tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/02/2018 : KIRLIAN CAMERA - Hologram Moon

KIRLIAN CAMERA

Hologram Moon

MusicCD
Dark WaveElectro Wave

[85/100]   

Dependent
01/02/2018, Marija BULJETA

In October 2017, Kirlian Camera revealed the single “Sky Collapse”, written by Elena Alice Fossi and Angelo Bergamini and mixed by the legendary producer John Fryer. The song featured vocals by Elena and Eskil Simonsson of Covenant. The single was an overture to the upcoming album and gave a great insight into the overall feel and atmosphere of the latest Kirlian Camera release. Although the single speaks about unsettling visions, it showed great dance floor potential with the punchy beats and melancholic melodies. The song ranked high on the German Alternative Charts and I was rather curious to hear the rest of the material.

Hologram Moon reveals all the greatest qualities of this legendary Italian electro dark wave act; their songs are melodically rich with great synth arrangements, they are catchy, seductive, mystical and melancholic.

The album shifts from the more quiet and introspective moments to more danceable tunes. Such diversity makes the album an unpredictable and intriguing listening experience.

They open with “Holograms”, which is amazingly rich in harmonies and absolutely spectacular in the chorus. Elena's vocal interpretation is incredibly emotional and passionate. “Lost Islands” is another astounding melodic treasure; atmosphere is more melancholic and desolate, however such an emotional and deep piece won't escape your attention.

“Polar IHS” keeps the same melancholic feel but we can find an uplifting moment in the chorus. “Kryostar” is another dancy number besides “Sky Collapse”; the track relies more on the rhythm than the melody and is characterised by the punchy beats and trancy refrain. Songs “Eyes Of The Moon” and “Haunted River” show that the album can be perfect dance floor and/or home listening material. Kirlian Camera never fail to surprise us with their enigmatic and unique approach to making music. Neither was the mystifying album title chosen randomly: it fits the album's concept perfectly. Kirlian Camera refered to the conspiracy theory according to which the Moon would be a hologram instead of a satellite. They introduce the idea of the alternative reality which undoubtedly suits the band's music work and artistic expression.

Marija BULJETA
01/02/2018


Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco