tempobet yeni adresi

EN FR
like this vinyl review

09/06/2011 : SECRET LIFE - Nineteen Eighty Four

SECRET LIFE

Nineteen Eighty Four

MusicVinyl
New wave

[72/100]   

Walhalla Records
09/06/2011, Didier CZEPCZYK

EN

The record store and independent label Walhalla Records pursues its work of eighties rarities excavation. As a good New Wave temple keeper, it proposes us this time to (re)discover Secret Life. Sort of Flemish equivalent to Jo Lemaire + Flouze, this combo from Antwerp was active between 1982 and 1988. It was very successful in the alternative scene from this time. After several concerts, complimentary reviews in the specialized press and some contributions to various compilations, the band split after singer Liz Verheycken moved to USA. As the title points out, this album (duplicated in 520 numerated copies and available in Cd or vinyl LP. Notice that the 50 first releases are signed by the band members) deliver us compositions written in 1984, a very representative and productive year in Secret Life history. On the menu: twelve tracks clearly influenced by Siouxie And The Banshees, The Cure or also X-Mal Deutschland. As for the voice, it sounds like Nina Hagen.

The production at times is quite amateurish, a little bit like a demo we could say. But it deserves credit for being faithful to a period when the recording techniques were so different than nowadays. We can also hear some imperfections in the guitar play. Some little clumsiness which make however the whole album human and sincere. Good historical evidence of a band stayed unfairly unrecognized and of a decade where only energy and passion were able to make the difference. I have personally adored the captivating « Witches ». Made in two versions (live and studio), I’ve been totally bewitched …I’m funny, I know.

Didier CZEPCZYK
09/06/2011


FR

Le disquaire et label indépendant Walhalla Records poursuit son travail d’exhumation de raretés eighties. En bon gardien du temple de la New Wave, il nous propose cette fois de (re)découvrir Secret Life. Sorte d’équivalent flamand à Jo Lemaire + Flouze, ce combo anversois fut actif entre 1982 et 1988. Il s’était taillé une belle réputation dans le milieu alternatif de l’époque. Après de nombreux concerts, des critiques élogieuses dans la presse spécialisée et quelques participations à diverses compilations, le groupe avait fini par se séparer suite au départ pour les USA de la chanteuse Liz Verheycken. Comme son nom l’indique, cet album (tiré à 520 exemplaires numérotés et disponibles en version Cd ou Lp vinyle. A noter que les 50 premières copies sont dédicacées par les membres du groupe) présente des compositions datant de 1984, une année très productive et bien représentative de la carrière de Secret Life. Au programme : douze titres fortement influencés par Siouxie And The Banshees, The Cure ou encore X-Mal Deutchland. La voix quant à elle lorgne du côté de Nina Hagen.

La production sonne assez amateur par moment, un peu comme une démo dirons-nous. Mais elle a le mérite d’être fidèle à une période où les techniques d’enregistrement étaient bien différentes que de nos jours. On notera également quelques imperfections au niveau du jeu de guitare. Des petites maladresses qui rendent cependant l’ensemble humain et sincère. Un bon témoignage historique d’un groupe resté injustement méconnu et d’une décennie ou l’énergie et la passion pouvaient encore abattre des montagnes. J’ai personnellement adoré l’envoûtant « Witches ». Déclinée en deux versions (live et studio), cette chanson m’a totalement ensorcelé … Je suis drôle, je sais.

Didier CZEPCZYK
09/06/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland