tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

13/03/2018 : MANNEQUIN - Singles/Faction

MANNEQUIN

Singles/Faction

MusicCassette
Dark Wave

[87/100]   

Sentimental
13/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From the dungeons of Sentimental Records (a label co-owned by Whispering Sons' singer Fenne...), great material is emerging … like the Californian dark-wave duo Mannequin who are releasing their first physical release on tape, a compilation of their first two digital EPs Singles and Factions. They guarantee a rectilinear, pulsating, dark sound characterised by pounding bass lines, melodic synths and a voice that may trigger goose bumps. A sound comparable to 80s acts like Das Kabinette, Iron Curtain or even Clan Of Xymox.

The first song Melissa has a lot of depth and darkness but tends to sound playful and cheerful at the same time. The infectious synth melody plays a dubious role in this opener. That blissful dark sound continues to resonate in Hours. Yet everything remains sufficiently up-tempo and danceable. Monotonous chilly drum beats and a voice from the grave welcomes you to Everybody. The permanently pumping and the bone penetrating bass-line complete this track.

1939 is a spoken word piece that makes the transition to Midnight Stalker, a gem that tends to lean more towards minimal synth style. As the sixth and final track we get Astro, a somewhat quieter song but still remaining danceable. We discover the same ingredients as in previous songs and spontaneous thoughts of the work of Clan Of Xymox can not be suppressed.

In short, Singles/Factions became a more than decent dark-wave tape. While Mannequin joined the still young and fresh Sentimental Records I believe this Californian duo has found the right label to deliver even more fine releases to fill-up the empty spaces on our music shelves.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/03/2018

https://sentimentalrecords.bandcamp.com/track/everybody

NL

Uit de kerkers van Sentimental Records (label mede in handen van Whispering Sons' zangeres Fenne...) doemt alweer geweldig materiaal op. Het Californische darkwave-duo Mannequin komt met een eerste fysieke release op tape, een combinatie van hun eerste twee EP's Singles en Factions. Ze staan garant voor een rechtlijnige, pulserende, donkere sound gekenmerkt door dreunende baslijnen, melodieuze synths en een stemgeluid dat menig haar op het lichaam recht doet staan. Een sound die vergelijkbaar is met die van 80's acts zoals Das Kabinette, Iron Curtain of Clan Of Xymox.

Melissa heeft veel diepgang en duisternis, maar klinkt tegelijk ook speels en vrolijk. De aanstekelijke synthmelodie speelt in deze opener een dubieuze rol. En die zalige donkere sound blijft doorklinken in Hours. Toch blijft alles voldoende uptempo en dansbaar. Monotone kille drumbeats en een grafstem verwelkomen je in Everybody. De permanent doordrammende en door merg en been gaande baslijn maken het werk compleet.

1939 is een spoken words stukje dat de overgang maakt naar Midnight Stalker, een pareltje dat meer neigt naar minimal synth. Als zesde en laatste track krijgen we Astro. Een ietwat rustiger nummer, dat toch ook weer dansbaar blijft. We ontwaren dezelfde ingrediënten als in voorgaande songs en een spontane gedachte aan Clan Of Xymox kan niet worden onderdrukt.

Een goede tape met goede darkwave. En op deze wijze vervoegt Mannequin het nog jonge Sentimental Records. Het duo uit Californië heeft naar mijn aanvoelen het juiste label om nog meer van dit in onze platen-, CD- en cassettekast te droppen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/03/2018

https://sentimentalrecords.bandcamp.com/track/everybody

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway