tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

09/06/2011 : THE EXPLODING BOY - SX | SINT NIKLAAS, KOMPAS | 03/06/2011 | Now that's what I call post-punk!

THE EXPLODING BOY

SX

SINT NIKLAAS, KOMPAS

03/06/2011

Now that's what I call post-punk!

Concert


[2/100]
09/06/2011, Didier BECU

You can blame me for being a bitter twat, and maybe I am, but being yesterday at the Kompas in Sint-Niklaas (Belgium) said so many things about music and the state it's in.

Some months ago the promoters Duister Gefluister and Beati Mortui set up an evening featuring two bands who represent the hope of the future. An unknown Belgian band supporting some new post-punk-heroes that radio forgot.

Today, the story's a bit different as that Belgian band was not in its place at all. In the months that followed, lots of music fans have hailed SX as the next big thing whilst The Exploding Boy, despite having a new masterpiece out, stays buried underground.

SX

SX are a new band from Kortrijk. Stefanie Callebaut, Benjamin Desmet and Simon Decraene suddenly not only won all the prizes that can be won, but their single "Black Video" is also number one in Belgium’s so called alternative (haha!) hitparade.

Once the football was over (some people know their priorities in life), we could finally get down to watching the "future of Belgium".

This trio have certainly heard some 80's stuff and decided to pull out some trendy retro-synths (well, a Yamaha DX7 always sounds good!), shoegaze guitzars, vocoders and a female voice that made us say "she can sing" into one melting pot. The result is a radio friendly indie sound but there was only one thing missing: songs!

We're aware that not everybody will like the words we're writing here, but I couldn't help having that daft question in mind: why them? Or rather: why just them?

Luck? Who knows. Knowing the right people? You know the answer. Talent? Certainly.

Some people will criticise us for writing down these things you may not find anywhere else, but those who left the venue once The Exploding Boy got on stage and refused to come back, simply because The Exploding Boy aren't radiostars got it seriously wrong.

 

The Exploding Boy

Those Swedish boys have support from the black press, so not only was the premiere of their latest album was held in Berlin, but they also appear on compilation albums that feature mainly goth acts.

Are they goths? It's all down to how you see it of course. It's no coincidence that they have an album out which is called "The Black Album" (Out now) and when talking to Stefan, he suddenly began about my Parade Ground T-shirt which I was wearing, so it tells a lot about their roots, not? (You missed the after-gig banter about Magazine and Norwegian Eurovision entries – Ed.)

Their show at Sint-Niklaas was part of their mini-tour which was especially intensive in Germany and according to singer Johan, yesterday was their first gig in Belgium as no one will remember their concert at Waregem Gothic last year. Those Exploding Boys are so wrong about that. They may not have been the highlight of the gothfest, but they certainly were one of the revelations and ones to watch. We guess that's what the organisers must have thought when asking them here, not forgetting that their "Afterglow"-album was a hell of a debut!

The big surprise of course was how those Swedish post-punkers would perform their stuff on stage as their new album has a much more electronic sound which can be heard on their newest single "Human", a track which makes you think that in a decent world they should be up there with White Lies or Interpol.

After the rather bland show from SX we were witnessed a wall of sound that was dominated by heavy guitars, sometimes it ends up in Cure-a-like songs such as "Here comes the rain", at other times it sounded as godlike as say A Place To Bury Strangers.
Why keep on dropping all those names, anyway? Okay, because The Exploding Boy are still unknown but after their glorious gig we left the venue with a happy feel that made us say: those guys are The Exploding Boy! Makes us just wonder if someone from the alternative radio was there to see...

 

 

Editors note (yes I do get out sometimes): SX did not keep the audience interested – there was a lot of background noise, talking, etc. The Exploding Boy came on and grabbed everyone out of conversation in about 10 seconds, and then kept them there for the whole show. It was hard to work out what was wrong with SX until TEB came on. You see it on people's faces. SX just didn’t rock. The Exploding Boy did.

Didier BECU
09/06/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline