tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/06/2011 : HANIN ELIAS - Get it back

HANIN ELIAS

Get it back

MusicCD
ElectroElectro RockIndustrialNoise

[90/100]   

Rustblade Records
12/06/2011, Didier BECU

We know that they’re not everyone’s favourite but one of the most ground breaking bands from the 90’s surely must be Atari Teenage Riot.

At Alec’s side we saw Hanin Elias shouting her lungs out and with “Geit it back” we got the long awaited return from this Riot Grrrl.

On this new album (just as we hate to say comeback) we see Hanin finding a bridge between her typical hardcore style and some new areas she’s exploring. Hanin used to live, the last five years on the French Polynesia on some island. Over there she was working with a Chilean musician, Diego Sagredo, who invited her for some some shows in Santiago.

The result of this has become one of the strongest releases this year and if we told you earlier that Martial Canterel made one of the albums of this year so far then we definitely can add Hanin’s album to this.

On titletrack and opener “Get it back” our fave female shouter gets the company from Marcel Degaz (Die Krupps). A song that makes you think that Hanin has rediscovered the 80’s as well and, just as we wished for, this is indeed the spirit of this whole album! We even would go so far to say, that in tracks like “Dead eyes” and “Future Noire” (featuring Tying Tiffany!) has turned into Miss Kittin’.

There’s even some room for good old pop as in “I want you”, Hanin sounds as sweet as Anita Lane. Still the pussycat from you’d better be aware of her claws as on “Do you know”. She’s not only revisiting her old Atari Teenage Riot-sound but she also didn’t forget a statement better has some balls, or what do you think from: “They want us to sing a refrain, but in the end they don’t give a fuck”.

Now, to all you Baudelaires of this century: this is what I call poetry. Bring da noise!

Didier BECU
12/06/2011


 

Next reviews
NOISEPOETNOBODY & VANCE GALLOWAY • Uranium 238
CURRENT 93 • Honeysuckle AEons
IKON • In the shadow of the angel
TIARI • Solar EP
THE GODFATHERS • The Outsider
VITAS GUERULAITIS • Vitas Guerulaitis
BRASIL AND THE GALLOWBROTHERS BAND • Legionowo
MARC BROUDE • Psychological Warfare
SECRET LIFE • Nineteen Eighty Four
THE MIST OF AVALON • Dinya

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline