tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

31/01/2018 : MIRLAND/LARSEN - Disturbia

MIRLAND/LARSEN

Disturbia

MusicCD
ElectroExperimentalIndustrial

[95/100]   

Laebel Music
31/01/2018, Marija BULJETA

Although I was rather familiar with Mirland – Larsen’s project Am Tierpark, these two Danish music masterminds pleasantly surprised me again. This time their collaboration took a new form. The duo decided to step into new territory which was much different from the Am Tierpark music course. Instead of synth pop, they presented the quite diverse and experimentation oriented album Disturbia under the simple name Mirland/Larsen.

Upon hearing the opening track “Memories”, I was rather puzzled. It felt like opening a chapter of their work which wouldn’t be so easy to comprehend. The song won’t make you too comfortable; it talks about unpleasant memories. After the second track, “And They Sing About Anger”, I became instantly aware of the album’s message. It is clearly designed to confront us with the feelings of frustration, doubt, fears, anger and anxiety. However, I can’t perceive this album in the negative sense. It speaks about not so pleasant subjects but confronting them is the first step in the healing process. Instead of pain, anger or fear, I choose to see the bright exit at the end of our everyday sufferings. They go more easy on us with the “Hurt Machine”; Mirland creates the most beautiful and soothing atmospheric harmonies for the chorus and Larsen sings ever so softly. “Their World” continues where “Hurt Machine” has left off. We are introduced to the song by the harmonious synth soundscapes. However, half way through the song Larsen appears with his harsh and narrative vocals to shift you to another, darker place. He finds inspiration in the moral values of today’s society; again a subject that won’t leave you cool–headed. Their intention was to make a thematic and conceptual album and it has been exactly that. “Berlin Bill” is a storytelling song, characterised by the coldish and alienating music atmosphere, and it’s the slowest track so far, counting under 150 bpm. It’s stripped of harmonious melodies but it doesn’t take them long to introduce another melodic track, “Empty Eyes”. Its main focus is on the chorus. The track would work as an instrumental as well. However, filtered vocals create a separate melody and definitely lift the track a step higher. Larsen challenges us again with “Death Mask”; nothing about this song is easy. And that’s exactly what’s so great about this album. It talks about life and life is never easy. The lyrical content is not the only element that makes this album what it is. Mirland’s craftsmanship is absolutely superb. He proved once again that he’s an exceptional artist who is absolutely passionate about the electronic sound. He doesn’t intend to please many but to explore new, exciting possibilities and push them a bit further. It would be unfair to choose the favourite track. However, “Destroy Everything” kicked in from the start. It has such (sex–)appeal which immediately pushed my buttons. It’s deep, dark, mystical, yet groovy and sexy. It’s amazing how Mirland plays with rhythm, going up to 180 bpm on “Insomnia” while you experience the overall atmosphere as slow or moderate. “Disturbia” is the last track which rounds up the whole story. Larsen’s vocals are painted in anguish and distress. However, beautifully arranged atmospheric synths in the chorus soften the anxiety feel. Terrific closure of yet another great chapter in Mirland/Larsen collaboration. Keep your eyes (and ears) on these guys, you can’t wish for the better start to 2018!

Find Disturbia at Bandcamp: https://mirland.bandcamp.com/album/disturbia

Marija BULJETA
31/01/2018


 

Next reviews
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
BLUTENGEL • Black
OST+FRONT • Adrenalin
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
TJENS MATIC • Middle Finger
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
COCKSURE • TKO (12')
CACOPHONEUSES • The Myth Of Lorelei

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
CONFORMIST FEAT. H O R S E S • Heddiw
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky