tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/06/2011 : ROEDELIUS - Piano Piano

ROEDELIUS

Piano Piano

MusicCD
ClassicalJazz

[82/100]   

Bureau B
07/06/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

It is not easy to appoint a music genre, especially when it comes to the music of a versatile artist like Hans-Joachim Roedelius. His work is amongst other genres tagged as Krautrock, ambient, electronic art music and new age. The tracks on Piano Piano, how can it be otherwise, are piano pieces. Upon hearing the music one might be inclined to compare it with, or situate it amongst the works of other great contemporary pianists from the non-classical music circuit. For this reason I refer, to appoint the genre, to what the digital reading of the CD shows: jazz.

When listening to music you are looking for quick reference and landmarks. If in this context a comparison to other pianists would impose, it can only happen in terms like 'reminds of' or 'sounds like'. But when listening to Piano Piano, that terminology and approach is not the proper way. This work is to be judged as autonomous art. The musical motifs and themes are easily set up and improvisation and musical movement are not developed into intricate art pieces. The structure of each track remains clear, however, is often repetitive, without falling into a soft hypnotic reverie. The bonus tracks, the piano as it were in a dialogue with other instruments and electronic music loops. Musical layers develop next to each other, with interfaces but no interlacing.

The atmosphere of the record can be appointed as dreamy. But - let us beware, I see no foggy and dewy grasslands. Rather, the simplicity of things and the surprise associated with beautiful music.

 

Piano Piano was first released in 1991.

Expected release date: June 10, 2011.

Bernadette ALLAERT
07/06/2011


NL

Het is niet eenvoudig om een muziekgenre te benoemen, zeker niet wanneer het gaat om de muziek van een veelzijdig artiest als Hans-Joachim Roedelius. Zijn werk wordt a.o. gelabeld als: Krautrock, ambient, electronic art music, new age. De tracks op Piano Piano zijn, hoe kan het ook anders, pianostukken. Bij het horen van de muziek zou men geneigd kunnen zijn om het werk tegenover het oeuvre van andere grote hedendaagse pianisten uit het niet-klassieke muziekcircuit te situeren. Om die reden verwijs ik, wat het muziekgenre betreft, graag naar wat de digitale lezing van de CD aangeeft: jazz.

Bij het horen van muziek zoekt men snel naar referentie- en herkenningspunten. Wanneer in dat verband een vergelijking met andere pianisten zich zou opdringen, dan kan dat enkel gebeuren in termen als: ‘doet denken aan’, ‘klink als’. Maar – al gauw blijkt dat je, bij het beluisteren van Piano Piano, met die terminologie geen stap verder komt. Dit werk komt het recht toe als autonoom kunstwerk beoordeeld te worden. De motieven en muzikale thema’s zijn eenvoudig opgebouwd en worden in improvisatie en muzikale beweging niet uitgewerkt tot ingewikkelde kunststukjes. De opbouw van elk muziekstuk blijft helder, is vaak repetitief zonder echter te vervallen in een soft hypnotiserend gemijmer. In de bonustracks gaat de piano als het ware een dialoog aan met andere instrumenten en elektronische muzieklijnen. Muzikale lagen worden langs elkaar heen ontwikkeld, met raakvlakken maar geen verweving.

De sfeer van de plaat kan men benoemen als dromerig. Maar - laten wij oppassen, ik zie geen nevelslierten en bedauwde graslanden. Eerder: de eenvoud der dingen en de verbazing, geassocieerd met mooie muziek.

 

Piano Piano werd voor het eerst uitgebracht in 1991.
Verwachte releasedatum: 10 juni 2011.

Bernadette ALLAERT
07/06/2011


 

Next reviews
NOSTALGIE ETERNELLE • Nostalgie éternelle EP
CAUSTIC • The golden vagina of fame and profit
STELLARDRIVE • ERS-4: Speak, Memory
INERTIA • Deworlded
IKON • VENDEMMIAN | ERATO | INTENS | Beveren, Togenblik | 04/06/2011 | Back to the old school
SEVENTH HARMONIC • Garden Of Dilmun
DEKAD • Monophonic
REIZSTROM • Gitarre Kaputt
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Surrender No Resistance EP
MILITIA • Power! Propaganda! Production!

 

Other reviews from ROEDELIUS
ROEDELIUS • Wie das Wispern des Windes...

 

Same combination of genres: CLASSICAL + JAZZ
BENJAMIN FINGER • Amorosa Sensitiva

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween