tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium

CLOé + LYLAC

Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium

Concert
Electro RockEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalSinger Songwriter

[95/100]   
11/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I see myself seated in the Botanique, in their biggest venue. It will be the first time that I see Lylac on stage (it's the solo project of Amaury Massion from MY TV is DEAD, joined by a cello player called Thècle Joussad). Love the cello sound, it really adds a great dimension to the play. The guy has a nice, strong and very mature voice (I think it's a smokers voce, a bit like Jeff Buckley and Deus). The sound is very folky & has the ads of a great singer/songwriter. Love the melodies, just as the nice and open hearted stories. It's just the perfect setting for this kind of music & with a great audience. Love the little Nina Simone tribute! I also love the end song where everybody ends up clapping hands (on demand, but still). It's a powerful song where they can show off their qualities and a great climax. It's a very nice first time and I hope to see this duo again!

Cloé and her band start with the same opening song as on her new album 'L'appel'. It's clear that the sound is more elaborated than ever before, enriched with more mature musicians. Its right to say that she went through a lot of phases: from a rock band over a more acoustic sound to a richer sound where there is even place for more electronics and an even more personal touch. Once I described her as an angel singing, well this angel has turned into an angel who can fly and hop on and off: taking a dive into all kind of styles without losing the authentic identity. A good example of this one is the second song 'L'esquisse' (I really love this song: matching a great voice, electronics and classic instruments). The nice video shows us the story of the album: we are flying over Brussels and getting some views on the exile story of an individual person (a very hot item).

I'm happy she also managed to play some old songs like 'Plus qu'une Aurore' where once again her nice voice makes us dream and takes us into her world. 'Je pars' is the prove that she can still make great songs with a great story. I love the live violin! The live drums and the changing from Cloé as guitar player and then back to the piano synth are just great. Some jazzy tunes, some drum'n bass,a pure rock attitude... we get it all! Everything seems to work as if it was no big deal for Cloé and her band. 'Chanchan' is also a great song (sung in English), presented as a vocal duet with a Chinese women. 'Même longitude mais bien plus au nord' is also live a great one. 'Avez-vous rencontré' received some nervous reactions to that one phrase, to me it was a bit of a funny reaction from the audience. Love the song, as it has some nice questions in it, just as the way it is all build up. 'L'air Semble déjà différent' is a great endsong of the regular set. As the audience asked for more we get 'Instant Flou', 'L'épicier' and the great poetic story 'L'Amour et la Folie' (and that's a very old song to end with, but next to 'No matter' one of my favorite ones).

It was a magical night and I hope to see her back on stage of the biggest festivals, as she deserves it even more than before! So up to the Dour Festival (again) and more!

I would also love to ad: buy her new cd, here is the review:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/cloe-du-trefle-d-une-nuit-a-une-autre/?viaadmin=1

For the fans of nice pics: this was my second shoot. The pics are raw and have not been reworked. So far I want to keep it fair and simple. I love The Underviewer style: I'm not gonna cheat, not gonna read the manual or what so ever, I just do it like I feel it's right.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/10/2013


11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium

 

Next reviews
ANDREAS GROSS • Grounds Of Ashes
PEDRO ALMODOVAR • Los Amantes Pasajeros
SURGYN • Feed Me Fame
SALVATION AMP • Hidden Faces
30,000 MONKIES • Somewhere Over The Painbow
FUXA • Dirty D.
POLYNOMIQ • Languages (exclusive preview)
ERAN CREEVY • WELCOME TO THE PUNCH
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)
DER BLUTHARSCH, POSITION PARALLELE, DEUTSCH NEPAL, JASTREB, MONGOLITO • Review of the concert at Magasin 4 in Brussels on 28th September 2013

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid