tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

13/03/2018 : MANNEQUIN - Singles/Faction

MANNEQUIN

Singles/Faction

MusicCassette
Dark Wave

[87/100]   

Sentimental
13/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From the dungeons of Sentimental Records (a label co-owned by Whispering Sons' singer Fenne...), great material is emerging … like the Californian dark-wave duo Mannequin who are releasing their first physical release on tape, a compilation of their first two digital EPs Singles and Factions. They guarantee a rectilinear, pulsating, dark sound characterised by pounding bass lines, melodic synths and a voice that may trigger goose bumps. A sound comparable to 80s acts like Das Kabinette, Iron Curtain or even Clan Of Xymox.

The first song Melissa has a lot of depth and darkness but tends to sound playful and cheerful at the same time. The infectious synth melody plays a dubious role in this opener. That blissful dark sound continues to resonate in Hours. Yet everything remains sufficiently up-tempo and danceable. Monotonous chilly drum beats and a voice from the grave welcomes you to Everybody. The permanently pumping and the bone penetrating bass-line complete this track.

1939 is a spoken word piece that makes the transition to Midnight Stalker, a gem that tends to lean more towards minimal synth style. As the sixth and final track we get Astro, a somewhat quieter song but still remaining danceable. We discover the same ingredients as in previous songs and spontaneous thoughts of the work of Clan Of Xymox can not be suppressed.

In short, Singles/Factions became a more than decent dark-wave tape. While Mannequin joined the still young and fresh Sentimental Records I believe this Californian duo has found the right label to deliver even more fine releases to fill-up the empty spaces on our music shelves.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/03/2018

https://sentimentalrecords.bandcamp.com/track/everybody

NL

Uit de kerkers van Sentimental Records (label mede in handen van Whispering Sons' zangeres Fenne...) doemt alweer geweldig materiaal op. Het Californische darkwave-duo Mannequin komt met een eerste fysieke release op tape, een combinatie van hun eerste twee EP's Singles en Factions. Ze staan garant voor een rechtlijnige, pulserende, donkere sound gekenmerkt door dreunende baslijnen, melodieuze synths en een stemgeluid dat menig haar op het lichaam recht doet staan. Een sound die vergelijkbaar is met die van 80's acts zoals Das Kabinette, Iron Curtain of Clan Of Xymox.

Melissa heeft veel diepgang en duisternis, maar klinkt tegelijk ook speels en vrolijk. De aanstekelijke synthmelodie speelt in deze opener een dubieuze rol. En die zalige donkere sound blijft doorklinken in Hours. Toch blijft alles voldoende uptempo en dansbaar. Monotone kille drumbeats en een grafstem verwelkomen je in Everybody. De permanent doordrammende en door merg en been gaande baslijn maken het werk compleet.

1939 is een spoken words stukje dat de overgang maakt naar Midnight Stalker, een pareltje dat meer neigt naar minimal synth. Als zesde en laatste track krijgen we Astro. Een ietwat rustiger nummer, dat toch ook weer dansbaar blijft. We ontwaren dezelfde ingrediënten als in voorgaande songs en een spontane gedachte aan Clan Of Xymox kan niet worden onderdrukt.

Een goede tape met goede darkwave. En op deze wijze vervoegt Mannequin het nog jonge Sentimental Records. Het duo uit Californië heeft naar mijn aanvoelen het juiste label om nog meer van dit in onze platen-, CD- en cassettekast te droppen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/03/2018

https://sentimentalrecords.bandcamp.com/track/everybody

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes