tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium

CLOé + LYLAC

Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium

Concert
Electro RockEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalSinger Songwriter

[95/100]   
11/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I see myself seated in the Botanique, in their biggest venue. It will be the first time that I see Lylac on stage (it's the solo project of Amaury Massion from MY TV is DEAD, joined by a cello player called Thècle Joussad). Love the cello sound, it really adds a great dimension to the play. The guy has a nice, strong and very mature voice (I think it's a smokers voce, a bit like Jeff Buckley and Deus). The sound is very folky & has the ads of a great singer/songwriter. Love the melodies, just as the nice and open hearted stories. It's just the perfect setting for this kind of music & with a great audience. Love the little Nina Simone tribute! I also love the end song where everybody ends up clapping hands (on demand, but still). It's a powerful song where they can show off their qualities and a great climax. It's a very nice first time and I hope to see this duo again!

Cloé and her band start with the same opening song as on her new album 'L'appel'. It's clear that the sound is more elaborated than ever before, enriched with more mature musicians. Its right to say that she went through a lot of phases: from a rock band over a more acoustic sound to a richer sound where there is even place for more electronics and an even more personal touch. Once I described her as an angel singing, well this angel has turned into an angel who can fly and hop on and off: taking a dive into all kind of styles without losing the authentic identity. A good example of this one is the second song 'L'esquisse' (I really love this song: matching a great voice, electronics and classic instruments). The nice video shows us the story of the album: we are flying over Brussels and getting some views on the exile story of an individual person (a very hot item).

I'm happy she also managed to play some old songs like 'Plus qu'une Aurore' where once again her nice voice makes us dream and takes us into her world. 'Je pars' is the prove that she can still make great songs with a great story. I love the live violin! The live drums and the changing from Cloé as guitar player and then back to the piano synth are just great. Some jazzy tunes, some drum'n bass,a pure rock attitude... we get it all! Everything seems to work as if it was no big deal for Cloé and her band. 'Chanchan' is also a great song (sung in English), presented as a vocal duet with a Chinese women. 'Même longitude mais bien plus au nord' is also live a great one. 'Avez-vous rencontré' received some nervous reactions to that one phrase, to me it was a bit of a funny reaction from the audience. Love the song, as it has some nice questions in it, just as the way it is all build up. 'L'air Semble déjà différent' is a great endsong of the regular set. As the audience asked for more we get 'Instant Flou', 'L'épicier' and the great poetic story 'L'Amour et la Folie' (and that's a very old song to end with, but next to 'No matter' one of my favorite ones).

It was a magical night and I hope to see her back on stage of the biggest festivals, as she deserves it even more than before! So up to the Dour Festival (again) and more!

I would also love to ad: buy her new cd, here is the review:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/cloe-du-trefle-d-une-nuit-a-une-autre/?viaadmin=1

For the fans of nice pics: this was my second shoot. The pics are raw and have not been reworked. So far I want to keep it fair and simple. I love The Underviewer style: I'm not gonna cheat, not gonna read the manual or what so ever, I just do it like I feel it's right.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
11/10/2013


11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium 11/10/2013 : CLOé + LYLAC - Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium

 

Next reviews
ANDREAS GROSS • Grounds Of Ashes
PEDRO ALMODOVAR • Los Amantes Pasajeros
SURGYN • Feed Me Fame
SALVATION AMP • Hidden Faces
30,000 MONKIES • Somewhere Over The Painbow
FUXA • Dirty D.
POLYNOMIQ • Languages (exclusive preview)
ERAN CREEVY • WELCOME TO THE PUNCH
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)
DER BLUTHARSCH, POSITION PARALLELE, DEUTSCH NEPAL, JASTREB, MONGOLITO • Review of the concert at Magasin 4 in Brussels on 28th September 2013

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice