tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/09/2014 : PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE - Boxers

PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE

Boxers

MusicCD


[86/100]   

Wonderhorse Records
11/09/2014, Didier BECU

In 1983 a Mancunian schizophrenic released an album named Perverted By Language. Three decades later the name comes back, but in the form of Belgian band with some international roots. Never give up on a dream as after years this international combo (singer Jeremy Thomas is a Brit) comes up with a first full album. Ten tracks of post-punkpleasure that sounds as tribute to forgotten heroes, but also as a middle finger to today’s music scene that only seems to embrace polished pop songs (all wrapped up, of course, as alternative).

The production is neat, but raw too. From the very first minute that opener The Box is coming out of your speakers, it feels like Gang Of Four are back (not that they were ever away, but you know what I’m trying to say…)

In Lost For Words the bass from Elise Boënnec has a Hookey-feel and Jez’s voice is similar to Ian Curtis. Well, you can blame Jeremy for the fact that his voice is similar to Ian’s one. But so what? Coldplay are already ripping off Echo & The Bunnymen for 10 years and everybody thinks they’re genius!

Elephantine is a break, a sort of Crépuscule-interlude in where the guitars Guy Wilssens and Ronan Collot do a sort of Vini Reilly-twist. Elise even proves that she can sing on Amandine: quite Anna Domino-like. But after this, apart from closing track Pewter Eyes, the band continues to smash your face.

Boxers is a debut that matters. I really hate to review music that is created by friends, but to quote the almighty Moz: I certainly wouln’t hate if they become successful!

Harsh, raw, in a way poppy and melodic. The sole thing you can blame them for is the fact that they come up with an album that sounds like it’s been made in 1983. But then again, who wants to sound like Snow Patrol?

Didier BECU
11/09/2014


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide