tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/09/2014 : JUNGLE - Jungle

JUNGLE

Jungle

MusicCD
Dance

[80/100]   

XL Recordings
25/09/2014, Paul PLEDGER

An album for which the term 'much-anticipated' was seemingly invented for, Jungle has been in the pipeline for sometime. After a handful of very inventive singles accompanied by a few equally imaginative promo-videos, the mysterious Jungle have patiently bided their time by inking a deal with XL and preparing themselves to reap some larger label benefits such as marketing and some Radio 1 airplay (as well as BBC 6 Music et al).

However, due to the wait, the album lacks the expected punch mainly because half of it has already been issued on those aforementioned limited vinyls. The Heat, Platoon, Busy Earnin', Drops, Lucky I Got What I Want and Time have all had the time of day on one format or another, while interlude Smoking Pixels feels like an admittedly good afterthought.

So what of the rest? It's a blend of molten nu-soul, throbbing electro-funk and superb harmonies that should stand the test of time - remember kids, an album is for life, not just for the summer. Accelerate is up there with the best tracks on the album, a languid neck-nodder designed for kicking off your shoes, drawing hard on a long cold liquid relaxant and flaking out under the sun. Everybody Loves The Sunshine for the new era, you might say. Crumbler has an element of Prince and Dam-Funk about it (no bad thing), Son Of a Gun is more of the same confident swaggery soul fusion found on the singles and Lemonade Lake and Julia don't quite hit the heights expected.

After such a long wait, it remains to be seen whether Jungle's star will shine as brightly during the year-end round-ups. They certainly will in mine - it's a quality album, despite being similar throughout.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
25/09/2014


Music reviews

15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO