tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

05/04/2018 : WANT/ED - Unthinkable

WANT/ED

Unthinkable

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveGothic Rock

[80/100]   

ScentAir Records
05/04/2018, Masha KASHA

Who is who

WANT/ed is an electro synthwave project from Kaliningrad - a little European part of Russia. Yury Aryasov composes the music and Sergey Surkov makes the arrangements. All the singers and the vocalists write the lyrics and remain invited. The concept of the project is similar to Bruderschaft or Elektrostaub - the guys who make this good electro music are the core of the band - the others make good vocals and lyrics.

The album “Unthinkable” is not an exception and features a bunch of invited vocalists. By the way, it is noteworthy to mention that the band has existed for a pretty long time and issued some songs in collaboration with such bands as Distain! and Vanguard.

The style

The music of WANT/ed is electronic but rather more a theatre or a dark cabaret than lunar electropop landscapes. They change the singer, the lyrics, the decorations and the masks for every track. Although the main leitmotif of style with its electro beats and gipsy scales is possible to track, I have to remark that the album features a vast variety of styles. There is something more guitary and that thing that has been called "gothic rock" about it. I love the rich instrumental concept and vast instrumental passages.

Favourite tracks

The album begins with powerful and dark track like "Nothing to Fear", which I really loved. "My Pride" was also a strong statement and "When Dreams Bleed" reminded me a bit of good old Tristraum. I personally loved more the light side of this darkpop band, so the tracks featuring Holger Müller have conquered my heart with their melancholy... and "Never Better Than Now" had something Nine Inch Nail-ish at the intro.

When to listen to it

When you want to replace "The Eye of the Tiger" with something new... and when you are desperate and need some romantical meloncholy.

To sum it up

A good darksynth release with various vocals, instrumental parts and personal, desperate lyrics about love... (what else?)

Masha KASHA
05/04/2018


 

Next reviews
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
AUTUMN • The Fall
NORMORIA • Origin
THE SUBMARINE KID • Independent – Drama
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
FEVER RAY • Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
DIARY OF DREAMS • Elegies in Darkness

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno