tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

09/06/2011 : THE EXPLODING BOY - SX | SINT NIKLAAS, KOMPAS | 03/06/2011 | Now that's what I call post-punk!

THE EXPLODING BOY

SX

SINT NIKLAAS, KOMPAS

03/06/2011

Now that's what I call post-punk!

Concert


[2/100]
09/06/2011, Didier BECU

You can blame me for being a bitter twat, and maybe I am, but being yesterday at the Kompas in Sint-Niklaas (Belgium) said so many things about music and the state it's in.

Some months ago the promoters Duister Gefluister and Beati Mortui set up an evening featuring two bands who represent the hope of the future. An unknown Belgian band supporting some new post-punk-heroes that radio forgot.

Today, the story's a bit different as that Belgian band was not in its place at all. In the months that followed, lots of music fans have hailed SX as the next big thing whilst The Exploding Boy, despite having a new masterpiece out, stays buried underground.

SX

SX are a new band from Kortrijk. Stefanie Callebaut, Benjamin Desmet and Simon Decraene suddenly not only won all the prizes that can be won, but their single "Black Video" is also number one in Belgium’s so called alternative (haha!) hitparade.

Once the football was over (some people know their priorities in life), we could finally get down to watching the "future of Belgium".

This trio have certainly heard some 80's stuff and decided to pull out some trendy retro-synths (well, a Yamaha DX7 always sounds good!), shoegaze guitzars, vocoders and a female voice that made us say "she can sing" into one melting pot. The result is a radio friendly indie sound but there was only one thing missing: songs!

We're aware that not everybody will like the words we're writing here, but I couldn't help having that daft question in mind: why them? Or rather: why just them?

Luck? Who knows. Knowing the right people? You know the answer. Talent? Certainly.

Some people will criticise us for writing down these things you may not find anywhere else, but those who left the venue once The Exploding Boy got on stage and refused to come back, simply because The Exploding Boy aren't radiostars got it seriously wrong.

 

The Exploding Boy

Those Swedish boys have support from the black press, so not only was the premiere of their latest album was held in Berlin, but they also appear on compilation albums that feature mainly goth acts.

Are they goths? It's all down to how you see it of course. It's no coincidence that they have an album out which is called "The Black Album" (Out now) and when talking to Stefan, he suddenly began about my Parade Ground T-shirt which I was wearing, so it tells a lot about their roots, not? (You missed the after-gig banter about Magazine and Norwegian Eurovision entries – Ed.)

Their show at Sint-Niklaas was part of their mini-tour which was especially intensive in Germany and according to singer Johan, yesterday was their first gig in Belgium as no one will remember their concert at Waregem Gothic last year. Those Exploding Boys are so wrong about that. They may not have been the highlight of the gothfest, but they certainly were one of the revelations and ones to watch. We guess that's what the organisers must have thought when asking them here, not forgetting that their "Afterglow"-album was a hell of a debut!

The big surprise of course was how those Swedish post-punkers would perform their stuff on stage as their new album has a much more electronic sound which can be heard on their newest single "Human", a track which makes you think that in a decent world they should be up there with White Lies or Interpol.

After the rather bland show from SX we were witnessed a wall of sound that was dominated by heavy guitars, sometimes it ends up in Cure-a-like songs such as "Here comes the rain", at other times it sounded as godlike as say A Place To Bury Strangers.
Why keep on dropping all those names, anyway? Okay, because The Exploding Boy are still unknown but after their glorious gig we left the venue with a happy feel that made us say: those guys are The Exploding Boy! Makes us just wonder if someone from the alternative radio was there to see...

 

 

Editors note (yes I do get out sometimes): SX did not keep the audience interested – there was a lot of background noise, talking, etc. The Exploding Boy came on and grabbed everyone out of conversation in about 10 seconds, and then kept them there for the whole show. It was hard to work out what was wrong with SX until TEB came on. You see it on people's faces. SX just didn’t rock. The Exploding Boy did.

Didier BECU
09/06/2011


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)