tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/03/2018 : WE ARE TEMPORARY - Embers

WE ARE TEMPORARY

Embers

MusicCD
DarkwaveElectro WaveIndie

[100/100]   

Trisol
21/03/2018, Masha KASHA

“Embers” is the second album of the US based darkwave/indielectro Band “We Are Temporary”.

Since the style of the first album has already been a pretty unique masterpiece, I guess everyone awaited the sequel with a certain impatience. The main questions arising troubling the fans were if Mr. Roberts will manage to carry on the good work and not lose the style. The answer is "YES"!

The album is "not light to digest" said one of my colleagues from another music webzine. And he is fully right in a positive sense. The beats, the vocals, the instruments - everything is mixed into a rare blend of good music. Each song is different and reveals new aspects every time youi listen to it

The style

If you have heard the first album you will never confuse "We are Temporary" with any other band. The sound/vocal is varying from very light and ethereal sound to very dark and dark mood, somewhere between darkwave and postpunk and completed with synths and sampled sounds VFX. The lyrics require a seperate admiration. "We Are Temporary" have something archaic, tribal and wild, yet mystical and clandestine.

Favourite songs

I love the "Polyamory" for the rock'n'roll part and "not yet another love song" attitude. Although the song is about love, "Polyamory" shows all the flow of relationships from the new exciting perspective. Since I personally prefer the darker side of the band "You Must Have Known" is one of my favourite tracks, slightly reminding me of "Give Me More" from the first album. Tracks like "Echoes" and "Earth" gently mix ethno/tribal with electro music, epecially "Earth" makes me thing about Delerium (in their mid years). I also loved the very industrial "Medication" for its archaic and rich sound.

When to listen to it

Especially when you are alone and have big headphones. And don't forget the booklet from the hard copy - to admire the artwork and to read the lyrics.

Masha KASHA
21/03/2018


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR