tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/10/2013 : 30,000 MONKIES - Somewhere Over The Painbow

30,000 MONKIES

Somewhere Over The Painbow

MusicCD
IndieIndie RockKrautrockNoise

[69/100]   

Self-released
06/10/2013, Didier BECU

From the moment I read that this Flemish band has been inspired by the likes of Melvins and Liars, I immediately knew that this was heavy stuff. But at the same time, it's not noise for just the sake of it. Nah, it all goes a bit deeper, it leaves a scar in the soul if you know what I'm trying to say.

Agreed that this EP might not be the perfect disc to wake up with (even if it really works if you want to be awake), but lovers from sludgy guitars and lap noise will cherish this. I kind of compare this second EP (the first one was Womb Eater Wife Beater that got released in 2013) with that other Belgian act No Tomorrow Charlie. But when thinking about, they were the kind of guys who sounded like Melvin’s as well.

I wouldn't state these guys are making easy music (whatever that means) but anyone who likes their stuff a bit heavier better check out their latest offering that is released on Consouling Agency, a sublabel from Consouling Sounds.

Poison your mind during 24 minutes with these disturbed sounds. Intelligent noiserock.

Didier BECU
06/10/2013


 

Next reviews
FUXA • Dirty D.
POLYNOMIQ • Languages (exclusive preview)
ERAN CREEVY • WELCOME TO THE PUNCH
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)
DER BLUTHARSCH, POSITION PARALLELE, DEUTSCH NEPAL, JASTREB, MONGOLITO • Review of the concert at Magasin 4 in Brussels on 28th September 2013
THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD • To Lunar Canyons
BRUCE LEE • Bruce Lee: The Complete Boxset
CLOé DU TRèFLE • D'une nuit à une autre
KARL MARKOVICS • Atmen
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Control EP

 

Other reviews from 30,000 MONKIES
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real