tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/03/2014 : DIARY OF DREAMS - Elegies in Darkness

DIARY OF DREAMS

Elegies in Darkness

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveGothic Rock

[92/100]   

Accession Records
28/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Diary of Dreams produces on regular base new material and each time with a certain theme. This time it's Darkness. The sound is not revolutionary compared to the previous one, but its pure quality! We get enough typical stuff from electronic and guitar driven songs to pure ballads, in the end all the fans must be satisfied! I must say that in overall the sound is much richer and has been more worked out. As for me this is simply the best elaborated cd of Diary of Dreams!

'Malum' explodes pretty fast with aggressive synth & guitars. The bombastic sound gives it a higher level, just as the vocal rage of Adrien Hates. The small break downs keep the song interesting. This one must be a real killer song during a concert! 'The Luxury of Insanity' has a nice acoustic start, slowly blooming and changing into the typical electro gothic sound of Diary of Dreams. 'StummKult' is a German song, sadly my German is not well enough to understand it all, nut I love the dark sound. The song is a bit slow, but the sound is good and I’m pretty sure that Germans will love the narrative side of this song. 'Dogs of War' is a melancholic slow one and not at all the aggressive dance floor attack as expected when reading the title. I simply love the melancholia in this one, taking me down! 'A day in December' starts as a piano ballad, with 2 voices backing each other. The song feels like a weeping song, driven on pure melancholia and depressive voices! The guitars are well mixed in the back! 'A dark embrace' is a typical old school Diary of Dreams song (but with a more elaborated and more worked out sound with more details in it). 'The Game' gets again the kind of a dual vocal support, real drums and a bombastic sound making the song explode like as if it was a volcano. I would call this song a melancholic rager! 'Dream of a Ghost' is a false slow one with great a piano, some synths and the typical melancholic voice of Adrian Hates. 'Daemon' starts with a piano and gets pumping beats and up worked synths before cooling down a bit. Once the voice comes in the bombastic sound changes the style of the song. The melancholia stays. The break take down the rhythm of the song, but makes it a bit more danger-liked song. Same can be said from 'House of Odds' & 'The Battle'. 'Die Gassen der Stadt' is a great ballad, like only Diary of Dreams can produce them! A great end for the regular cd!

Extra

'Mythology of Violence' is a false slow one with nice electronics and a bit of the typical bombastic sound and a great melancholic voice!
'An empty house' is a typical Diary of Dreams song, with known electronics and guitars and the typical voice and dramatic vibe. I think that the lyrics might be appealing for some situations, just don't commit suicide after listening to this song if you are in the situation described in the song. Search for help if needed!
'Remedy mine' is a great piano driven ballad, until the electronics and the guitars jump in. The bombastic and melancholia takes it over, coming in like in waves.

Tracklist

:01: Malum 4:53
:02: the Luxury of Insanity 5:57
:03: StummKult 4:53
:04: Dogs of War 5:26
:05: a day in December 4:12
:06: a dark embrace 6:33
:07: the Game 3:53
:08: Dream of a Ghost 5:37
:09: Daemon 6:00
:10: House of Odds
:11: the Battle 5:27
:12: die Gassen der Stadt 3:16

Extra

:13: Mythology of Violence 4:15
:14: an empty house 4:30
:15: Remedy mine 5:28

interview

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/03/2014


 

Next reviews
ALBERT DUPONTEL • 9 Mois Ferme
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • Beyond the Cycles of Time
JACOB VAUGHAN • Bad Milo!
THE AMATORY MURDER • Exploiting Our Dreams (EP)
ALBERT PYUN • Arcade
OLIVER STONE • Alexander
LAVVI EBBEL • Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
JACQUES TATI • Les vacances de M.Hulot
MINNY POPS • Sparks In a Dark Room

 

Other reviews from DIARY OF DREAMS
DIARY OF DREAMS • Antwerp, Zappa (27/11/2015)
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
DIARY OF DREAMS • Breath Of Life | Zappa, Antwerp (BE) | 4th of December 2011
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination