tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster

ATOM EGOYAN

The Adjuster

MovieMovie classics
Arthouse

[65/100]   
22/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Recently we were mentioning the very strange cinema by Leos Carax. A director about whom the same things can be said is the Armenian-Canadian Atom Egoyan. If you don’t count Felicia’s Journey from 1999 in where the late Bob Hoskins didn’t have very nice things in mind with a young girl then you easily can conclude that his works are a very hard nut to crack.

The goal from Egoyan is not to find a story, but just narrating what happens with some individuals who have nothing in common with each other, except the fate that they bump into each other. A nice example is The Adjuster from 1991.

Noah Render (Elias Koteas) is an insurer who helps people who lost everything because a fire destroyed their household. Render meets very different persons, but most of them are individuals who have lost all senses: people who enjoy excesses that our society rejects. Of course this leads to extravagant cinema: for example a mature woman who enjoys the pleasures of a baseball team while her husband watches. At the end however, we’ll see that Render is also an odd fellow who can’t handle reality.

We are not saying that The Adjuster is a masterpiece as that’s surely not the case, but it is a movie that creates new borders and raises a middle finger to the laws that are set by Hollywood. If you ever should start the trip, don’t expect that you will understand it completely as you won’t. There used to be a time when the Canadian press included this one in their list of best Canadian movies of all time, but these days are over. What you see in The Adjuster are unusual stories, but deep down below you know it happens in every street!

The Adjuster is still available in the Benelux on Concorde Film and what’s more: you often can find it in the bargain section! Imagine what some unaware people think once they start to watch!

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


NL

Onlangs hadden we het over de onconventionele cinema van Leos Carax. Een cineast die ook zo’n films maakt is de Armeens-Canadese Atom Egoyan. Als je zijn in 1999 verschenen Felicia’s Journey niet meetelt (waarin wijlen Bob Hoskins niet zo’n goede voornemens met een tienermeisje heeft) dan kun je gerust stellen dat het gros van diens werken bijna niet te doorgronden zijn.

Egoyan is niet op zoek naar een verhaal, maar schetst het relaas van verwarde individuen die eigenlijk (op het toeval na) niets met elkaar hebben te maken. Een mooi voorbeeld daarvan is The Adjuster uit 1991.

Noah Render (Elias Koteas) is een verzekeringsagent die getroffen gezinsleden er opnieuw probeert bovenop te helpen wanneer hun inboedel door een woningbrand is verwoest. Render ontmoet mensen van alle slag, maar vooral gaat het om karakters die het noorden kwijt zijn. Mensen die zich verlenen aan excessen die de modale maatschappij verwerpt. Soms leidt dit tot extravagante cinema: bijv. een rijpe vrouw die het met een baseballteam naar haar zin heeft terwijl manlief toekijkt. Gaandeweg merken we dat Render eveneens een zonderling is die nauwelijks de realiteit aankan.

Beweren dat The Adjuster buitengewone cinema is, doen we niet, wel is dit het soort filmkunst die grenzen probeert te verleggen en langer dan de modale Hollywoodneus kijkt. Mocht je eraan beginnen, doe dan ook geen moeite om alles te begrijpen, dat lukt toch geen mens. In deze prent die ooit nog door de Canadese pers in hun lijstje van allerbeste binnenlandse films werd gestopt wordt je vooral als kijker met je neus op ongewone feiten (die zich weliswaar wellicht in elke straat afspelen) gedrukt.

The Adjuster is zeer vlot in de Benelux via Concorde Film te krijgen en ligt zelfs vaak in de uitverkoopbakken. Een ongewone plaats, want heel wat kijkers zullen niet weten wat hun overkomt!

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster 22/09/2014 : ATOM EGOYAN - The Adjuster

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh