tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/09/2014 : PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE - Boxers

PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE

Boxers

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost PunkRock

[80/100]   

Wonderhorse Records
23/09/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Formed in Brussels, perhaps inspired by the album of the same name by The Fall and with no Belgians employed, energetic dark-wavers Perverted By Language recall the likes of The Chameleons, Music For Pleasure, Editors, Bauhaus, The Sound, Nyam Nyam, Into Paradise, The Names and just about any British (and Belgian) rock band from the '80s worth its weight in blood, sweat and tears.

Boxers is the band's debut-album and follows on from their live shows with many of the same ingredients - brutal guitar-riffs, insistent drums, low-end basslines and Jez Thomas's expressive hollering that holds a tune and tells a tale - think Peter Murphy and Tom Smith in full throttle. 

The first two songs certainly show some intent - The Box is an obvious single, an explosive introduction with masked socio-proclamations such as "These are dangerous times" and "I'll think about your hands... when the money blackens them...", while Lost For Words bullies its way past "..all the rules I had to follow...", "...destitute and tired..." and "...desolation..." as though the band's lives depended on it.

Amandine has an element of the epic about it - guitars soar like Explosions In The Sky, tempered by bassist Elise's sweet croon, making the whole thing much more palatable than certain peers I could mention - it's the band's '4AD' song (every new-wave act should have one). Perhaps PBL have invented their own genre - 'Dreamo', anyone?

Other highlights include The Beach, The Idealist (which, musically at least, recalls Suede for some reason) and the pretty All Of My Mother's Favourite Nightmares, a song that sounds like a curtain-call to these ears, rather than a mid-album change of pace. The rest of Boxers is serviceable angst-rock admirably self-penned and produced, an album the band are rightly proud of. Only Elephantine falls short for me personally and Pewter Eyes doesn't quite get going but these are minor grumbles - Boxers punches above its weight, for the most part.

Regardless of the current crop of chart-bothering, bed-wetting, synth-wielding, white-soul perpetrators of drivel around Europe, Perverted By Language bravely wield an auricular roar loud enough to disrupt traffic and voluminous enough to get some shows booked. Good debut.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
23/09/2014


 

Next reviews
THOM EBERHARDT • Night Of The Comet
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
J.T. PETTY • Hellbenders 3D
ATOM EGOYAN • The Adjuster
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Frontline presents roots/presents dub
RON HOWARD • Willow
JOHN CROWLEY • Boy A
CLOUD BOAT • Model Of You
INCUBATE FESTIVAL TILBURG • Tilburg, 013, Electronical Day: Carter Tutti Void, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, The Space Lady (18/09/2014)
CABARET VOLTAIRE • #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985

 

Other reviews from PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK + ROCK
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper