tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/01/2016 : BILL PRITCHARD - Mother Town Hall

BILL PRITCHARD

Mother Town Hall

MusicCD


[80/100]   

Tapete Records
31/01/2016, Paul PLEDGER

EN

Following on from 2014's triumphant Trip To The Coast, Bill's first new album for roughly ten years, comes this relatively speedy sequel. Whereas its predecessor was primarily concerned with travel, Mother Town Hall centres itself on his hometown of Stoke. Cobridge gets a mention, the album was recorded in Burslem and some of the people name-checked throughout are no doubt inspired by one or two neighbourhood characters.

For the most part, Mother Town Hall is pure Pritchard. Stories abound, insanely memorable choruses and some lush orchestration all woven together to produce what sounds like his best since 1990's Jolie. Opener Saturn And Co is all open-topped sports cars, retro eyewear and a nod to the likes of Temples and The Lilac Time, while Mont St Michel will almost certainly curry favour with Pritchard's keenest Francophile audiences across the English Channel.

Breezy jangle-pop abounds on the resplendent 15a Holy Street and the sprightly Heaven, but the real gem on here is the infectious brassy Victorious, the sort of song you wish would fill our airwaves instead of the trite pretenders around today. As for September Haze, you'd swear you've known this tune for years upon first listen, such is it's woozy gait.

Twelve songs, simply produced, none of them filler - why is Bill Pritchard still not a household name?

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
31/01/2016


NL

Na Trip to The Coast uit 2014, is Bill Pritchard er, ondanks de tien jaar stilte, vrij vlug met een nieuw album. De voorganger ging voornamelijk over reizen, maar Mother Town Hall concentreert zich voornamelijk op zijn geboortestad Stoke. Cobridge wordt ook wel eens vermeld, het album zelf werd in Burslem opgenomen en de namen die je in de songs hoort zullen ongetwijfeld geïnspireerd zijn op karakters uit de buurt.

Voor het grootste gedeelte kan je zeggen dat Mother Town Hall een pure Pritchard-plaat is. Verhalen zijn er in overvloed, terwijl de waanzinnig memorabele refreinen en de weelderige orkestratie ervoor zorgen dat dit zijn beste cd is sinds Jolie uit 1990. Opener Saturn And Co is een knipoog naar Temples en The Lilac Time. Denk gewoon aan sportwagens met een open dak en retrobrillen, terwijl hij met Mont St Michel zeker het Franstalige publiek zal kunnen charmeren.

Jinglejanglepop hoor je op zowel het schitterende 15a Holy Street als op het dartelende Heaven, maar de echte parel is Victorious. Dit is het soort song dat je alle dagen op de radio zou willen horen in plaats van al die afgezaagde hitjes. En dan is er nog September Haze, je zou zweren dat je die track al jaren kent.

Twaalf songs, knap geproduceerd en geen enkele opvullers. Waarom is Bill Pritchard nog steeds geen begrip?

Paul PLEDGER
31/01/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void