tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/03/2018 : WE ARE TEMPORARY - Embers

WE ARE TEMPORARY

Embers

MusicCD
DarkwaveElectro WaveIndie

[100/100]   

Trisol
21/03/2018, Masha KASHA

“Embers” is the second album of the US based darkwave/indielectro Band “We Are Temporary”.

Since the style of the first album has already been a pretty unique masterpiece, I guess everyone awaited the sequel with a certain impatience. The main questions arising troubling the fans were if Mr. Roberts will manage to carry on the good work and not lose the style. The answer is "YES"!

The album is "not light to digest" said one of my colleagues from another music webzine. And he is fully right in a positive sense. The beats, the vocals, the instruments - everything is mixed into a rare blend of good music. Each song is different and reveals new aspects every time youi listen to it

The style

If you have heard the first album you will never confuse "We are Temporary" with any other band. The sound/vocal is varying from very light and ethereal sound to very dark and dark mood, somewhere between darkwave and postpunk and completed with synths and sampled sounds VFX. The lyrics require a seperate admiration. "We Are Temporary" have something archaic, tribal and wild, yet mystical and clandestine.

Favourite songs

I love the "Polyamory" for the rock'n'roll part and "not yet another love song" attitude. Although the song is about love, "Polyamory" shows all the flow of relationships from the new exciting perspective. Since I personally prefer the darker side of the band "You Must Have Known" is one of my favourite tracks, slightly reminding me of "Give Me More" from the first album. Tracks like "Echoes" and "Earth" gently mix ethno/tribal with electro music, epecially "Earth" makes me thing about Delerium (in their mid years). I also loved the very industrial "Medication" for its archaic and rich sound.

When to listen to it

Especially when you are alone and have big headphones. And don't forget the booklet from the hard copy - to admire the artwork and to read the lyrics.

Masha KASHA
21/03/2018


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning