tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/10/2013 : ANDREAS GROSS - Grounds Of Ashes

ANDREAS GROSS

Grounds Of Ashes

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Echozone
11/10/2013, Chris KONINGS

It's almost a year after its release, but here I can finally present the review of Andreas Gross his (not so new) album. He used to play with ASP but only two years later (in 2001) he released his first solo album. A very productive man, he made four albums for KS Records and now in just four years this is his fourth album on Echozone.

As usual, he combines synthpop with neoclassical and rock elements. The heavenly vocals come predominantly from Tabitha Anders and occasionally from Isabel Walter and Jannika Schneider. You can compare Tabitha's voice with the singer of Slowdive or even Cranes. Another highlight is the cover version of Slipknot's "Vermillion Part 2", adding more warmth and smoothness to an already epic song.

There are two versions of "Lilith" on the album, the studio version is with acoustic guitars and a bit of sharpness in the voice. The "Don't Call Me Eve remix" sounds more minimal and poppy, with fitting melancholic Sixth June vocals. A very different feeling! And Tabitha can reach you in many ways, she can also get anger and determination forward, just as easily as sadness and softness.

Apart from the very good remix you also get four live songs from previous albums: Hopeful Despair (Hail To The Employee), Shady Fortune Hunters and Silent Halls (Autumn Inventors) and First Breath After Coma (Revenant). All have more rock in them, so live they can make a crowd go crazy, I'm sure!

It's with sadness that I have to let this album go and move on to other bands, this is a truly wonderful album. Mild on the ears, soft-hearted yet very powerful. I must look into their other albums...

Chris KONINGS
11/10/2013


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)