tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/06/2011 : !DISTAIN - On / Off

!DISTAIN

On / Off

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

Echozone
09/06/2011, Jurgen VANVLASSELAER

EN

It’s always nice when I get to review an album of a band that I really like. Although, it can be annoying as well, when it seems that the new album is terrible. What do you write then eh? Luckily this is not the case at all with the new album of the German outfit !Distain (who have now been reduced to the duo Alexander Braun & Manfred Thomaser for a couple of years).

On|Off is their 6th album, compilations not included, and I may use the word masterpiece here.

Opener The 6th Floor, the new single Mein Weg and Monokultur can easily compete with the best songs in synthpop world. Excellent tunes and catchy melodies, the typical ingredients on a !Distain album. In My God they sing ‘Music Is My God, Harmony Is My Religion’ and that says it all.

12 pearls, which are again a musical feast for the ears, although I have to be honest and admit that 1 of those 12 pearls is a little bit less shiny then the other 11. On What Do You Want From Me Swedish singer Tess Fries is doing the female vocal part. Her voice reminded me a little bit of Gwen Stefani from No Doubt. I am convinced that Miss Fries is a very good singer, but the colour of her voice doesn’t really go well with the warm voice of Alexander Braun. Apart from this little miscast, this is again an excellent album.

Jurgen VANVLASSELAER
09/06/2011


NL

Het is altijd fijn wanneer je een cd mag bespreken van een groep waar je fan van bent. Al is het altijd ook een beetje bang afwachten, want stel dat het een miskleun van jewelste is geworden, wat ga je dan neerschrijven? Gelukkig is dit niet het geval met On|Off, de nieuwe cd van het Duitse !Distain, sinds enkele jaren gereduceerd tot het duo Alexander Braun & Manfred Thomaser.

On|Off is hun 6de boreling, de verzamelaars niet meegerekend, en het is wederom een pareltje geworden.

Onder meer The 6th Floor, de nieuwe single Mein Weg en Monokultur behoren tot het beste wat de synthpop wereld te bieden heeft. Fijne deunen en catchy melodieën zoals we dat wel gewend zijn van hen. In My God zingen ze ‘Music Is My God, Harmony Is My Religion’, ik kan het niet beter verwoorden. 

12 parels die wederom een muzikale streling voor het oor zijn. Al moet ik eerlijk toegeven dat er tussen die 12 parels eentje bij zit die niet zo schittert als de andere 11. Op What Do You Want From Me worden de vrouwelijk vocalen gebracht door Tess Fries, een Zweedse zangeres die me stemgewijs deed denken aan Gwen Stefani van No Doubt. Ik twijfel er niet aan dat juffrouw Fries een uitstekende zangeres is, maar de kleur van haar stem past totaal niet bij de warme stem van Alexander Braun, het vloekt zelfs een beetje. Maar buiten deze kleine uitschuiver is dit wederom een uitstekend album geworden.

Jurgen VANVLASSELAER
09/06/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland