tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

05/04/2018 : WANT/ED - Unthinkable

WANT/ED

Unthinkable

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveGothic Rock

[80/100]   

ScentAir Records
05/04/2018, Masha KASHA

Who is who

WANT/ed is an electro synthwave project from Kaliningrad - a little European part of Russia. Yury Aryasov composes the music and Sergey Surkov makes the arrangements. All the singers and the vocalists write the lyrics and remain invited. The concept of the project is similar to Bruderschaft or Elektrostaub - the guys who make this good electro music are the core of the band - the others make good vocals and lyrics.

The album “Unthinkable” is not an exception and features a bunch of invited vocalists. By the way, it is noteworthy to mention that the band has existed for a pretty long time and issued some songs in collaboration with such bands as Distain! and Vanguard.

The style

The music of WANT/ed is electronic but rather more a theatre or a dark cabaret than lunar electropop landscapes. They change the singer, the lyrics, the decorations and the masks for every track. Although the main leitmotif of style with its electro beats and gipsy scales is possible to track, I have to remark that the album features a vast variety of styles. There is something more guitary and that thing that has been called "gothic rock" about it. I love the rich instrumental concept and vast instrumental passages.

Favourite tracks

The album begins with powerful and dark track like "Nothing to Fear", which I really loved. "My Pride" was also a strong statement and "When Dreams Bleed" reminded me a bit of good old Tristraum. I personally loved more the light side of this darkpop band, so the tracks featuring Holger Müller have conquered my heart with their melancholy... and "Never Better Than Now" had something Nine Inch Nail-ish at the intro.

When to listen to it

When you want to replace "The Eye of the Tiger" with something new... and when you are desperate and need some romantical meloncholy.

To sum it up

A good darksynth release with various vocals, instrumental parts and personal, desperate lyrics about love... (what else?)

Masha KASHA
05/04/2018


 

Next reviews
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
AUTUMN • The Fall
NORMORIA • Origin
THE SUBMARINE KID • Independent – Drama
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
FEVER RAY • Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
DIARY OF DREAMS • Elegies in Darkness

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice