tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

05/04/2018 : WANT/ED - Unthinkable

WANT/ED

Unthinkable

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveGothic Rock

[80/100]   

ScentAir Records
05/04/2018, Masha KASHA

Who is who

WANT/ed is an electro synthwave project from Kaliningrad - a little European part of Russia. Yury Aryasov composes the music and Sergey Surkov makes the arrangements. All the singers and the vocalists write the lyrics and remain invited. The concept of the project is similar to Bruderschaft or Elektrostaub - the guys who make this good electro music are the core of the band - the others make good vocals and lyrics.

The album “Unthinkable” is not an exception and features a bunch of invited vocalists. By the way, it is noteworthy to mention that the band has existed for a pretty long time and issued some songs in collaboration with such bands as Distain! and Vanguard.

The style

The music of WANT/ed is electronic but rather more a theatre or a dark cabaret than lunar electropop landscapes. They change the singer, the lyrics, the decorations and the masks for every track. Although the main leitmotif of style with its electro beats and gipsy scales is possible to track, I have to remark that the album features a vast variety of styles. There is something more guitary and that thing that has been called "gothic rock" about it. I love the rich instrumental concept and vast instrumental passages.

Favourite tracks

The album begins with powerful and dark track like "Nothing to Fear", which I really loved. "My Pride" was also a strong statement and "When Dreams Bleed" reminded me a bit of good old Tristraum. I personally loved more the light side of this darkpop band, so the tracks featuring Holger Müller have conquered my heart with their melancholy... and "Never Better Than Now" had something Nine Inch Nail-ish at the intro.

When to listen to it

When you want to replace "The Eye of the Tiger" with something new... and when you are desperate and need some romantical meloncholy.

To sum it up

A good darksynth release with various vocals, instrumental parts and personal, desperate lyrics about love... (what else?)

Masha KASHA
05/04/2018


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper