tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster

ATOM EGOYAN

The Adjuster

MovieMovie classics
Arthouse

[65/100]   
22/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Recently we were mentioning the very strange cinema by Leos Carax. A director about whom the same things can be said is the Armenian-Canadian Atom Egoyan. If you don’t count Felicia’s Journey from 1999 in where the late Bob Hoskins didn’t have very nice things in mind with a young girl then you easily can conclude that his works are a very hard nut to crack.

The goal from Egoyan is not to find a story, but just narrating what happens with some individuals who have nothing in common with each other, except the fate that they bump into each other. A nice example is The Adjuster from 1991.

Noah Render (Elias Koteas) is an insurer who helps people who lost everything because a fire destroyed their household. Render meets very different persons, but most of them are individuals who have lost all senses: people who enjoy excesses that our society rejects. Of course this leads to extravagant cinema: for example a mature woman who enjoys the pleasures of a baseball team while her husband watches. At the end however, we’ll see that Render is also an odd fellow who can’t handle reality.

We are not saying that The Adjuster is a masterpiece as that’s surely not the case, but it is a movie that creates new borders and raises a middle finger to the laws that are set by Hollywood. If you ever should start the trip, don’t expect that you will understand it completely as you won’t. There used to be a time when the Canadian press included this one in their list of best Canadian movies of all time, but these days are over. What you see in The Adjuster are unusual stories, but deep down below you know it happens in every street!

The Adjuster is still available in the Benelux on Concorde Film and what’s more: you often can find it in the bargain section! Imagine what some unaware people think once they start to watch!

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


NL

Onlangs hadden we het over de onconventionele cinema van Leos Carax. Een cineast die ook zo’n films maakt is de Armeens-Canadese Atom Egoyan. Als je zijn in 1999 verschenen Felicia’s Journey niet meetelt (waarin wijlen Bob Hoskins niet zo’n goede voornemens met een tienermeisje heeft) dan kun je gerust stellen dat het gros van diens werken bijna niet te doorgronden zijn.

Egoyan is niet op zoek naar een verhaal, maar schetst het relaas van verwarde individuen die eigenlijk (op het toeval na) niets met elkaar hebben te maken. Een mooi voorbeeld daarvan is The Adjuster uit 1991.

Noah Render (Elias Koteas) is een verzekeringsagent die getroffen gezinsleden er opnieuw probeert bovenop te helpen wanneer hun inboedel door een woningbrand is verwoest. Render ontmoet mensen van alle slag, maar vooral gaat het om karakters die het noorden kwijt zijn. Mensen die zich verlenen aan excessen die de modale maatschappij verwerpt. Soms leidt dit tot extravagante cinema: bijv. een rijpe vrouw die het met een baseballteam naar haar zin heeft terwijl manlief toekijkt. Gaandeweg merken we dat Render eveneens een zonderling is die nauwelijks de realiteit aankan.

Beweren dat The Adjuster buitengewone cinema is, doen we niet, wel is dit het soort filmkunst die grenzen probeert te verleggen en langer dan de modale Hollywoodneus kijkt. Mocht je eraan beginnen, doe dan ook geen moeite om alles te begrijpen, dat lukt toch geen mens. In deze prent die ooit nog door de Canadese pers in hun lijstje van allerbeste binnenlandse films werd gestopt wordt je vooral als kijker met je neus op ongewone feiten (die zich weliswaar wellicht in elke straat afspelen) gedrukt.

The Adjuster is zeer vlot in de Benelux via Concorde Film te krijgen en ligt zelfs vaak in de uitverkoopbakken. Een ongewone plaats, want heel wat kijkers zullen niet weten wat hun overkomt!

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)