tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/06/2011 : ROEDELIUS - Piano Piano

ROEDELIUS

Piano Piano

MusicCD
ClassicalJazz

[82/100]   

Bureau B
07/06/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

It is not easy to appoint a music genre, especially when it comes to the music of a versatile artist like Hans-Joachim Roedelius. His work is amongst other genres tagged as Krautrock, ambient, electronic art music and new age. The tracks on Piano Piano, how can it be otherwise, are piano pieces. Upon hearing the music one might be inclined to compare it with, or situate it amongst the works of other great contemporary pianists from the non-classical music circuit. For this reason I refer, to appoint the genre, to what the digital reading of the CD shows: jazz.

When listening to music you are looking for quick reference and landmarks. If in this context a comparison to other pianists would impose, it can only happen in terms like 'reminds of' or 'sounds like'. But when listening to Piano Piano, that terminology and approach is not the proper way. This work is to be judged as autonomous art. The musical motifs and themes are easily set up and improvisation and musical movement are not developed into intricate art pieces. The structure of each track remains clear, however, is often repetitive, without falling into a soft hypnotic reverie. The bonus tracks, the piano as it were in a dialogue with other instruments and electronic music loops. Musical layers develop next to each other, with interfaces but no interlacing.

The atmosphere of the record can be appointed as dreamy. But - let us beware, I see no foggy and dewy grasslands. Rather, the simplicity of things and the surprise associated with beautiful music.

 

Piano Piano was first released in 1991.

Expected release date: June 10, 2011.

Bernadette ALLAERT
07/06/2011


NL

Het is niet eenvoudig om een muziekgenre te benoemen, zeker niet wanneer het gaat om de muziek van een veelzijdig artiest als Hans-Joachim Roedelius. Zijn werk wordt a.o. gelabeld als: Krautrock, ambient, electronic art music, new age. De tracks op Piano Piano zijn, hoe kan het ook anders, pianostukken. Bij het horen van de muziek zou men geneigd kunnen zijn om het werk tegenover het oeuvre van andere grote hedendaagse pianisten uit het niet-klassieke muziekcircuit te situeren. Om die reden verwijs ik, wat het muziekgenre betreft, graag naar wat de digitale lezing van de CD aangeeft: jazz.

Bij het horen van muziek zoekt men snel naar referentie- en herkenningspunten. Wanneer in dat verband een vergelijking met andere pianisten zich zou opdringen, dan kan dat enkel gebeuren in termen als: ‘doet denken aan’, ‘klink als’. Maar – al gauw blijkt dat je, bij het beluisteren van Piano Piano, met die terminologie geen stap verder komt. Dit werk komt het recht toe als autonoom kunstwerk beoordeeld te worden. De motieven en muzikale thema’s zijn eenvoudig opgebouwd en worden in improvisatie en muzikale beweging niet uitgewerkt tot ingewikkelde kunststukjes. De opbouw van elk muziekstuk blijft helder, is vaak repetitief zonder echter te vervallen in een soft hypnotiserend gemijmer. In de bonustracks gaat de piano als het ware een dialoog aan met andere instrumenten en elektronische muzieklijnen. Muzikale lagen worden langs elkaar heen ontwikkeld, met raakvlakken maar geen verweving.

De sfeer van de plaat kan men benoemen als dromerig. Maar - laten wij oppassen, ik zie geen nevelslierten en bedauwde graslanden. Eerder: de eenvoud der dingen en de verbazing, geassocieerd met mooie muziek.

 

Piano Piano werd voor het eerst uitgebracht in 1991.
Verwachte releasedatum: 10 juni 2011.

Bernadette ALLAERT
07/06/2011


 

Next reviews
NOSTALGIE ETERNELLE • Nostalgie éternelle EP
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
STELLARDRIVE • ERS-4: Speak, Memory
INERTIA • Deworlded
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school
SEVENTH HARMONIC • Garden Of Dilmun
DEKAD • Monophonic
REIZSTROM • Gitarre Kaputt
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP
MILITIA • Power! Propaganda! Production!

 

Other reviews from ROEDELIUS
ROEDELIUS • Wie das Wispern des Windes...

 

Same combination of genres: CLASSICAL + JAZZ
BENJAMIN FINGER • Amorosa Sensitiva

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire