tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/10/2013 : ANDREAS GROSS - Grounds Of Ashes

ANDREAS GROSS

Grounds Of Ashes

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Echozone
11/10/2013, Chris KONINGS

It's almost a year after its release, but here I can finally present the review of Andreas Gross his (not so new) album. He used to play with ASP but only two years later (in 2001) he released his first solo album. A very productive man, he made four albums for KS Records and now in just four years this is his fourth album on Echozone.

As usual, he combines synthpop with neoclassical and rock elements. The heavenly vocals come predominantly from Tabitha Anders and occasionally from Isabel Walter and Jannika Schneider. You can compare Tabitha's voice with the singer of Slowdive or even Cranes. Another highlight is the cover version of Slipknot's "Vermillion Part 2", adding more warmth and smoothness to an already epic song.

There are two versions of "Lilith" on the album, the studio version is with acoustic guitars and a bit of sharpness in the voice. The "Don't Call Me Eve remix" sounds more minimal and poppy, with fitting melancholic Sixth June vocals. A very different feeling! And Tabitha can reach you in many ways, she can also get anger and determination forward, just as easily as sadness and softness.

Apart from the very good remix you also get four live songs from previous albums: Hopeful Despair (Hail To The Employee), Shady Fortune Hunters and Silent Halls (Autumn Inventors) and First Breath After Coma (Revenant). All have more rock in them, so live they can make a crowd go crazy, I'm sure!

It's with sadness that I have to let this album go and move on to other bands, this is a truly wonderful album. Mild on the ears, soft-hearted yet very powerful. I must look into their other albums...

Chris KONINGS
11/10/2013


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap