translucent contains only four songs, but what kind of songs! Four gems. In a haze begins with a real shoegaze intro, long stretched in the style of The Stone Roses, with a guitar melody that settles in your head after one listening. Isolation sounds more dreamy. Wash Away sound like darkwave (guitar) and has a very beautiful chorus that lifts the song to a new level. The final song Translucent is a lovely and rather quiet track.

This EP is highly recommended: delicious and dreamy music which is well put together. What can life sometimes be beautiful...

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Deze band bestaat uit vier jonge kerels uit Londen die hun tweede ep uit hebben, verkrijgbaar op cassette (jawel) via Witchgirl Recordings. Ze maken shoegaze-/postpunkmuziek. Wie heimwee heeft naar The Stone Roses of houdt van The Horrors, Slowdive of Ride, zal met deze ep zeker en vast aan zijn trekken komen.

Op Translucent staan slechts vier songs, maar wat voor songs! Vier pareltjes. In a Haze begint met een echte shoegaze-intro, lang uitgerekt zoals we dat kennen van de Stone Roses, met een gitaarmelodietje dat na één keer al in je hoofd blijft rondspoken. Isolation komt bijna meteen ter zake en klinkt iets dromeriger. Wash Away heeft wat darkwave (gitaar) in de genen en een heel mooi refrein dat de song op een hoger niveau tilt. Translucent is de afsluiter, een heerlijke en eerder rustige track die mooi is uitgewerkt.

Deze ep is echt een aanrader. Ik zou zelfs zeggen: laat de volgende keer maar een full album op ons los. Heerlijke en dromerige muziek dat tevens goed in elkaar zit. Wat kan het leven soms mooi zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)