tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/03/2014 : DIARY OF DREAMS - Elegies in Darkness

DIARY OF DREAMS

Elegies in Darkness

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveGothic Rock

[92/100]   

Accession Records
28/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Diary of Dreams produces on regular base new material and each time with a certain theme. This time it's Darkness. The sound is not revolutionary compared to the previous one, but its pure quality! We get enough typical stuff from electronic and guitar driven songs to pure ballads, in the end all the fans must be satisfied! I must say that in overall the sound is much richer and has been more worked out. As for me this is simply the best elaborated cd of Diary of Dreams!

'Malum' explodes pretty fast with aggressive synth & guitars. The bombastic sound gives it a higher level, just as the vocal rage of Adrien Hates. The small break downs keep the song interesting. This one must be a real killer song during a concert! 'The Luxury of Insanity' has a nice acoustic start, slowly blooming and changing into the typical electro gothic sound of Diary of Dreams. 'StummKult' is a German song, sadly my German is not well enough to understand it all, nut I love the dark sound. The song is a bit slow, but the sound is good and I’m pretty sure that Germans will love the narrative side of this song. 'Dogs of War' is a melancholic slow one and not at all the aggressive dance floor attack as expected when reading the title. I simply love the melancholia in this one, taking me down! 'A day in December' starts as a piano ballad, with 2 voices backing each other. The song feels like a weeping song, driven on pure melancholia and depressive voices! The guitars are well mixed in the back! 'A dark embrace' is a typical old school Diary of Dreams song (but with a more elaborated and more worked out sound with more details in it). 'The Game' gets again the kind of a dual vocal support, real drums and a bombastic sound making the song explode like as if it was a volcano. I would call this song a melancholic rager! 'Dream of a Ghost' is a false slow one with great a piano, some synths and the typical melancholic voice of Adrian Hates. 'Daemon' starts with a piano and gets pumping beats and up worked synths before cooling down a bit. Once the voice comes in the bombastic sound changes the style of the song. The melancholia stays. The break take down the rhythm of the song, but makes it a bit more danger-liked song. Same can be said from 'House of Odds' & 'The Battle'. 'Die Gassen der Stadt' is a great ballad, like only Diary of Dreams can produce them! A great end for the regular cd!

Extra

'Mythology of Violence' is a false slow one with nice electronics and a bit of the typical bombastic sound and a great melancholic voice!
'An empty house' is a typical Diary of Dreams song, with known electronics and guitars and the typical voice and dramatic vibe. I think that the lyrics might be appealing for some situations, just don't commit suicide after listening to this song if you are in the situation described in the song. Search for help if needed!
'Remedy mine' is a great piano driven ballad, until the electronics and the guitars jump in. The bombastic and melancholia takes it over, coming in like in waves.

Tracklist

:01: Malum 4:53
:02: the Luxury of Insanity 5:57
:03: StummKult 4:53
:04: Dogs of War 5:26
:05: a day in December 4:12
:06: a dark embrace 6:33
:07: the Game 3:53
:08: Dream of a Ghost 5:37
:09: Daemon 6:00
:10: House of Odds
:11: the Battle 5:27
:12: die Gassen der Stadt 3:16

Extra

:13: Mythology of Violence 4:15
:14: an empty house 4:30
:15: Remedy mine 5:28

interview

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/03/2014


 

Next reviews
ALBERT DUPONTEL • 9 Mois Ferme
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • Beyond the Cycles of Time
JACOB VAUGHAN • Bad Milo!
THE AMATORY MURDER • Exploiting Our Dreams (EP)
ALBERT PYUN • Arcade
OLIVER STONE • Alexander
LAVVI EBBEL • Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
JACQUES TATI • Les vacances de M.Hulot
MINNY POPS • Sparks In a Dark Room

 

Other reviews from DIARY OF DREAMS
DIARY OF DREAMS • Antwerp, Zappa (27/11/2015)
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
DIARY OF DREAMS • Breath Of Life | Zappa, Antwerp (BE) | 4th of December 2011
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
NORMORIA • Origin

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem