tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

31/01/2016 : BILL PRITCHARD - Mother Town Hall

BILL PRITCHARD

Mother Town Hall

MusicCD


[80/100]   

Tapete Records
31/01/2016, Paul PLEDGER

EN

Following on from 2014's triumphant Trip To The Coast, Bill's first new album for roughly ten years, comes this relatively speedy sequel. Whereas its predecessor was primarily concerned with travel, Mother Town Hall centres itself on his hometown of Stoke. Cobridge gets a mention, the album was recorded in Burslem and some of the people name-checked throughout are no doubt inspired by one or two neighbourhood characters.

For the most part, Mother Town Hall is pure Pritchard. Stories abound, insanely memorable choruses and some lush orchestration all woven together to produce what sounds like his best since 1990's Jolie. Opener Saturn And Co is all open-topped sports cars, retro eyewear and a nod to the likes of Temples and The Lilac Time, while Mont St Michel will almost certainly curry favour with Pritchard's keenest Francophile audiences across the English Channel.

Breezy jangle-pop abounds on the resplendent 15a Holy Street and the sprightly Heaven, but the real gem on here is the infectious brassy Victorious, the sort of song you wish would fill our airwaves instead of the trite pretenders around today. As for September Haze, you'd swear you've known this tune for years upon first listen, such is it's woozy gait.

Twelve songs, simply produced, none of them filler - why is Bill Pritchard still not a household name?

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
31/01/2016


NL

Na Trip to The Coast uit 2014, is Bill Pritchard er, ondanks de tien jaar stilte, vrij vlug met een nieuw album. De voorganger ging voornamelijk over reizen, maar Mother Town Hall concentreert zich voornamelijk op zijn geboortestad Stoke. Cobridge wordt ook wel eens vermeld, het album zelf werd in Burslem opgenomen en de namen die je in de songs hoort zullen ongetwijfeld geïnspireerd zijn op karakters uit de buurt.

Voor het grootste gedeelte kan je zeggen dat Mother Town Hall een pure Pritchard-plaat is. Verhalen zijn er in overvloed, terwijl de waanzinnig memorabele refreinen en de weelderige orkestratie ervoor zorgen dat dit zijn beste cd is sinds Jolie uit 1990. Opener Saturn And Co is een knipoog naar Temples en The Lilac Time. Denk gewoon aan sportwagens met een open dak en retrobrillen, terwijl hij met Mont St Michel zeker het Franstalige publiek zal kunnen charmeren.

Jinglejanglepop hoor je op zowel het schitterende 15a Holy Street als op het dartelende Heaven, maar de echte parel is Victorious. Dit is het soort song dat je alle dagen op de radio zou willen horen in plaats van al die afgezaagde hitjes. En dan is er nog September Haze, je zou zweren dat je die track al jaren kent.

Twaalf songs, knap geproduceerd en geen enkele opvullers. Waarom is Bill Pritchard nog steeds geen begrip?

Paul PLEDGER
31/01/2016


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)