tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

31/01/2016 : FRONT242 - Detox Static EP

FRONT242

Detox Static EP

MusicDigital
EBMElectro

[70/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
31/01/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

In the summer of 2015, Front 242 announced a remastered version of the iconic album No Comment (1984) that finally will see the light of day in the summer of 2016. This announcement was accompanied by a free download of the RadicalG-remix of Take One. This inspired the band to organize a real Take One remix contest.

To their surprise, they received more than hundred entries and it took longer than expected to select a top 3.The best songs are featured on the EP Static Detox with three other remixes. Front 242 chose to put the six best remixes on the EP, along with the remastered version of the classic that appeared on the EP Endless Riddance in 1983.

The remastered version of Take One sounds fresh and generates high expectations about the remastered version of No Comment and other albums, because all the other Front 242-LP’s will get that treatment too!

In the AD: Key remix the tempo is slightly inflated, emphasizing the drum pattern, but the remix is loyal to the original structure and atmosphere.

The Eisfabrik remix comes next. Again, the pace is increased, it is also danceable and contains irresistible vibes.

The Kant-Kino remix gives Take One some additional 242-injections. This is simply how it would sound on Front 242's Tyranny> For You < of 1991. It’s less adventurous than the Eisfabrik remix, but nonetheless good!

Those who like to party surely will appreciate Tefonik's Ritual De Lo Minimo remix which is just like the Eisfabrik remix made for the dance floor with a high pace and lots of beats.

You hear more danceable grooves on the freewheeling Restriction 9 Remix.

The Digital 440's Last Orders Remix starts with some ambient and minimal elements and is less industrial. Lots of things happen on this remix (the familiar Front 242-sound returns), two ears aren’t just enough to capture it all! This surely is the favorite of yours truly, closely followed by the Eisfabrik remix and Tefonik's Ritual De Lo Minimo Remix.

You can listen to Detox Static EP on Alfa Matrix’s Bandcamp-page. I’m not a big fan of remixes, or to say it with the words of Telex: I don't like remixes. However, exceptions always do exist!

This EP really makes us hungry for more goodies coming our way as promised by the band... Great times for Front 242-fans!

Mark VAN MULLEM
31/01/2016


NL

In de zomer van 2015 kondigde Front 242 een geremasterde versie aan van het iconische album No Comment (1984) en dat komt er in de zomer van 2016 aan. De aankondiging ging gepaard met een gratis download van de RadicalG remix van Take One en het inspireerde de band ook om een heuse Take One-remix-wedstrijd uit te schrijven. Tot hun eigen verbazing ontving de band meer dan honderd inzendingen en het duurde langer dan verwacht om daar een top 3 uit te puren. Behalve deze top 3 bevat de ep Detox Static ook nog 3 remixes. Front 242 koos ervoor om de 6 beste remixes op de ep te zetten, samen met een geremasterde versie van de klassieker die in 1983 op de ep Endless Riddance verscheen.

De geremasterde versie van Take One klinkt okselfris en doet veel verhopen voor de No Comment-remaster én de andere albums, want ook alle andere Front 242-lp's zullen worden geremasterd.

In de AD:Key-remix wordt het tempo lichtelijk opgedreven met veel nadruk op het drumpatroon, maar er wordt weinig afgeweken van de originele opbouw en de sfeer van de track.

De Eisfabrik remix gaat verder. Ook hier wordt het tempo gevoelig opgedreven, hij is ook dansbaar als de pest met zijn onweerstaanbare vibes.

De Kant-Kino remix geeft de Take One nog extra 242-injecties. Dit is Take One zoals het zou klinken ten tijde van Front 242's Tyranny >For You< (1991). Minder avontuurlijk dan de Eisfabrik-remix, wel gewoon goed.

Wie van een stevig feestje houdt kan eens goed los gehen op de Tefonik's Rituale De Lo Minimo remix die net als de Eisfabrik-remix naar de dansvloer mikt met zijn opgefuckte tempo en dito beats.

Nog meer dansbare grooves met de Restriction 9 Remix waarin duchtig wordt gefreewheeld.

De Digital 440's Last order Remix schurkt initieel aan tegen ambient en minimal en in mindere mate industrial. Om dan ook heel erg diep in de oh zo bekende Front 242-sound te duiken, met succes. Met een zalig kamerbreed geluid. Er gebeurt veel in deze remix. Opmerkelijk en uitermate boeiend, een mens komt oren tekort.

De hekkensluiter van de remixes op deze ep is dus zeker een favoriet voor ondergetekende, op de hielen gezeten door de Eisfabrik Remix en Tefonik's Rituale De Lo Minimo Remix.

De Detox Static EP kan je beluisteren en downloaden op de Bandcamppagina van Alfamatrix. Zelf ben ik geen fan van remixes, of om het met Telex te zeggen: I don't like remixes. Maar er zijn altijd uitzonderingen.

Deze ep is een meer dan fraai zoethoudertje in afwachting van de 242-remasters. Er zou trouwens nog meer fraais op ons afkomen, althans dat belooft de band... Fijne tijden dus voor Front 242-fans!

Mark VAN MULLEM
31/01/2016


 

Next reviews
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • IRIS VON GUL
MY CRUEL GORO • Clash EP
ANGELIC FOE • Mother Of Abominations
BILL PRITCHARD • Mother Town Hall
THE SILENCE SET • Teeth Out
ELVYA DULCIMER • BLACK EASTER 2016
RED ZEBRA • The Beauties Of The Beast: The Best Of Red Zebra (1980-1983)
CTM • Suite For A Young Girl
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
PJ HARVEY • The Wheel

 

Other reviews from FRONT242
FRONT242 • At Coliseum in Charleroi with Texas Trauma and Fouck Brothers

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
MILDREDA • I was never really there
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire