tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/09/2014 : METROLAND - Thalys

METROLAND

Thalys

MusicCD


[77/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
09/09/2014, Benny CALUWE

EN

Metroland is a conceptual band from Brussels. The duo focuses on transportation and especially our daily routine of commuting. Their limited 12’inch Thalys will be released at the end of September on Alfa Matrix. On top of the vinyl you get an EP-CD.

People who are fond of Kraftwerk will definitely like this one. On Thalys we also hear those typical vintage synths, analogue drum machines and vocoder treated voices.

Thalys – Le Départ passes seamlessly to the deuxième étape. By this we get an extended Thalys-trip that does not bore despite its length. The other track, From Station To Station, is built with recycled parts from Thalys. But no worries: it became a total different track!


There are 3 remixes for Thalys and one for From Station To Station. The remixes are radical enough to stay interesting. In From station to station – elemental the beats (one that reminds me of the New Beat- era) are more prominent, and the synths more menacing. Also the remix that Jonteknik did for Thalys is worth mentioning. The synths still sound very 80’s, but the song gets a complete new base with more emphasis on percussion. The best remix though is the one from Paul Kendall. He gives the track an industrial feel and so, it sounds a lot darker. The Paul Kendall remix can only be found on the 12’inch and is not available as a download. You can only find the EP-CD on Bandcamp. The digital version is available in 3 languages, depending which download-destination you choose: Paris, Düsseldorf or London.
 
With this EP Metroland made a step forward opposed to Mind The Gap. I am looking forward to their full album that is announced for 2015. For those who are curious to see them: Metroland will play with Parade Ground at Kavka in Antwerp on September 19th.

Benny CALUWE
09/09/2014


NL

Metroland is een conceptuele band uit Brussel Het duo focust zich op transportmiddelen en onze dagelijkse routine van pendelen. Hun gelimiteerde 12’inch Thalys verschijnt eind september op Alfa Matrix, boven het vinyl krijg je er een EPCD bij op.

Metroland is spek voor de bek van Kraftwerk-fans. Ook op Thalys horen we vintage synths, analoge drummachines en de met vocoder bewerkte stemmen. Thalys – Le Départ gaat naadloos over in deuxième étape. Zo krijgen we een langgerekte Thalysrit die ondanks zijn lengte niet verveelt. De andere track, From Station To Station is opgebouwd uit gerecycleerde stukjes van Thalys, maar vrees niet: het is een geheel ander nummer.

En dan zijn er natuurlijk de obligatoire remixes: 3 voor Thalys en eentje voor From Station To Station. De remixes zijn voldoende ingrijpend om boeiend te blijven. In From Station To Station – Elemenetal doet denken aan de New Beat-periode denken, ook de synths klinken dreigender. De remix van Jonteknik voor Thalys is tevens het vermelden waard. De synths behouden de 80’s-klankkleur maar het nummer krijgt een nieuwe onderbouw met meer nadruk op het drumwerk.


De beste remix is echter die van Paul Kendall. Hij gaat met Thalys de industrial-toer op en klinkt daardoor heel wat donkerder Deze track is enkel op vinyl te vinden en dus niet beschikbaar als download op Bandcamp. Enkel de EPCD vind je daar. De digitale versie van Thalys is verkrijgbaar in 3 talen, afhankelijk van welke bestemming je kiest. Je hebt de keuze uit Paris, Düsseldorf en London.


Wat mij betreft heeft Metroland een stap vooruit gezet ten opzichte van Mind The Gap. Deze EP doet het beste hopen voor het volgende album dat is aangekondigd voor 2015. Voor de nieuwsgierigen onder jullie: Metroland staat op 19 september samen met Parade Ground op de planken in Kavka te Antwerpen.


Tracklist 12’inch:

1 Thalys – le départ 
2 Thalys – deuxième étape
3 Thalys – Paul Kendall remix
4 From station to station – [f]


Tracklist CD

1 Thalys – le départ
2 Thalys - deuxième étape
3 From station to station – [f]
4 Thalys – version: Jonteknik
5 From station to station – elemental
6 Thalys – Northern Kind remix
7 Thalys – Düsseldorf edit

Benny CALUWE
09/09/2014


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire