tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

31/01/2018 : MIRLAND/LARSEN - Disturbia

MIRLAND/LARSEN

Disturbia

MusicCD
ElectroExperimentalIndustrial

[95/100]   

Laebel Music
31/01/2018, Marija BULJETA

Although I was rather familiar with Mirland – Larsen’s project Am Tierpark, these two Danish music masterminds pleasantly surprised me again. This time their collaboration took a new form. The duo decided to step into new territory which was much different from the Am Tierpark music course. Instead of synth pop, they presented the quite diverse and experimentation oriented album Disturbia under the simple name Mirland/Larsen.

Upon hearing the opening track “Memories”, I was rather puzzled. It felt like opening a chapter of their work which wouldn’t be so easy to comprehend. The song won’t make you too comfortable; it talks about unpleasant memories. After the second track, “And They Sing About Anger”, I became instantly aware of the album’s message. It is clearly designed to confront us with the feelings of frustration, doubt, fears, anger and anxiety. However, I can’t perceive this album in the negative sense. It speaks about not so pleasant subjects but confronting them is the first step in the healing process. Instead of pain, anger or fear, I choose to see the bright exit at the end of our everyday sufferings. They go more easy on us with the “Hurt Machine”; Mirland creates the most beautiful and soothing atmospheric harmonies for the chorus and Larsen sings ever so softly. “Their World” continues where “Hurt Machine” has left off. We are introduced to the song by the harmonious synth soundscapes. However, half way through the song Larsen appears with his harsh and narrative vocals to shift you to another, darker place. He finds inspiration in the moral values of today’s society; again a subject that won’t leave you cool–headed. Their intention was to make a thematic and conceptual album and it has been exactly that. “Berlin Bill” is a storytelling song, characterised by the coldish and alienating music atmosphere, and it’s the slowest track so far, counting under 150 bpm. It’s stripped of harmonious melodies but it doesn’t take them long to introduce another melodic track, “Empty Eyes”. Its main focus is on the chorus. The track would work as an instrumental as well. However, filtered vocals create a separate melody and definitely lift the track a step higher. Larsen challenges us again with “Death Mask”; nothing about this song is easy. And that’s exactly what’s so great about this album. It talks about life and life is never easy. The lyrical content is not the only element that makes this album what it is. Mirland’s craftsmanship is absolutely superb. He proved once again that he’s an exceptional artist who is absolutely passionate about the electronic sound. He doesn’t intend to please many but to explore new, exciting possibilities and push them a bit further. It would be unfair to choose the favourite track. However, “Destroy Everything” kicked in from the start. It has such (sex–)appeal which immediately pushed my buttons. It’s deep, dark, mystical, yet groovy and sexy. It’s amazing how Mirland plays with rhythm, going up to 180 bpm on “Insomnia” while you experience the overall atmosphere as slow or moderate. “Disturbia” is the last track which rounds up the whole story. Larsen’s vocals are painted in anguish and distress. However, beautifully arranged atmospheric synths in the chorus soften the anxiety feel. Terrific closure of yet another great chapter in Mirland/Larsen collaboration. Keep your eyes (and ears) on these guys, you can’t wish for the better start to 2018!

Find Disturbia at Bandcamp: https://mirland.bandcamp.com/album/disturbia

Marija BULJETA
31/01/2018


 

Next reviews
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
BLUTENGEL • Black
OST+FRONT • Adrenalin
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
TJENS MATIC • Middle Finger
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
COCKSURE • TKO (12')
CACOPHONEUSES • The Myth Of Lorelei

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu