tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

13/03/2018 : MANNEQUIN - Singles/Faction

MANNEQUIN

Singles/Faction

MusicCassette
Dark Wave

[87/100]   

Sentimental
13/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From the dungeons of Sentimental Records (a label co-owned by Whispering Sons' singer Fenne...), great material is emerging … like the Californian dark-wave duo Mannequin who are releasing their first physical release on tape, a compilation of their first two digital EPs Singles and Factions. They guarantee a rectilinear, pulsating, dark sound characterised by pounding bass lines, melodic synths and a voice that may trigger goose bumps. A sound comparable to 80s acts like Das Kabinette, Iron Curtain or even Clan Of Xymox.

The first song Melissa has a lot of depth and darkness but tends to sound playful and cheerful at the same time. The infectious synth melody plays a dubious role in this opener. That blissful dark sound continues to resonate in Hours. Yet everything remains sufficiently up-tempo and danceable. Monotonous chilly drum beats and a voice from the grave welcomes you to Everybody. The permanently pumping and the bone penetrating bass-line complete this track.

1939 is a spoken word piece that makes the transition to Midnight Stalker, a gem that tends to lean more towards minimal synth style. As the sixth and final track we get Astro, a somewhat quieter song but still remaining danceable. We discover the same ingredients as in previous songs and spontaneous thoughts of the work of Clan Of Xymox can not be suppressed.

In short, Singles/Factions became a more than decent dark-wave tape. While Mannequin joined the still young and fresh Sentimental Records I believe this Californian duo has found the right label to deliver even more fine releases to fill-up the empty spaces on our music shelves.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/03/2018

https://sentimentalrecords.bandcamp.com/track/everybody

NL

Uit de kerkers van Sentimental Records (label mede in handen van Whispering Sons' zangeres Fenne...) doemt alweer geweldig materiaal op. Het Californische darkwave-duo Mannequin komt met een eerste fysieke release op tape, een combinatie van hun eerste twee EP's Singles en Factions. Ze staan garant voor een rechtlijnige, pulserende, donkere sound gekenmerkt door dreunende baslijnen, melodieuze synths en een stemgeluid dat menig haar op het lichaam recht doet staan. Een sound die vergelijkbaar is met die van 80's acts zoals Das Kabinette, Iron Curtain of Clan Of Xymox.

Melissa heeft veel diepgang en duisternis, maar klinkt tegelijk ook speels en vrolijk. De aanstekelijke synthmelodie speelt in deze opener een dubieuze rol. En die zalige donkere sound blijft doorklinken in Hours. Toch blijft alles voldoende uptempo en dansbaar. Monotone kille drumbeats en een grafstem verwelkomen je in Everybody. De permanent doordrammende en door merg en been gaande baslijn maken het werk compleet.

1939 is een spoken words stukje dat de overgang maakt naar Midnight Stalker, een pareltje dat meer neigt naar minimal synth. Als zesde en laatste track krijgen we Astro. Een ietwat rustiger nummer, dat toch ook weer dansbaar blijft. We ontwaren dezelfde ingrediënten als in voorgaande songs en een spontane gedachte aan Clan Of Xymox kan niet worden onderdrukt.

Een goede tape met goede darkwave. En op deze wijze vervoegt Mannequin het nog jonge Sentimental Records. Het duo uit Californië heeft naar mijn aanvoelen het juiste label om nog meer van dit in onze platen-, CD- en cassettekast te droppen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/03/2018

https://sentimentalrecords.bandcamp.com/track/everybody

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes