tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/06/2011 : KINDEST LINES - Covered in dust

KINDEST LINES

Covered in dust

MusicCD
IndieMinimalShoegaze

[93/100]   
14/06/2011, Didier BECU

Little by little the New York-based Wierd Records is becoming the new 4-AD. Not musically, mind you, but their trademark has become some sort of guarantee.

In the spirit of '"If it's on Wierd then it's good" we're happy to welcome another brand new band who will rock our socks. If someone would ever tell me that there should be a band around that succeeds in combining the dark pop from Asylum Party with the '60s touch of the famous Phil Spector-sound, I'd say you're crazy, but Kindest Lines did.

From the very beginning this band from Louisiana sucks you in their strange coldwave-shoegazepop.

For a moment you think "Hazy Haze" will sound like some song by The Raveonettes but from the moment you hear the voice from female lead singer Brittany Terry, you know you'll be dealing with a very special band.

The great thing about Kindest Lines is that "Covered in dust" has become a very varied album that is more than just an excuse from a band who found some genius trick.

"Destructive paths to live happily" (what a song title!) flirts with what we tend to call the danceable Wierd-pop, "Strange birds" is the kind of popsong that should be number one in every decent chart while a song like "Prom song" has only one keyword : melancholy.

How label boss Pieter Schoolwerth keeps on finding these minimal popgems is beyond us, but along with the most recent Martial Canterel-album, this label released two albums that are now already knocking on the door that gives them entrance to the top of 2011.

Didier BECU
14/06/2011


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)