tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/09/2014 : FIRST AID KIT - Stay Gold

FIRST AID KIT

Stay Gold

MusicCD
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalIndie

[70/100]   

Columbia Records
30/09/2014, Paul PLEDGER

If Buffy Sainte-Marie, Billie Jo-Spears, Laura Cantrell or Paula Frazer (of the marvellous Tarnation) had fronted Abba at any point, the resultant supergroup might have resembled First Aid Kit. As it is, they didn't and the century's most popular Scandinavians retained a beard, a blonde, a Bjorn and a brunette in order to rule the pop world since that Eurovision gig in the '70s.

Fast forward forty years later and siblings Joanna and Clara Soderberg have slowly started to claim the crown of Queens of Swedish pop with a string of harmonious country-folk releases that will either melt your heart or freeze your ears. Stay Gold follows 2012's Lion's Roar with more of the same only this time blessed with an exemplary production and sweeping strings. The pair's angelic voices remain coated in honey, particularly on the singles My Silver Lining and Cedar Avenue, and their attention to detail with their creation of widescreen neo-Americana is to be applauded.

Musically they still sound a bit like Fleet Foxes and Daughter. Nothing much wrong with that - this is music that seems destined to uplift a festival's big field sometime soon. And any band that employs lap-steel guitar on any track is worth a thumbs-up in my opinion - you'll find one on the excellent Waitress Song. It's at this point the album truly abandons its woozy stride and slips into gear. OK, their third full-length album hasn't been bad so far, far from it, it's just that these four songs in a row put the preceding handful of tunes to shame, in a good way. You get a lively hoedown on Heaven Knows, some sincere weepy balladry on A Long Time Ago and Fleeting One and the obvious next-single Waitress Song. Play this album in reverse order and you might become more enthused with its contents.

It took a while but Stay Gold eventually burst into life just in time to convince me you should invest in this First Aid Kit sometime soon. Stay Gold, stay classy.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
30/09/2014


 

Next reviews
FRANCOIS TRUFFAUT • La Peau Douce
MARTIN CARR • The Breaks
MANUEL PRADAL • Marie Baie Des Anges
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN • Meterorites
BENOIT JACQUOT • CINEMA: 3 Coeurs
FRANK MILLER & ROBERT RODRIGUEZ • CINEMA: Sin City: A Dame To Kill For
ALTERNATIVE 4 • The Obscurants
ANTON CORBIJN • CINEMA: A Most Wanted Man
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
ATARAXIA • Wind at Mount Elo

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + INDIE
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)