tempobet yeni adresi

EN FR
like this vinyl review

09/06/2011 : SECRET LIFE - Nineteen Eighty Four

SECRET LIFE

Nineteen Eighty Four

MusicVinyl
New wave

[72/100]   

Walhalla Records
09/06/2011, Didier CZEPCZYK

EN

The record store and independent label Walhalla Records pursues its work of eighties rarities excavation. As a good New Wave temple keeper, it proposes us this time to (re)discover Secret Life. Sort of Flemish equivalent to Jo Lemaire + Flouze, this combo from Antwerp was active between 1982 and 1988. It was very successful in the alternative scene from this time. After several concerts, complimentary reviews in the specialized press and some contributions to various compilations, the band split after singer Liz Verheycken moved to USA. As the title points out, this album (duplicated in 520 numerated copies and available in Cd or vinyl LP. Notice that the 50 first releases are signed by the band members) deliver us compositions written in 1984, a very representative and productive year in Secret Life history. On the menu: twelve tracks clearly influenced by Siouxie And The Banshees, The Cure or also X-Mal Deutschland. As for the voice, it sounds like Nina Hagen.

The production at times is quite amateurish, a little bit like a demo we could say. But it deserves credit for being faithful to a period when the recording techniques were so different than nowadays. We can also hear some imperfections in the guitar play. Some little clumsiness which make however the whole album human and sincere. Good historical evidence of a band stayed unfairly unrecognized and of a decade where only energy and passion were able to make the difference. I have personally adored the captivating « Witches ». Made in two versions (live and studio), I’ve been totally bewitched …I’m funny, I know.

Didier CZEPCZYK
09/06/2011


FR

Le disquaire et label indépendant Walhalla Records poursuit son travail d’exhumation de raretés eighties. En bon gardien du temple de la New Wave, il nous propose cette fois de (re)découvrir Secret Life. Sorte d’équivalent flamand à Jo Lemaire + Flouze, ce combo anversois fut actif entre 1982 et 1988. Il s’était taillé une belle réputation dans le milieu alternatif de l’époque. Après de nombreux concerts, des critiques élogieuses dans la presse spécialisée et quelques participations à diverses compilations, le groupe avait fini par se séparer suite au départ pour les USA de la chanteuse Liz Verheycken. Comme son nom l’indique, cet album (tiré à 520 exemplaires numérotés et disponibles en version Cd ou Lp vinyle. A noter que les 50 premières copies sont dédicacées par les membres du groupe) présente des compositions datant de 1984, une année très productive et bien représentative de la carrière de Secret Life. Au programme : douze titres fortement influencés par Siouxie And The Banshees, The Cure ou encore X-Mal Deutchland. La voix quant à elle lorgne du côté de Nina Hagen.

La production sonne assez amateur par moment, un peu comme une démo dirons-nous. Mais elle a le mérite d’être fidèle à une période où les techniques d’enregistrement étaient bien différentes que de nos jours. On notera également quelques imperfections au niveau du jeu de guitare. Des petites maladresses qui rendent cependant l’ensemble humain et sincère. Un bon témoignage historique d’un groupe resté injustement méconnu et d’une décennie ou l’énergie et la passion pouvaient encore abattre des montagnes. J’ai personnellement adoré l’envoûtant « Witches ». Déclinée en deux versions (live et studio), cette chanson m’a totalement ensorcelé … Je suis drôle, je sais.

Didier CZEPCZYK
09/06/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain