tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/06/2011 : !DISTAIN - On / Off

!DISTAIN

On / Off

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

Echozone
09/06/2011, Jurgen VANVLASSELAER

EN

It’s always nice when I get to review an album of a band that I really like. Although, it can be annoying as well, when it seems that the new album is terrible. What do you write then eh? Luckily this is not the case at all with the new album of the German outfit !Distain (who have now been reduced to the duo Alexander Braun & Manfred Thomaser for a couple of years).

On|Off is their 6th album, compilations not included, and I may use the word masterpiece here.

Opener The 6th Floor, the new single Mein Weg and Monokultur can easily compete with the best songs in synthpop world. Excellent tunes and catchy melodies, the typical ingredients on a !Distain album. In My God they sing ‘Music Is My God, Harmony Is My Religion’ and that says it all.

12 pearls, which are again a musical feast for the ears, although I have to be honest and admit that 1 of those 12 pearls is a little bit less shiny then the other 11. On What Do You Want From Me Swedish singer Tess Fries is doing the female vocal part. Her voice reminded me a little bit of Gwen Stefani from No Doubt. I am convinced that Miss Fries is a very good singer, but the colour of her voice doesn’t really go well with the warm voice of Alexander Braun. Apart from this little miscast, this is again an excellent album.

Jurgen VANVLASSELAER
09/06/2011


NL

Het is altijd fijn wanneer je een cd mag bespreken van een groep waar je fan van bent. Al is het altijd ook een beetje bang afwachten, want stel dat het een miskleun van jewelste is geworden, wat ga je dan neerschrijven? Gelukkig is dit niet het geval met On|Off, de nieuwe cd van het Duitse !Distain, sinds enkele jaren gereduceerd tot het duo Alexander Braun & Manfred Thomaser.

On|Off is hun 6de boreling, de verzamelaars niet meegerekend, en het is wederom een pareltje geworden.

Onder meer The 6th Floor, de nieuwe single Mein Weg en Monokultur behoren tot het beste wat de synthpop wereld te bieden heeft. Fijne deunen en catchy melodieën zoals we dat wel gewend zijn van hen. In My God zingen ze ‘Music Is My God, Harmony Is My Religion’, ik kan het niet beter verwoorden. 

12 parels die wederom een muzikale streling voor het oor zijn. Al moet ik eerlijk toegeven dat er tussen die 12 parels eentje bij zit die niet zo schittert als de andere 11. Op What Do You Want From Me worden de vrouwelijk vocalen gebracht door Tess Fries, een Zweedse zangeres die me stemgewijs deed denken aan Gwen Stefani van No Doubt. Ik twijfel er niet aan dat juffrouw Fries een uitstekende zangeres is, maar de kleur van haar stem past totaal niet bij de warme stem van Alexander Braun, het vloekt zelfs een beetje. Maar buiten deze kleine uitschuiver is dit wederom een uitstekend album geworden.

Jurgen VANVLASSELAER
09/06/2011


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
02
ART OF EMPHATHY
Where Souls Shine Brightest
26
02
OUTPOST 11
Action
25
02
MARILYN MANSON
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)
24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain