tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/01/2018 : KASPER HATE - Why Live When You Can Rule

KASPER HATE

Why Live When You Can Rule

MusicCD
Electro WaveIndie

[75/100]   

ScentAir Records
30/01/2018, Masha KASHA

Kasper Hate

Kasper Hate is rather enigmatic project from Hamburg. “Why live when you can rule” is the fourth album released on ScentAir Records. The album bears two surprises. Do not judge the book… sorry the CD by its cover. The music you hear is not folky but rather dark electro. Second surprise is the first song of the album, which makes you think the whole LP will be continued in Joachim Witt style. Well, if you have heard Kasper Hate before you surely know which musical style you have to expect.

Style

I would not call it new retro wave but a new retro electro. The sound is very raw and electronic, the voice is distorted in a retro sound manner but the BPMs and the vocal manner reveal, that the release is really modern.

Favorite song

“Replaced Sun” is a strong, vibrant, dancefloor hit. Fits perfectly to the album opening.

I would love to mention “The Flood” because of the catchy, interesting instrumental notions. I really appreciated “One Heartbeat, One Love” for its lyrics - very pictographic words

“Two people - one heartbeat

Two hearts - one heartbeat

One heartbeat - one love”

Simple and essential. The case when less is actually more.

When to listen to it

In a light melancholic, slightly heartbroken mood. Especially “Big Boys Don’t Cry” to cheer you up (or let you cry out). For meditating in bed looking at the ceiling.

To sum it up

Good release full of minimal electro robotic sounds with distorted vocal and a big concept behind the release. Kasper Hate’s style is pretty special and unique, so it is up to you to find out if you appreciate it.

Masha KASHA
30/01/2018


Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall