tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/10/2013 : ANDREAS GROSS - Grounds Of Ashes

ANDREAS GROSS

Grounds Of Ashes

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Echozone
11/10/2013, Chris KONINGS

It's almost a year after its release, but here I can finally present the review of Andreas Gross his (not so new) album. He used to play with ASP but only two years later (in 2001) he released his first solo album. A very productive man, he made four albums for KS Records and now in just four years this is his fourth album on Echozone.

As usual, he combines synthpop with neoclassical and rock elements. The heavenly vocals come predominantly from Tabitha Anders and occasionally from Isabel Walter and Jannika Schneider. You can compare Tabitha's voice with the singer of Slowdive or even Cranes. Another highlight is the cover version of Slipknot's "Vermillion Part 2", adding more warmth and smoothness to an already epic song.

There are two versions of "Lilith" on the album, the studio version is with acoustic guitars and a bit of sharpness in the voice. The "Don't Call Me Eve remix" sounds more minimal and poppy, with fitting melancholic Sixth June vocals. A very different feeling! And Tabitha can reach you in many ways, she can also get anger and determination forward, just as easily as sadness and softness.

Apart from the very good remix you also get four live songs from previous albums: Hopeful Despair (Hail To The Employee), Shady Fortune Hunters and Silent Halls (Autumn Inventors) and First Breath After Coma (Revenant). All have more rock in them, so live they can make a crowd go crazy, I'm sure!

It's with sadness that I have to let this album go and move on to other bands, this is a truly wonderful album. Mild on the ears, soft-hearted yet very powerful. I must look into their other albums...

Chris KONINGS
11/10/2013


Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal