tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/03/2018 : WE ARE TEMPORARY - Embers

WE ARE TEMPORARY

Embers

MusicCD
DarkwaveElectro WaveIndie

[100/100]   

Trisol
21/03/2018, Masha KASHA

“Embers” is the second album of the US based darkwave/indielectro Band “We Are Temporary”.

Since the style of the first album has already been a pretty unique masterpiece, I guess everyone awaited the sequel with a certain impatience. The main questions arising troubling the fans were if Mr. Roberts will manage to carry on the good work and not lose the style. The answer is "YES"!

The album is "not light to digest" said one of my colleagues from another music webzine. And he is fully right in a positive sense. The beats, the vocals, the instruments - everything is mixed into a rare blend of good music. Each song is different and reveals new aspects every time youi listen to it

The style

If you have heard the first album you will never confuse "We are Temporary" with any other band. The sound/vocal is varying from very light and ethereal sound to very dark and dark mood, somewhere between darkwave and postpunk and completed with synths and sampled sounds VFX. The lyrics require a seperate admiration. "We Are Temporary" have something archaic, tribal and wild, yet mystical and clandestine.

Favourite songs

I love the "Polyamory" for the rock'n'roll part and "not yet another love song" attitude. Although the song is about love, "Polyamory" shows all the flow of relationships from the new exciting perspective. Since I personally prefer the darker side of the band "You Must Have Known" is one of my favourite tracks, slightly reminding me of "Give Me More" from the first album. Tracks like "Echoes" and "Earth" gently mix ethno/tribal with electro music, epecially "Earth" makes me thing about Delerium (in their mid years). I also loved the very industrial "Medication" for its archaic and rich sound.

When to listen to it

Especially when you are alone and have big headphones. And don't forget the booklet from the hard copy - to admire the artwork and to read the lyrics.

Masha KASHA
21/03/2018


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses