tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

13/03/2018 : MANNEQUIN - Singles/Faction

MANNEQUIN

Singles/Faction

MusicCassette
Dark Wave

[87/100]   

Sentimental
13/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From the dungeons of Sentimental Records (a label co-owned by Whispering Sons' singer Fenne...), great material is emerging … like the Californian dark-wave duo Mannequin who are releasing their first physical release on tape, a compilation of their first two digital EPs Singles and Factions. They guarantee a rectilinear, pulsating, dark sound characterised by pounding bass lines, melodic synths and a voice that may trigger goose bumps. A sound comparable to 80s acts like Das Kabinette, Iron Curtain or even Clan Of Xymox.

The first song Melissa has a lot of depth and darkness but tends to sound playful and cheerful at the same time. The infectious synth melody plays a dubious role in this opener. That blissful dark sound continues to resonate in Hours. Yet everything remains sufficiently up-tempo and danceable. Monotonous chilly drum beats and a voice from the grave welcomes you to Everybody. The permanently pumping and the bone penetrating bass-line complete this track.

1939 is a spoken word piece that makes the transition to Midnight Stalker, a gem that tends to lean more towards minimal synth style. As the sixth and final track we get Astro, a somewhat quieter song but still remaining danceable. We discover the same ingredients as in previous songs and spontaneous thoughts of the work of Clan Of Xymox can not be suppressed.

In short, Singles/Factions became a more than decent dark-wave tape. While Mannequin joined the still young and fresh Sentimental Records I believe this Californian duo has found the right label to deliver even more fine releases to fill-up the empty spaces on our music shelves.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/03/2018

https://sentimentalrecords.bandcamp.com/track/everybody

NL

Uit de kerkers van Sentimental Records (label mede in handen van Whispering Sons' zangeres Fenne...) doemt alweer geweldig materiaal op. Het Californische darkwave-duo Mannequin komt met een eerste fysieke release op tape, een combinatie van hun eerste twee EP's Singles en Factions. Ze staan garant voor een rechtlijnige, pulserende, donkere sound gekenmerkt door dreunende baslijnen, melodieuze synths en een stemgeluid dat menig haar op het lichaam recht doet staan. Een sound die vergelijkbaar is met die van 80's acts zoals Das Kabinette, Iron Curtain of Clan Of Xymox.

Melissa heeft veel diepgang en duisternis, maar klinkt tegelijk ook speels en vrolijk. De aanstekelijke synthmelodie speelt in deze opener een dubieuze rol. En die zalige donkere sound blijft doorklinken in Hours. Toch blijft alles voldoende uptempo en dansbaar. Monotone kille drumbeats en een grafstem verwelkomen je in Everybody. De permanent doordrammende en door merg en been gaande baslijn maken het werk compleet.

1939 is een spoken words stukje dat de overgang maakt naar Midnight Stalker, een pareltje dat meer neigt naar minimal synth. Als zesde en laatste track krijgen we Astro. Een ietwat rustiger nummer, dat toch ook weer dansbaar blijft. We ontwaren dezelfde ingrediënten als in voorgaande songs en een spontane gedachte aan Clan Of Xymox kan niet worden onderdrukt.

Een goede tape met goede darkwave. En op deze wijze vervoegt Mannequin het nog jonge Sentimental Records. Het duo uit Californië heeft naar mijn aanvoelen het juiste label om nog meer van dit in onze platen-, CD- en cassettekast te droppen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/03/2018

https://sentimentalrecords.bandcamp.com/track/everybody

Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed