tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/06/2011 : KINDEST LINES - Covered in dust

KINDEST LINES

Covered in dust

MusicCD
IndieMinimalShoegaze

[93/100]   
14/06/2011, Didier BECU

Little by little the New York-based Wierd Records is becoming the new 4-AD. Not musically, mind you, but their trademark has become some sort of guarantee.

In the spirit of '"If it's on Wierd then it's good" we're happy to welcome another brand new band who will rock our socks. If someone would ever tell me that there should be a band around that succeeds in combining the dark pop from Asylum Party with the '60s touch of the famous Phil Spector-sound, I'd say you're crazy, but Kindest Lines did.

From the very beginning this band from Louisiana sucks you in their strange coldwave-shoegazepop.

For a moment you think "Hazy Haze" will sound like some song by The Raveonettes but from the moment you hear the voice from female lead singer Brittany Terry, you know you'll be dealing with a very special band.

The great thing about Kindest Lines is that "Covered in dust" has become a very varied album that is more than just an excuse from a band who found some genius trick.

"Destructive paths to live happily" (what a song title!) flirts with what we tend to call the danceable Wierd-pop, "Strange birds" is the kind of popsong that should be number one in every decent chart while a song like "Prom song" has only one keyword : melancholy.

How label boss Pieter Schoolwerth keeps on finding these minimal popgems is beyond us, but along with the most recent Martial Canterel-album, this label released two albums that are now already knocking on the door that gives them entrance to the top of 2011.

Didier BECU
14/06/2011


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets