tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

05/04/2018 : WANT/ED - Unthinkable

WANT/ED

Unthinkable

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveGothic Rock

[80/100]   

ScentAir Records
05/04/2018, Masha KASHA

Who is who

WANT/ed is an electro synthwave project from Kaliningrad - a little European part of Russia. Yury Aryasov composes the music and Sergey Surkov makes the arrangements. All the singers and the vocalists write the lyrics and remain invited. The concept of the project is similar to Bruderschaft or Elektrostaub - the guys who make this good electro music are the core of the band - the others make good vocals and lyrics.

The album “Unthinkable” is not an exception and features a bunch of invited vocalists. By the way, it is noteworthy to mention that the band has existed for a pretty long time and issued some songs in collaboration with such bands as Distain! and Vanguard.

The style

The music of WANT/ed is electronic but rather more a theatre or a dark cabaret than lunar electropop landscapes. They change the singer, the lyrics, the decorations and the masks for every track. Although the main leitmotif of style with its electro beats and gipsy scales is possible to track, I have to remark that the album features a vast variety of styles. There is something more guitary and that thing that has been called "gothic rock" about it. I love the rich instrumental concept and vast instrumental passages.

Favourite tracks

The album begins with powerful and dark track like "Nothing to Fear", which I really loved. "My Pride" was also a strong statement and "When Dreams Bleed" reminded me a bit of good old Tristraum. I personally loved more the light side of this darkpop band, so the tracks featuring Holger Müller have conquered my heart with their melancholy... and "Never Better Than Now" had something Nine Inch Nail-ish at the intro.

When to listen to it

When you want to replace "The Eye of the Tiger" with something new... and when you are desperate and need some romantical meloncholy.

To sum it up

A good darksynth release with various vocals, instrumental parts and personal, desperate lyrics about love... (what else?)

Masha KASHA
05/04/2018


 

Next reviews
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
AUTUMN • The Fall
NORMORIA • Origin
THE SUBMARINE KID • Independent – Drama
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
FEVER RAY • Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + DARK WAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
DIARY OF DREAMS • Elegies in Darkness

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos