tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

13/03/2018 : MANNEQUIN - Singles/Faction

MANNEQUIN

Singles/Faction

MusicCassette
Dark Wave

[87/100]   

Sentimental
13/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From the dungeons of Sentimental Records (a label co-owned by Whispering Sons' singer Fenne...), great material is emerging … like the Californian dark-wave duo Mannequin who are releasing their first physical release on tape, a compilation of their first two digital EPs Singles and Factions. They guarantee a rectilinear, pulsating, dark sound characterised by pounding bass lines, melodic synths and a voice that may trigger goose bumps. A sound comparable to 80s acts like Das Kabinette, Iron Curtain or even Clan Of Xymox.

The first song Melissa has a lot of depth and darkness but tends to sound playful and cheerful at the same time. The infectious synth melody plays a dubious role in this opener. That blissful dark sound continues to resonate in Hours. Yet everything remains sufficiently up-tempo and danceable. Monotonous chilly drum beats and a voice from the grave welcomes you to Everybody. The permanently pumping and the bone penetrating bass-line complete this track.

1939 is a spoken word piece that makes the transition to Midnight Stalker, a gem that tends to lean more towards minimal synth style. As the sixth and final track we get Astro, a somewhat quieter song but still remaining danceable. We discover the same ingredients as in previous songs and spontaneous thoughts of the work of Clan Of Xymox can not be suppressed.

In short, Singles/Factions became a more than decent dark-wave tape. While Mannequin joined the still young and fresh Sentimental Records I believe this Californian duo has found the right label to deliver even more fine releases to fill-up the empty spaces on our music shelves.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/03/2018

https://sentimentalrecords.bandcamp.com/track/everybody

NL

Uit de kerkers van Sentimental Records (label mede in handen van Whispering Sons' zangeres Fenne...) doemt alweer geweldig materiaal op. Het Californische darkwave-duo Mannequin komt met een eerste fysieke release op tape, een combinatie van hun eerste twee EP's Singles en Factions. Ze staan garant voor een rechtlijnige, pulserende, donkere sound gekenmerkt door dreunende baslijnen, melodieuze synths en een stemgeluid dat menig haar op het lichaam recht doet staan. Een sound die vergelijkbaar is met die van 80's acts zoals Das Kabinette, Iron Curtain of Clan Of Xymox.

Melissa heeft veel diepgang en duisternis, maar klinkt tegelijk ook speels en vrolijk. De aanstekelijke synthmelodie speelt in deze opener een dubieuze rol. En die zalige donkere sound blijft doorklinken in Hours. Toch blijft alles voldoende uptempo en dansbaar. Monotone kille drumbeats en een grafstem verwelkomen je in Everybody. De permanent doordrammende en door merg en been gaande baslijn maken het werk compleet.

1939 is een spoken words stukje dat de overgang maakt naar Midnight Stalker, een pareltje dat meer neigt naar minimal synth. Als zesde en laatste track krijgen we Astro. Een ietwat rustiger nummer, dat toch ook weer dansbaar blijft. We ontwaren dezelfde ingrediënten als in voorgaande songs en een spontane gedachte aan Clan Of Xymox kan niet worden onderdrukt.

Een goede tape met goede darkwave. En op deze wijze vervoegt Mannequin het nog jonge Sentimental Records. Het duo uit Californië heeft naar mijn aanvoelen het juiste label om nog meer van dit in onze platen-, CD- en cassettekast te droppen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/03/2018

https://sentimentalrecords.bandcamp.com/track/everybody

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation