tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/06/2011 : KIRLIAN CAMERA - Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP

KIRLIAN CAMERA

Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP

MusicCD
Dark WaveElectro

[93/100]   

Out Of Line
14/06/2011, Didier BECU

More than thirty years ago Angelo Bergamini from Parma, Italy, started his musical career by forming a band that only should cover one big problem: being misunderstood.

The past is the past as they say and apart from some genius records, the future from this Italian darkwave-institute changed when in 2000 one woman named Elena Alice Fossi made her entrance.

Once again, there are people who have to nail them on the cross by stating that Kirlian Camera is relying to much on the beauty of Elena's appearance. Such things make me laugh, honestly, as 70% of music (if not more) is based around image or do you really want me to believe that The Doors should be as popular if Jim Morrison was your ordinary Joe?

Elena's entrance also transformed Kirlian Camera into a band who turned themselves into some electronic music machine in where dreams live next door to nightmares.

This newest single that features four tracks, offers that image completely.

Opening song "Nightglory" has the sound of those typical Kirlian Camera dance floor killers, where Elena's voice fits perfectly with the guitar driven electropoprock, but a track later, you hear the piano version of it and through this you're not only facing the greatness of this song but also what this band is capable of.

"After winter MMXI" is the typical electro-angst pop that Angelo is famous for.

Closing track "I gave you wings, I gave you death" is an instrumental song in where beauty embraces tragedy. In fact, did anyone used already the term, electro-angst?

"Ghlóir Ar An Oíche" (which means indeed "Glory of the night") is released as a limited CD single in a glorious digipak and a strictly limited, gorgeous 10" picture vinyl version.

The reason we gave only 9 stars to this release is just because it only features four songs but it says enough about the forthcoming album : it will be a killer.

Didier BECU
14/06/2011


 

Next reviews
KINDEST LINES • Covered in dust
DAYBED • NEWCLEAR WAVES | VIOLENCE CONJUGALE | ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011 | The kingdom of analogue synths
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool
CRUISE [CTRL] • Red or blue? (Remixes)
RELIGIOUS TO DAMN • Glass Prayer
ARBEID ADELT! • live@AB2011
CHRIS WATSON & MARCUS DAVIDSON • Cross-Pollination
CAITHNESS • Apostasy & the sorrowful child
ROEDELIUS • Wie das Wispern des Windes...
SARABETH TUCEK • Get well soon

 

Other reviews from KIRLIAN CAMERA
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Best Of- Radio Music A
KIRLIAN CAMERA • It Doesn't Matter Now
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + ELECTRO
NO:CARRIER • Wisom & Failure
TYING TIFFANY • Dark Days White Nights
TRAUMTAENZER • Der Weisse Raum
LEVANT • Beyond The Masque Of Eden

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth