tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/02/2016 : METROLAND - Things Will Never Sound The Same Again

METROLAND

Things Will Never Sound The Same Again

MusicCD

Alfa-Matrix
01/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

About four years ago, the two boys of Ionic Vision (Andy and Sven) came up with one of the best Flemish electro projects ever: Metroland. At first, it sounded as an ode to Kraftwerk, but Passenger A and S (as they call themselves) made such good melodies that this was hardly disturbing (on the contrary!). Everything went without a hitch, until last year their sound engineer and close friend Louis Zachert (or in the Metroland context: Passenger L) died. It was hard to deal with, which is shown on the latest CD. Indeed, things will never sound as before, and just about every title refers to their deceased comrade (from his e-mail address to his studio).

The twelve songs are a lot darker than their previous work. Even though it remains danceable and you still hear the typical vocoders, Metroland is evolving to a melancholic band. Louis will like to hear it, but his friends are becoming less and less a Kraftwerk clone, but more and more Metroland.

It's hard not to be touched when you listen to Things Will Never Sound The Same Again. A more beautiful tribute to Passenger L is not conceivable.

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


NL

Zo’n vier jaar geleden kwamen de twee jongens van Ionic Vision (Andy en Sven) met één van de leukste Vlaamse electroprojecten op de proppen: Metroland. Het klonk in het begin wel als een ode aan Kraftwerk, maar Passenger A en S (zo noemen ze zichzelf) maakten zo’n goede melodieën, dat dat nauwelijks als storend werd ervaren (integendeel). Alles liep van een leien dakje, tot vorig jaar hun geluidstechnieker en goede vriend Louis Zachert (of in de Metroland-context Passenger L) overleed. Het was een zware domper en dat hoor je op de nieuwste cd. De dingen zullen inderdaad nooit meer klinken zoals voorheen en zowat iedere titel refereert aan hun overleden kameraad (van zijn e-mailadres tot zijn studio).

De twaalf tracks zijn dan ook een heel pak donkerder dan hun eerdere werk. Ook al blijft het dansbaar en hoor je nog steeds de typische vocoders, evolueert Metroland duidelijk in een melancholischede richting. Louis zal het zeer graag horen, maar zijn poulains worden steeds minder een Kraftwerk-kloon, wel meer en meer Metroland.

Het is moeilijk om niet te worden ontroerd als je naar Things Will Never Sound The Same Again luistert. Een mooier eerbetoon aan Passenger L is dan ook niet denkbaar.

Didier BECU
01/02/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline