tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/09/2014 : METROLAND - Thalys

METROLAND

Thalys

MusicCD


[77/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
09/09/2014, Benny CALUWE

EN

Metroland is a conceptual band from Brussels. The duo focuses on transportation and especially our daily routine of commuting. Their limited 12’inch Thalys will be released at the end of September on Alfa Matrix. On top of the vinyl you get an EP-CD.

People who are fond of Kraftwerk will definitely like this one. On Thalys we also hear those typical vintage synths, analogue drum machines and vocoder treated voices.

Thalys – Le Départ passes seamlessly to the deuxième étape. By this we get an extended Thalys-trip that does not bore despite its length. The other track, From Station To Station, is built with recycled parts from Thalys. But no worries: it became a total different track!


There are 3 remixes for Thalys and one for From Station To Station. The remixes are radical enough to stay interesting. In From station to station – elemental the beats (one that reminds me of the New Beat- era) are more prominent, and the synths more menacing. Also the remix that Jonteknik did for Thalys is worth mentioning. The synths still sound very 80’s, but the song gets a complete new base with more emphasis on percussion. The best remix though is the one from Paul Kendall. He gives the track an industrial feel and so, it sounds a lot darker. The Paul Kendall remix can only be found on the 12’inch and is not available as a download. You can only find the EP-CD on Bandcamp. The digital version is available in 3 languages, depending which download-destination you choose: Paris, Düsseldorf or London.
 
With this EP Metroland made a step forward opposed to Mind The Gap. I am looking forward to their full album that is announced for 2015. For those who are curious to see them: Metroland will play with Parade Ground at Kavka in Antwerp on September 19th.

Benny CALUWE
09/09/2014


NL

Metroland is een conceptuele band uit Brussel Het duo focust zich op transportmiddelen en onze dagelijkse routine van pendelen. Hun gelimiteerde 12’inch Thalys verschijnt eind september op Alfa Matrix, boven het vinyl krijg je er een EPCD bij op.

Metroland is spek voor de bek van Kraftwerk-fans. Ook op Thalys horen we vintage synths, analoge drummachines en de met vocoder bewerkte stemmen. Thalys – Le Départ gaat naadloos over in deuxième étape. Zo krijgen we een langgerekte Thalysrit die ondanks zijn lengte niet verveelt. De andere track, From Station To Station is opgebouwd uit gerecycleerde stukjes van Thalys, maar vrees niet: het is een geheel ander nummer.

En dan zijn er natuurlijk de obligatoire remixes: 3 voor Thalys en eentje voor From Station To Station. De remixes zijn voldoende ingrijpend om boeiend te blijven. In From Station To Station – Elemenetal doet denken aan de New Beat-periode denken, ook de synths klinken dreigender. De remix van Jonteknik voor Thalys is tevens het vermelden waard. De synths behouden de 80’s-klankkleur maar het nummer krijgt een nieuwe onderbouw met meer nadruk op het drumwerk.


De beste remix is echter die van Paul Kendall. Hij gaat met Thalys de industrial-toer op en klinkt daardoor heel wat donkerder Deze track is enkel op vinyl te vinden en dus niet beschikbaar als download op Bandcamp. Enkel de EPCD vind je daar. De digitale versie van Thalys is verkrijgbaar in 3 talen, afhankelijk van welke bestemming je kiest. Je hebt de keuze uit Paris, Düsseldorf en London.


Wat mij betreft heeft Metroland een stap vooruit gezet ten opzichte van Mind The Gap. Deze EP doet het beste hopen voor het volgende album dat is aangekondigd voor 2015. Voor de nieuwsgierigen onder jullie: Metroland staat op 19 september samen met Parade Ground op de planken in Kavka te Antwerpen.


Tracklist 12’inch:

1 Thalys – le départ 
2 Thalys – deuxième étape
3 Thalys – Paul Kendall remix
4 From station to station – [f]


Tracklist CD

1 Thalys – le départ
2 Thalys - deuxième étape
3 From station to station – [f]
4 Thalys – version: Jonteknik
5 From station to station – elemental
6 Thalys – Northern Kind remix
7 Thalys – Düsseldorf edit

Benny CALUWE
09/09/2014


Music reviews

04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven