tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/09/2014 : WISHBONE ASH - Blue Horizon

WISHBONE ASH

Blue Horizon

MusicCD
BluesPopRock

[90/100]   

Solid Rockhouse Records
04/09/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

They are formed in 1969, so you bettercheck out their CV as it’s pretty impressive!

This band really rocks in a commercial way and at some point I was thinking they sound like Crowded House (just listen to Take it Back) as they have that same sweetness in their sound.

Anyway, it’s the kind of album to enjoy from the early start until the very last note. Wings is another possible influence (for sure Paul's McCartney's voice, check Being One and Way Down South). There is also for sure a bit of a blues influence (can't miss with the title Deep Blues with a touch of ZZ Top). A funky sound comes around in Strange How Things Come Back Around.

Tally Ho! sounds sweet, but the lyrics are very actual and very cruel (but true words), the blues sound is very fitting in this one. Mary Jane is a great blues rocker, with modern lyrics. American Century' could have been a Wings song, for sure with the lyrics. I like the backings and the lyrics (could be about Ukraine too).

Blue Horizon is as the lyrics: perfect if you want to lose yourself in music and dream away, eyes set on the horizon... Just so relaxing! The last track is a nice but slow rocker: All There Is To Say' and will be loved by guitar lovers!

It was a nice and relaxing trip! Thanks a lot for that great music! You rocked a bluesy heart!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
04/09/2014


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You