tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/06/2011 : !DISTAIN - On / Off

!DISTAIN

On / Off

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

Echozone
09/06/2011, Jurgen VANVLASSELAER

EN

It’s always nice when I get to review an album of a band that I really like. Although, it can be annoying as well, when it seems that the new album is terrible. What do you write then eh? Luckily this is not the case at all with the new album of the German outfit !Distain (who have now been reduced to the duo Alexander Braun & Manfred Thomaser for a couple of years).

On|Off is their 6th album, compilations not included, and I may use the word masterpiece here.

Opener The 6th Floor, the new single Mein Weg and Monokultur can easily compete with the best songs in synthpop world. Excellent tunes and catchy melodies, the typical ingredients on a !Distain album. In My God they sing ‘Music Is My God, Harmony Is My Religion’ and that says it all.

12 pearls, which are again a musical feast for the ears, although I have to be honest and admit that 1 of those 12 pearls is a little bit less shiny then the other 11. On What Do You Want From Me Swedish singer Tess Fries is doing the female vocal part. Her voice reminded me a little bit of Gwen Stefani from No Doubt. I am convinced that Miss Fries is a very good singer, but the colour of her voice doesn’t really go well with the warm voice of Alexander Braun. Apart from this little miscast, this is again an excellent album.

Jurgen VANVLASSELAER
09/06/2011


NL

Het is altijd fijn wanneer je een cd mag bespreken van een groep waar je fan van bent. Al is het altijd ook een beetje bang afwachten, want stel dat het een miskleun van jewelste is geworden, wat ga je dan neerschrijven? Gelukkig is dit niet het geval met On|Off, de nieuwe cd van het Duitse !Distain, sinds enkele jaren gereduceerd tot het duo Alexander Braun & Manfred Thomaser.

On|Off is hun 6de boreling, de verzamelaars niet meegerekend, en het is wederom een pareltje geworden.

Onder meer The 6th Floor, de nieuwe single Mein Weg en Monokultur behoren tot het beste wat de synthpop wereld te bieden heeft. Fijne deunen en catchy melodieën zoals we dat wel gewend zijn van hen. In My God zingen ze ‘Music Is My God, Harmony Is My Religion’, ik kan het niet beter verwoorden. 

12 parels die wederom een muzikale streling voor het oor zijn. Al moet ik eerlijk toegeven dat er tussen die 12 parels eentje bij zit die niet zo schittert als de andere 11. Op What Do You Want From Me worden de vrouwelijk vocalen gebracht door Tess Fries, een Zweedse zangeres die me stemgewijs deed denken aan Gwen Stefani van No Doubt. Ik twijfel er niet aan dat juffrouw Fries een uitstekende zangeres is, maar de kleur van haar stem past totaal niet bij de warme stem van Alexander Braun, het vloekt zelfs een beetje. Maar buiten deze kleine uitschuiver is dit wederom een uitstekend album geworden.

Jurgen VANVLASSELAER
09/06/2011


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers