tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

20/09/2014 : INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG - Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014)

INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG

Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014)

Concert


[90/100]   
20/09/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Thursday 18 september, Tilburg, Holland: my yearly visit to the Incubate-festival, an annual celebration of cutting-edge culture and a diverse view on indie culture as a whole, including music, visual arts. This year lots of rock and metal, so I went for the more electronic Thursday. More then 30 artists, all over the city from Tilburg at different locations, so I had to make a choice which bands to check out.

As this was a normal weekday there was a lot of traffic jam around Tilburg, so I was a little late and decided to stay around the 013 venue, with 3 different stages and a great line up.

First choice of the evening was the electroacoustic compositions of Olivia Block. Her gigs are partially improvised pieces for electronics and amplified objects, all presented in a slow style tart you can call ‘electronic chamber music’, the compositions often combine field recordings with all kind of electronic textures. So all very heavy stuff, fantastic for a very limited audience, but really enjoyed her set, and a nice beginning of the evening. Rating : 85%

Then time for The Spacy Lady, she looks like she came from another planet, but in fact she’s just a strange 66 old granny from the streets of San Francisco at where she’s know for her strange alien synth music. Susan Dietrich brings some nice covers like Peter Schilling’s Major Tom, Radar Love from Golden Earing, even some Beatles covers. It's all quite bizarre, minimalistic , let's say vintage synths and enchanting vocals together with her steel helmet and angel wings feel strange to look at. But I think that will be part of the cult figure status she has. The audience loved this granny, and she seemed really surprised from her own succes. Musically nothing special, but I was very glad to see this sympathetic cult figure perform. Rating : 80%

Off to the main stage for Holly Herndon. She's an American composer, musician and sound artist, graduated as a master of Electronic Music. She's very interested in the way our bodies relate to modern technology. Holly had the fantastic idea to put the participants from this gig from Facebook on her visuals, so everyone could see his own profile during the first song. Have to say that the rest of the visuals used during this concert were great, by far the best of the evening. Most tracks contain samples of everyday life, that she uses in her disorienting electronic music. Blending avant garde, even with some techo. Some tracks makes me compare her to Laurie Anderson. My first personal highlight of the evening. Rating : 95%

Next was Stellar OM Source. She makes a kind of synthpop with an extra twist. The sound is full of percussive elements and Christelle Gualdi brings a nice gig. She was on my list because she got fantastic reviews on her last album, ‘Joy One Mile’, some even called this one of the best album in the new electronic scene. Maybe this was the most commercial gig I saw this evening, and quite some very young people dancing, personaly I liked the next artist on that same stage better: Paula Temple who performed a kind of futuristic techo. More loops, distorted beats, even some industrial influences. Nice danceable set. Rating : 80%

Then it was time for the Danish Frederikke Hoffmeier aka Puce Mary. Compeletely new to me, she brings a kind of minimal and rhytmic industrial solo project. Again this gig is for a very select audience, Puce Mary is constantly envolving and can be very experimental at times, call it rhytmic noise. Rating : 85%

Then the dark electronic music from the British Elizabeth Bernholz with her act Gazelle Twin. The dark, avantgarde and edgy electronic sounds of Elizabeth were popluar with the audience.The cold industrial beats and haunting vocals make the music of Gazelle Twin scary and danceable at the same time. But I have to admit that after some time it all sounded a bit pale. The lack of visuals, and proper live electronics made me leave the gig before it ended. Rating : 75%

Back to the mainstage for the headliner of the evening: Chris and Cosey, this time performing with Nik Void from Factory Floor. This unique alliance was presented as Carter Tutti Void. Lots to say about these electronic pioneers, of course there was the legendary band Throbbing Gristle, the solo performances, the adult film career of Cosey, and so on, but tonight they where brilliant in there own way. Chris Carter manipulates the electronics while on either flank, Nik Void scratches noise from her guitar, and Cosey Fanni Tutti plays while singing vocals. Call this the best noise ever made or whatever. This was a brilliant gig, and with this highlight a perfect finish for this electronic day at incubate. Rating : 100%

Rumours are that there will be a new Carter Tutti album next year, so that made my two hours back home more enjoyable. Had a great time at this Incubate-festival: a perfect organisation, in the middle of the city Tilburg, so that means: shops, restaurants and culture only a few minutes from most venues.

Below you can find a video with a compilation of most gigs, more and full versions can be found on my YouTube- channel. Enjoy!

Peter HESELMANS
20/09/2014


20/09/2014 : INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG - Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014) 20/09/2014 : INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG - Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014) 20/09/2014 : INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG - Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014) 20/09/2014 : INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG - Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014) 20/09/2014 : INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG - Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014) 20/09/2014 : INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG - Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014) 20/09/2014 : INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG - Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014) 20/09/2014 : INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG - Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014) 20/09/2014 : INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG - Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014) 20/09/2014 : INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG - Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014) 20/09/2014 : INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG - Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014)

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
09
10
FRONT 242
Tragedy For You