tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/09/2014 : METROLAND - Thalys

METROLAND

Thalys

MusicCD


[77/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
09/09/2014, Benny CALUWE

EN

Metroland is a conceptual band from Brussels. The duo focuses on transportation and especially our daily routine of commuting. Their limited 12’inch Thalys will be released at the end of September on Alfa Matrix. On top of the vinyl you get an EP-CD.

People who are fond of Kraftwerk will definitely like this one. On Thalys we also hear those typical vintage synths, analogue drum machines and vocoder treated voices.

Thalys – Le Départ passes seamlessly to the deuxième étape. By this we get an extended Thalys-trip that does not bore despite its length. The other track, From Station To Station, is built with recycled parts from Thalys. But no worries: it became a total different track!


There are 3 remixes for Thalys and one for From Station To Station. The remixes are radical enough to stay interesting. In From station to station – elemental the beats (one that reminds me of the New Beat- era) are more prominent, and the synths more menacing. Also the remix that Jonteknik did for Thalys is worth mentioning. The synths still sound very 80’s, but the song gets a complete new base with more emphasis on percussion. The best remix though is the one from Paul Kendall. He gives the track an industrial feel and so, it sounds a lot darker. The Paul Kendall remix can only be found on the 12’inch and is not available as a download. You can only find the EP-CD on Bandcamp. The digital version is available in 3 languages, depending which download-destination you choose: Paris, Düsseldorf or London.
 
With this EP Metroland made a step forward opposed to Mind The Gap. I am looking forward to their full album that is announced for 2015. For those who are curious to see them: Metroland will play with Parade Ground at Kavka in Antwerp on September 19th.

Benny CALUWE
09/09/2014


NL

Metroland is een conceptuele band uit Brussel Het duo focust zich op transportmiddelen en onze dagelijkse routine van pendelen. Hun gelimiteerde 12’inch Thalys verschijnt eind september op Alfa Matrix, boven het vinyl krijg je er een EPCD bij op.

Metroland is spek voor de bek van Kraftwerk-fans. Ook op Thalys horen we vintage synths, analoge drummachines en de met vocoder bewerkte stemmen. Thalys – Le Départ gaat naadloos over in deuxième étape. Zo krijgen we een langgerekte Thalysrit die ondanks zijn lengte niet verveelt. De andere track, From Station To Station is opgebouwd uit gerecycleerde stukjes van Thalys, maar vrees niet: het is een geheel ander nummer.

En dan zijn er natuurlijk de obligatoire remixes: 3 voor Thalys en eentje voor From Station To Station. De remixes zijn voldoende ingrijpend om boeiend te blijven. In From Station To Station – Elemenetal doet denken aan de New Beat-periode denken, ook de synths klinken dreigender. De remix van Jonteknik voor Thalys is tevens het vermelden waard. De synths behouden de 80’s-klankkleur maar het nummer krijgt een nieuwe onderbouw met meer nadruk op het drumwerk.


De beste remix is echter die van Paul Kendall. Hij gaat met Thalys de industrial-toer op en klinkt daardoor heel wat donkerder Deze track is enkel op vinyl te vinden en dus niet beschikbaar als download op Bandcamp. Enkel de EPCD vind je daar. De digitale versie van Thalys is verkrijgbaar in 3 talen, afhankelijk van welke bestemming je kiest. Je hebt de keuze uit Paris, Düsseldorf en London.


Wat mij betreft heeft Metroland een stap vooruit gezet ten opzichte van Mind The Gap. Deze EP doet het beste hopen voor het volgende album dat is aangekondigd voor 2015. Voor de nieuwsgierigen onder jullie: Metroland staat op 19 september samen met Parade Ground op de planken in Kavka te Antwerpen.


Tracklist 12’inch:

1 Thalys – le départ 
2 Thalys – deuxième étape
3 Thalys – Paul Kendall remix
4 From station to station – [f]


Tracklist CD

1 Thalys – le départ
2 Thalys - deuxième étape
3 From station to station – [f]
4 Thalys – version: Jonteknik
5 From station to station – elemental
6 Thalys – Northern Kind remix
7 Thalys – Düsseldorf edit

Benny CALUWE
09/09/2014


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth