tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/09/2014 : METROLAND - Thalys

METROLAND

Thalys

MusicCD


[77/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
09/09/2014, Benny CALUWE

EN

Metroland is a conceptual band from Brussels. The duo focuses on transportation and especially our daily routine of commuting. Their limited 12’inch Thalys will be released at the end of September on Alfa Matrix. On top of the vinyl you get an EP-CD.

People who are fond of Kraftwerk will definitely like this one. On Thalys we also hear those typical vintage synths, analogue drum machines and vocoder treated voices.

Thalys – Le Départ passes seamlessly to the deuxième étape. By this we get an extended Thalys-trip that does not bore despite its length. The other track, From Station To Station, is built with recycled parts from Thalys. But no worries: it became a total different track!


There are 3 remixes for Thalys and one for From Station To Station. The remixes are radical enough to stay interesting. In From station to station – elemental the beats (one that reminds me of the New Beat- era) are more prominent, and the synths more menacing. Also the remix that Jonteknik did for Thalys is worth mentioning. The synths still sound very 80’s, but the song gets a complete new base with more emphasis on percussion. The best remix though is the one from Paul Kendall. He gives the track an industrial feel and so, it sounds a lot darker. The Paul Kendall remix can only be found on the 12’inch and is not available as a download. You can only find the EP-CD on Bandcamp. The digital version is available in 3 languages, depending which download-destination you choose: Paris, Düsseldorf or London.
 
With this EP Metroland made a step forward opposed to Mind The Gap. I am looking forward to their full album that is announced for 2015. For those who are curious to see them: Metroland will play with Parade Ground at Kavka in Antwerp on September 19th.

Benny CALUWE
09/09/2014


NL

Metroland is een conceptuele band uit Brussel Het duo focust zich op transportmiddelen en onze dagelijkse routine van pendelen. Hun gelimiteerde 12’inch Thalys verschijnt eind september op Alfa Matrix, boven het vinyl krijg je er een EPCD bij op.

Metroland is spek voor de bek van Kraftwerk-fans. Ook op Thalys horen we vintage synths, analoge drummachines en de met vocoder bewerkte stemmen. Thalys – Le Départ gaat naadloos over in deuxième étape. Zo krijgen we een langgerekte Thalysrit die ondanks zijn lengte niet verveelt. De andere track, From Station To Station is opgebouwd uit gerecycleerde stukjes van Thalys, maar vrees niet: het is een geheel ander nummer.

En dan zijn er natuurlijk de obligatoire remixes: 3 voor Thalys en eentje voor From Station To Station. De remixes zijn voldoende ingrijpend om boeiend te blijven. In From Station To Station – Elemenetal doet denken aan de New Beat-periode denken, ook de synths klinken dreigender. De remix van Jonteknik voor Thalys is tevens het vermelden waard. De synths behouden de 80’s-klankkleur maar het nummer krijgt een nieuwe onderbouw met meer nadruk op het drumwerk.


De beste remix is echter die van Paul Kendall. Hij gaat met Thalys de industrial-toer op en klinkt daardoor heel wat donkerder Deze track is enkel op vinyl te vinden en dus niet beschikbaar als download op Bandcamp. Enkel de EPCD vind je daar. De digitale versie van Thalys is verkrijgbaar in 3 talen, afhankelijk van welke bestemming je kiest. Je hebt de keuze uit Paris, Düsseldorf en London.


Wat mij betreft heeft Metroland een stap vooruit gezet ten opzichte van Mind The Gap. Deze EP doet het beste hopen voor het volgende album dat is aangekondigd voor 2015. Voor de nieuwsgierigen onder jullie: Metroland staat op 19 september samen met Parade Ground op de planken in Kavka te Antwerpen.


Tracklist 12’inch:

1 Thalys – le départ 
2 Thalys – deuxième étape
3 Thalys – Paul Kendall remix
4 From station to station – [f]


Tracklist CD

1 Thalys – le départ
2 Thalys - deuxième étape
3 From station to station – [f]
4 Thalys – version: Jonteknik
5 From station to station – elemental
6 Thalys – Northern Kind remix
7 Thalys – Düsseldorf edit

Benny CALUWE
09/09/2014


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir
09
06
DEZ MONA
Close To You