tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

09/06/2011 : THE EXPLODING BOY - SX | SINT NIKLAAS, KOMPAS | 03/06/2011 | Now that's what I call post-punk!

THE EXPLODING BOY

SX

SINT NIKLAAS, KOMPAS

03/06/2011

Now that's what I call post-punk!

Concert


[2/100]
09/06/2011, Didier BECU

You can blame me for being a bitter twat, and maybe I am, but being yesterday at the Kompas in Sint-Niklaas (Belgium) said so many things about music and the state it's in.

Some months ago the promoters Duister Gefluister and Beati Mortui set up an evening featuring two bands who represent the hope of the future. An unknown Belgian band supporting some new post-punk-heroes that radio forgot.

Today, the story's a bit different as that Belgian band was not in its place at all. In the months that followed, lots of music fans have hailed SX as the next big thing whilst The Exploding Boy, despite having a new masterpiece out, stays buried underground.

SX

SX are a new band from Kortrijk. Stefanie Callebaut, Benjamin Desmet and Simon Decraene suddenly not only won all the prizes that can be won, but their single "Black Video" is also number one in Belgium’s so called alternative (haha!) hitparade.

Once the football was over (some people know their priorities in life), we could finally get down to watching the "future of Belgium".

This trio have certainly heard some 80's stuff and decided to pull out some trendy retro-synths (well, a Yamaha DX7 always sounds good!), shoegaze guitzars, vocoders and a female voice that made us say "she can sing" into one melting pot. The result is a radio friendly indie sound but there was only one thing missing: songs!

We're aware that not everybody will like the words we're writing here, but I couldn't help having that daft question in mind: why them? Or rather: why just them?

Luck? Who knows. Knowing the right people? You know the answer. Talent? Certainly.

Some people will criticise us for writing down these things you may not find anywhere else, but those who left the venue once The Exploding Boy got on stage and refused to come back, simply because The Exploding Boy aren't radiostars got it seriously wrong.

 

The Exploding Boy

Those Swedish boys have support from the black press, so not only was the premiere of their latest album was held in Berlin, but they also appear on compilation albums that feature mainly goth acts.

Are they goths? It's all down to how you see it of course. It's no coincidence that they have an album out which is called "The Black Album" (Out now) and when talking to Stefan, he suddenly began about my Parade Ground T-shirt which I was wearing, so it tells a lot about their roots, not? (You missed the after-gig banter about Magazine and Norwegian Eurovision entries – Ed.)

Their show at Sint-Niklaas was part of their mini-tour which was especially intensive in Germany and according to singer Johan, yesterday was their first gig in Belgium as no one will remember their concert at Waregem Gothic last year. Those Exploding Boys are so wrong about that. They may not have been the highlight of the gothfest, but they certainly were one of the revelations and ones to watch. We guess that's what the organisers must have thought when asking them here, not forgetting that their "Afterglow"-album was a hell of a debut!

The big surprise of course was how those Swedish post-punkers would perform their stuff on stage as their new album has a much more electronic sound which can be heard on their newest single "Human", a track which makes you think that in a decent world they should be up there with White Lies or Interpol.

After the rather bland show from SX we were witnessed a wall of sound that was dominated by heavy guitars, sometimes it ends up in Cure-a-like songs such as "Here comes the rain", at other times it sounded as godlike as say A Place To Bury Strangers.
Why keep on dropping all those names, anyway? Okay, because The Exploding Boy are still unknown but after their glorious gig we left the venue with a happy feel that made us say: those guys are The Exploding Boy! Makes us just wonder if someone from the alternative radio was there to see...

 

 

Editors note (yes I do get out sometimes): SX did not keep the audience interested – there was a lot of background noise, talking, etc. The Exploding Boy came on and grabbed everyone out of conversation in about 10 seconds, and then kept them there for the whole show. It was hard to work out what was wrong with SX until TEB came on. You see it on people's faces. SX just didn’t rock. The Exploding Boy did.

Didier BECU
09/06/2011


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic