tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/06/2011 : KIRLIAN CAMERA - Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP

KIRLIAN CAMERA

Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP

MusicCD
Dark WaveElectro

[93/100]   

Out Of Line
14/06/2011, Didier BECU

More than thirty years ago Angelo Bergamini from Parma, Italy, started his musical career by forming a band that only should cover one big problem: being misunderstood.

The past is the past as they say and apart from some genius records, the future from this Italian darkwave-institute changed when in 2000 one woman named Elena Alice Fossi made her entrance.

Once again, there are people who have to nail them on the cross by stating that Kirlian Camera is relying to much on the beauty of Elena's appearance. Such things make me laugh, honestly, as 70% of music (if not more) is based around image or do you really want me to believe that The Doors should be as popular if Jim Morrison was your ordinary Joe?

Elena's entrance also transformed Kirlian Camera into a band who turned themselves into some electronic music machine in where dreams live next door to nightmares.

This newest single that features four tracks, offers that image completely.

Opening song "Nightglory" has the sound of those typical Kirlian Camera dance floor killers, where Elena's voice fits perfectly with the guitar driven electropoprock, but a track later, you hear the piano version of it and through this you're not only facing the greatness of this song but also what this band is capable of.

"After winter MMXI" is the typical electro-angst pop that Angelo is famous for.

Closing track "I gave you wings, I gave you death" is an instrumental song in where beauty embraces tragedy. In fact, did anyone used already the term, electro-angst?

"Ghlóir Ar An Oíche" (which means indeed "Glory of the night") is released as a limited CD single in a glorious digipak and a strictly limited, gorgeous 10" picture vinyl version.

The reason we gave only 9 stars to this release is just because it only features four songs but it says enough about the forthcoming album : it will be a killer.

Didier BECU
14/06/2011


 

Next reviews
KINDEST LINES • Covered in dust
DAYBED • NEWCLEAR WAVES | VIOLENCE CONJUGALE | ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011 | The kingdom of analogue synths
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool
CRUISE [CTRL] • Red or blue? (Remixes)
RELIGIOUS TO DAMN • Glass Prayer
ARBEID ADELT! • live@AB2011
CHRIS WATSON & MARCUS DAVIDSON • Cross-Pollination
CAITHNESS • Apostasy & the sorrowful child
ROEDELIUS • Wie das Wispern des Windes...
SARABETH TUCEK • Get well soon

 

Other reviews from KIRLIAN CAMERA
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Best Of- Radio Music A
KIRLIAN CAMERA • It Doesn't Matter Now
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + ELECTRO
NO:CARRIER • Wisom & Failure
TYING TIFFANY • Dark Days White Nights
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
LEVANT • Beyond The Masque Of Eden

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide