tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/01/2016 : BILL PRITCHARD - Mother Town Hall

BILL PRITCHARD

Mother Town Hall

MusicCD


[80/100]   

Tapete Records
31/01/2016, Paul PLEDGER

EN

Following on from 2014's triumphant Trip To The Coast, Bill's first new album for roughly ten years, comes this relatively speedy sequel. Whereas its predecessor was primarily concerned with travel, Mother Town Hall centres itself on his hometown of Stoke. Cobridge gets a mention, the album was recorded in Burslem and some of the people name-checked throughout are no doubt inspired by one or two neighbourhood characters.

For the most part, Mother Town Hall is pure Pritchard. Stories abound, insanely memorable choruses and some lush orchestration all woven together to produce what sounds like his best since 1990's Jolie. Opener Saturn And Co is all open-topped sports cars, retro eyewear and a nod to the likes of Temples and The Lilac Time, while Mont St Michel will almost certainly curry favour with Pritchard's keenest Francophile audiences across the English Channel.

Breezy jangle-pop abounds on the resplendent 15a Holy Street and the sprightly Heaven, but the real gem on here is the infectious brassy Victorious, the sort of song you wish would fill our airwaves instead of the trite pretenders around today. As for September Haze, you'd swear you've known this tune for years upon first listen, such is it's woozy gait.

Twelve songs, simply produced, none of them filler - why is Bill Pritchard still not a household name?

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
31/01/2016


NL

Na Trip to The Coast uit 2014, is Bill Pritchard er, ondanks de tien jaar stilte, vrij vlug met een nieuw album. De voorganger ging voornamelijk over reizen, maar Mother Town Hall concentreert zich voornamelijk op zijn geboortestad Stoke. Cobridge wordt ook wel eens vermeld, het album zelf werd in Burslem opgenomen en de namen die je in de songs hoort zullen ongetwijfeld geïnspireerd zijn op karakters uit de buurt.

Voor het grootste gedeelte kan je zeggen dat Mother Town Hall een pure Pritchard-plaat is. Verhalen zijn er in overvloed, terwijl de waanzinnig memorabele refreinen en de weelderige orkestratie ervoor zorgen dat dit zijn beste cd is sinds Jolie uit 1990. Opener Saturn And Co is een knipoog naar Temples en The Lilac Time. Denk gewoon aan sportwagens met een open dak en retrobrillen, terwijl hij met Mont St Michel zeker het Franstalige publiek zal kunnen charmeren.

Jinglejanglepop hoor je op zowel het schitterende 15a Holy Street als op het dartelende Heaven, maar de echte parel is Victorious. Dit is het soort song dat je alle dagen op de radio zou willen horen in plaats van al die afgezaagde hitjes. En dan is er nog September Haze, je zou zweren dat je die track al jaren kent.

Twaalf songs, knap geproduceerd en geen enkele opvullers. Waarom is Bill Pritchard nog steeds geen begrip?

Paul PLEDGER
31/01/2016


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser