tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/03/2014 : DIARY OF DREAMS - Elegies in Darkness

DIARY OF DREAMS

Elegies in Darkness

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveGothic Rock

[92/100]   

Accession Records
28/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Diary of Dreams produces on regular base new material and each time with a certain theme. This time it's Darkness. The sound is not revolutionary compared to the previous one, but its pure quality! We get enough typical stuff from electronic and guitar driven songs to pure ballads, in the end all the fans must be satisfied! I must say that in overall the sound is much richer and has been more worked out. As for me this is simply the best elaborated cd of Diary of Dreams!

'Malum' explodes pretty fast with aggressive synth & guitars. The bombastic sound gives it a higher level, just as the vocal rage of Adrien Hates. The small break downs keep the song interesting. This one must be a real killer song during a concert! 'The Luxury of Insanity' has a nice acoustic start, slowly blooming and changing into the typical electro gothic sound of Diary of Dreams. 'StummKult' is a German song, sadly my German is not well enough to understand it all, nut I love the dark sound. The song is a bit slow, but the sound is good and I’m pretty sure that Germans will love the narrative side of this song. 'Dogs of War' is a melancholic slow one and not at all the aggressive dance floor attack as expected when reading the title. I simply love the melancholia in this one, taking me down! 'A day in December' starts as a piano ballad, with 2 voices backing each other. The song feels like a weeping song, driven on pure melancholia and depressive voices! The guitars are well mixed in the back! 'A dark embrace' is a typical old school Diary of Dreams song (but with a more elaborated and more worked out sound with more details in it). 'The Game' gets again the kind of a dual vocal support, real drums and a bombastic sound making the song explode like as if it was a volcano. I would call this song a melancholic rager! 'Dream of a Ghost' is a false slow one with great a piano, some synths and the typical melancholic voice of Adrian Hates. 'Daemon' starts with a piano and gets pumping beats and up worked synths before cooling down a bit. Once the voice comes in the bombastic sound changes the style of the song. The melancholia stays. The break take down the rhythm of the song, but makes it a bit more danger-liked song. Same can be said from 'House of Odds' & 'The Battle'. 'Die Gassen der Stadt' is a great ballad, like only Diary of Dreams can produce them! A great end for the regular cd!

Extra

'Mythology of Violence' is a false slow one with nice electronics and a bit of the typical bombastic sound and a great melancholic voice!
'An empty house' is a typical Diary of Dreams song, with known electronics and guitars and the typical voice and dramatic vibe. I think that the lyrics might be appealing for some situations, just don't commit suicide after listening to this song if you are in the situation described in the song. Search for help if needed!
'Remedy mine' is a great piano driven ballad, until the electronics and the guitars jump in. The bombastic and melancholia takes it over, coming in like in waves.

Tracklist

:01: Malum 4:53
:02: the Luxury of Insanity 5:57
:03: StummKult 4:53
:04: Dogs of War 5:26
:05: a day in December 4:12
:06: a dark embrace 6:33
:07: the Game 3:53
:08: Dream of a Ghost 5:37
:09: Daemon 6:00
:10: House of Odds
:11: the Battle 5:27
:12: die Gassen der Stadt 3:16

Extra

:13: Mythology of Violence 4:15
:14: an empty house 4:30
:15: Remedy mine 5:28

interview

Filip VAN MUYLEM
28/03/2014


 

Next reviews
ALBERT DUPONTEL • 9 Mois Ferme
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • Beyond the Cycles of Time
JACOB VAUGHAN • Bad Milo!
THE AMATORY MURDER • Exploiting Our Dreams (EP)
ALBERT PYUN • Arcade
OLIVER STONE • Alexander
LAVVI EBBEL • Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
JACQUES TATI • Les vacances de M.Hulot
MINNY POPS • Sparks In a Dark Room

 

Other reviews from DIARY OF DREAMS
DIARY OF DREAMS • Antwerp, Zappa (27/11/2015)
DIARY OF DREAMS • Grau Im Licht
DIARY OF DREAMS • Breath Of Life | Zappa, Antwerp (BE) | 4th of December 2011
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)