tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/03/2014 : DIARY OF DREAMS - Elegies in Darkness

DIARY OF DREAMS

Elegies in Darkness

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveGothic Rock

[92/100]   

Accession Records
28/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Diary of Dreams produces on regular base new material and each time with a certain theme. This time it's Darkness. The sound is not revolutionary compared to the previous one, but its pure quality! We get enough typical stuff from electronic and guitar driven songs to pure ballads, in the end all the fans must be satisfied! I must say that in overall the sound is much richer and has been more worked out. As for me this is simply the best elaborated cd of Diary of Dreams!

'Malum' explodes pretty fast with aggressive synth & guitars. The bombastic sound gives it a higher level, just as the vocal rage of Adrien Hates. The small break downs keep the song interesting. This one must be a real killer song during a concert! 'The Luxury of Insanity' has a nice acoustic start, slowly blooming and changing into the typical electro gothic sound of Diary of Dreams. 'StummKult' is a German song, sadly my German is not well enough to understand it all, nut I love the dark sound. The song is a bit slow, but the sound is good and I’m pretty sure that Germans will love the narrative side of this song. 'Dogs of War' is a melancholic slow one and not at all the aggressive dance floor attack as expected when reading the title. I simply love the melancholia in this one, taking me down! 'A day in December' starts as a piano ballad, with 2 voices backing each other. The song feels like a weeping song, driven on pure melancholia and depressive voices! The guitars are well mixed in the back! 'A dark embrace' is a typical old school Diary of Dreams song (but with a more elaborated and more worked out sound with more details in it). 'The Game' gets again the kind of a dual vocal support, real drums and a bombastic sound making the song explode like as if it was a volcano. I would call this song a melancholic rager! 'Dream of a Ghost' is a false slow one with great a piano, some synths and the typical melancholic voice of Adrian Hates. 'Daemon' starts with a piano and gets pumping beats and up worked synths before cooling down a bit. Once the voice comes in the bombastic sound changes the style of the song. The melancholia stays. The break take down the rhythm of the song, but makes it a bit more danger-liked song. Same can be said from 'House of Odds' & 'The Battle'. 'Die Gassen der Stadt' is a great ballad, like only Diary of Dreams can produce them! A great end for the regular cd!

Extra

'Mythology of Violence' is a false slow one with nice electronics and a bit of the typical bombastic sound and a great melancholic voice!
'An empty house' is a typical Diary of Dreams song, with known electronics and guitars and the typical voice and dramatic vibe. I think that the lyrics might be appealing for some situations, just don't commit suicide after listening to this song if you are in the situation described in the song. Search for help if needed!
'Remedy mine' is a great piano driven ballad, until the electronics and the guitars jump in. The bombastic and melancholia takes it over, coming in like in waves.

Tracklist

:01: Malum 4:53
:02: the Luxury of Insanity 5:57
:03: StummKult 4:53
:04: Dogs of War 5:26
:05: a day in December 4:12
:06: a dark embrace 6:33
:07: the Game 3:53
:08: Dream of a Ghost 5:37
:09: Daemon 6:00
:10: House of Odds
:11: the Battle 5:27
:12: die Gassen der Stadt 3:16

Extra

:13: Mythology of Violence 4:15
:14: an empty house 4:30
:15: Remedy mine 5:28

interview

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/03/2014


 

Next reviews
ALBERT DUPONTEL • 9 Mois Ferme
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • Beyond the Cycles of Time
JACOB VAUGHAN • Bad Milo!
THE AMATORY MURDER • Exploiting Our Dreams (EP)
ALBERT PYUN • Arcade
OLIVER STONE • Alexander
LAVVI EBBEL • Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
JACQUES TATI • Les vacances de M.Hulot
MINNY POPS • Sparks In a Dark Room

 

Other reviews from DIARY OF DREAMS
DIARY OF DREAMS • Antwerp, Zappa (27/11/2015)
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
DIARY OF DREAMS • Breath Of Life | Zappa, Antwerp (BE) | 4th of December 2011
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always

Music reviews

15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum
04
01
PLACEBO EFFECT
Shattered Souls

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!
12
01
Happy Birthday Rob Zombie! (56)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
10
01
DAVID BOWIE
Modern Love