tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/10/2013 : ANDREAS GROSS - Grounds Of Ashes

ANDREAS GROSS

Grounds Of Ashes

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Echozone
11/10/2013, Chris KONINGS

It's almost a year after its release, but here I can finally present the review of Andreas Gross his (not so new) album. He used to play with ASP but only two years later (in 2001) he released his first solo album. A very productive man, he made four albums for KS Records and now in just four years this is his fourth album on Echozone.

As usual, he combines synthpop with neoclassical and rock elements. The heavenly vocals come predominantly from Tabitha Anders and occasionally from Isabel Walter and Jannika Schneider. You can compare Tabitha's voice with the singer of Slowdive or even Cranes. Another highlight is the cover version of Slipknot's "Vermillion Part 2", adding more warmth and smoothness to an already epic song.

There are two versions of "Lilith" on the album, the studio version is with acoustic guitars and a bit of sharpness in the voice. The "Don't Call Me Eve remix" sounds more minimal and poppy, with fitting melancholic Sixth June vocals. A very different feeling! And Tabitha can reach you in many ways, she can also get anger and determination forward, just as easily as sadness and softness.

Apart from the very good remix you also get four live songs from previous albums: Hopeful Despair (Hail To The Employee), Shady Fortune Hunters and Silent Halls (Autumn Inventors) and First Breath After Coma (Revenant). All have more rock in them, so live they can make a crowd go crazy, I'm sure!

It's with sadness that I have to let this album go and move on to other bands, this is a truly wonderful album. Mild on the ears, soft-hearted yet very powerful. I must look into their other albums...

Chris KONINGS
11/10/2013


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion