tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/06/2011 : SARABETH TUCEK - Get well soon

SARABETH TUCEK

Get well soon

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalIndie

[72/100]   
13/06/2011, Didier BECU

The British Sonic Cathedral is quite known for its shoegaze-sounds but with their latest release from Sarabeth Tucek it looks like they're exploring some new areas but it stays indie with a capital I, even if this American lady isn't a newcomer to the label.

Sarabeth is an American singer-songwriter who decided to start making songs the day she met Anton Newcombe from The Brian Jonestown Massacre.

Well, you have to start at some point, but through this she got in touch with people like Bill Callahan and soon she was picked up by Sonic Cathedral.

Not only is Sarabeth's music not exactly the happiest of things, as more than once you start thinking of Cat Power and Soap & Skin, but her second album "Get well soon" deals with a quite unpleasant time she's been through, as this is about the death of her beloved father and how she learned to live with that loss.

Not that it makes us happy to say, but it's always the tragedies in life which makes artists come up with their strongest efforts and that's the case with this album as well. From the very first notes Sarabeth grabs you by the neck, not in the least by her intense voice.

Sarabeth Tucek is a very good proof that female singer songwriters (even if such a classification is an understatement) still can convince us these days. This woman has had to give her inner soul away for this, but at least she made an album we won't forget that easily.

For fans of the above mentioned artists : a tip!

Didier BECU
13/06/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design