tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster

ATOM EGOYAN

The Adjuster

MovieMovie classics
Arthouse

[65/100]   
22/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Recently we were mentioning the very strange cinema by Leos Carax. A director about whom the same things can be said is the Armenian-Canadian Atom Egoyan. If you don’t count Felicia’s Journey from 1999 in where the late Bob Hoskins didn’t have very nice things in mind with a young girl then you easily can conclude that his works are a very hard nut to crack.

The goal from Egoyan is not to find a story, but just narrating what happens with some individuals who have nothing in common with each other, except the fate that they bump into each other. A nice example is The Adjuster from 1991.

Noah Render (Elias Koteas) is an insurer who helps people who lost everything because a fire destroyed their household. Render meets very different persons, but most of them are individuals who have lost all senses: people who enjoy excesses that our society rejects. Of course this leads to extravagant cinema: for example a mature woman who enjoys the pleasures of a baseball team while her husband watches. At the end however, we’ll see that Render is also an odd fellow who can’t handle reality.

We are not saying that The Adjuster is a masterpiece as that’s surely not the case, but it is a movie that creates new borders and raises a middle finger to the laws that are set by Hollywood. If you ever should start the trip, don’t expect that you will understand it completely as you won’t. There used to be a time when the Canadian press included this one in their list of best Canadian movies of all time, but these days are over. What you see in The Adjuster are unusual stories, but deep down below you know it happens in every street!

The Adjuster is still available in the Benelux on Concorde Film and what’s more: you often can find it in the bargain section! Imagine what some unaware people think once they start to watch!

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


NL

Onlangs hadden we het over de onconventionele cinema van Leos Carax. Een cineast die ook zo’n films maakt is de Armeens-Canadese Atom Egoyan. Als je zijn in 1999 verschenen Felicia’s Journey niet meetelt (waarin wijlen Bob Hoskins niet zo’n goede voornemens met een tienermeisje heeft) dan kun je gerust stellen dat het gros van diens werken bijna niet te doorgronden zijn.

Egoyan is niet op zoek naar een verhaal, maar schetst het relaas van verwarde individuen die eigenlijk (op het toeval na) niets met elkaar hebben te maken. Een mooi voorbeeld daarvan is The Adjuster uit 1991.

Noah Render (Elias Koteas) is een verzekeringsagent die getroffen gezinsleden er opnieuw probeert bovenop te helpen wanneer hun inboedel door een woningbrand is verwoest. Render ontmoet mensen van alle slag, maar vooral gaat het om karakters die het noorden kwijt zijn. Mensen die zich verlenen aan excessen die de modale maatschappij verwerpt. Soms leidt dit tot extravagante cinema: bijv. een rijpe vrouw die het met een baseballteam naar haar zin heeft terwijl manlief toekijkt. Gaandeweg merken we dat Render eveneens een zonderling is die nauwelijks de realiteit aankan.

Beweren dat The Adjuster buitengewone cinema is, doen we niet, wel is dit het soort filmkunst die grenzen probeert te verleggen en langer dan de modale Hollywoodneus kijkt. Mocht je eraan beginnen, doe dan ook geen moeite om alles te begrijpen, dat lukt toch geen mens. In deze prent die ooit nog door de Canadese pers in hun lijstje van allerbeste binnenlandse films werd gestopt wordt je vooral als kijker met je neus op ongewone feiten (die zich weliswaar wellicht in elke straat afspelen) gedrukt.

The Adjuster is zeer vlot in de Benelux via Concorde Film te krijgen en ligt zelfs vaak in de uitverkoopbakken. Een ongewone plaats, want heel wat kijkers zullen niet weten wat hun overkomt!

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster

Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise