tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/01/2018 : KASPER HATE - Why Live When You Can Rule

KASPER HATE

Why Live When You Can Rule

MusicCD
Electro WaveIndie

[75/100]   

ScentAir Records
30/01/2018, Masha KASHA

Kasper Hate

Kasper Hate is rather enigmatic project from Hamburg. “Why live when you can rule” is the fourth album released on ScentAir Records. The album bears two surprises. Do not judge the book… sorry the CD by its cover. The music you hear is not folky but rather dark electro. Second surprise is the first song of the album, which makes you think the whole LP will be continued in Joachim Witt style. Well, if you have heard Kasper Hate before you surely know which musical style you have to expect.

Style

I would not call it new retro wave but a new retro electro. The sound is very raw and electronic, the voice is distorted in a retro sound manner but the BPMs and the vocal manner reveal, that the release is really modern.

Favorite song

“Replaced Sun” is a strong, vibrant, dancefloor hit. Fits perfectly to the album opening.

I would love to mention “The Flood” because of the catchy, interesting instrumental notions. I really appreciated “One Heartbeat, One Love” for its lyrics - very pictographic words

“Two people - one heartbeat

Two hearts - one heartbeat

One heartbeat - one love”

Simple and essential. The case when less is actually more.

When to listen to it

In a light melancholic, slightly heartbroken mood. Especially “Big Boys Don’t Cry” to cheer you up (or let you cry out). For meditating in bed looking at the ceiling.

To sum it up

Good release full of minimal electro robotic sounds with distorted vocal and a big concept behind the release. Kasper Hate’s style is pretty special and unique, so it is up to you to find out if you appreciate it.

Masha KASHA
30/01/2018


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected