tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel

PJ HARVEY

The Wheel

MusicCD single
Indie Rock

[90/100]   

Island Records
28/01/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Five years after Let England Shake, the album for which PJ Harvey won her second Mercury Prize, the successor is ready. She won her first award in 2001 for Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea. Polly-Jean is the sole artist who managed to win the prestigious British music price twice. The long-awaited successor The Hope Six Demolition Project will be released on 15th April. The Wheel is the first single.

Let England Shake was about Britain’s war past. On The Hope Six Demolition Project, Polly-Jean succeeds with themes such as politics and war. For inspiration she travelled to Afghanistan, Kosovo and Washington with photographer Seamus Murphy. In an interview she said: “When I’m writing a song, I visualise the entire scene, I can see the colours, I can tell the time of the day, I can sense the mood, I can see the light changing, the shadows moving, everything in that picture. Gathering information from secondary sources felt too far removed for what I was trying to write about. I wanted to smell the air, feel the soil and meet the people of the countries I was fascinated with.”

In The Wheel, you hear PJ Harvey singing in the upper registers, just like she did on Let England Shake. Instrumentally, PJ seems to return to her older rock style. The propulsive guitar intro is followed by a chorus with a question and an answer. A polyphonic answer. The rhythm is supported by hand-clapping. The saxophone is involved as well. In the second track The Wheel (edit), the intro and outro are shortened.

The lyrics can be interpreted in different ways. Is PJ Harvey referring to the migration crisis and does “the revolving wheel” stands for the wheels of a vehicle that takes the children away? Or is she singing about the revolving cylinder of a handgun and the young victims that are caused by it? PJ Harvey doesn’t need to prove herself as a songwriter anymore. She’s an excellent observer and has a lot of empathy. She’s perfectly able to identify with someone else and to write from that point of view.

The Wheel is a great track and a fine foretaste for the upcoming album. Impatiently we are waiting for 15th April, when The Hope Six Demolition Project is in the record stores.

Lyrics:

A revolving wheel of metal chairs

Hung on chains squealing

Four little childrin flying out

Ablind man sings in Arabic

Chorus:

Hey little children don't disappear

(I heard it was 28.000)

Lost upon a revolving wheel

(I herad it was 28.000)

Now you see them, now you don't

Children vanish behind vehicle

Now you see them, now you don't

Face, limbs, a bouncing skull

A tableau of the missing

tied to the governement building

8.000 sun-bleached photographs

Faded with roses

Hey litlle children don't disappear

(I herad it was 28.000)

Lost upon a revolving wheel

(I head it was 28.000)

All that's left after a year

(Iheard it was 28.000)

A faded face, the trace of an ear

(I heard it was 28.000)

Outro:

And I watch them fade out

And I watch them fade out

...

Benny CALUWE
28/01/2016


NL

Vijf jaar na Let England Shake, het album waarmee PJ Harvey in 2011 haar tweede Mercury Prize won, is de volgende plaat klaar. Haar eerste onderscheiding won ze in 2001 voor Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea. Polly-Jean is trouwens de enige artieste die deze prestigieuze Britse muziekprijs twee maal in ontvangst mocht nemen. De langverwachte opvolger, The Hope Six Demolition Project ,wordt uitgebracht op 15 april. The Wheel is de eerste single.

Let England Shake ging over het Britse oorlogsverleden. Op The Hope Six Demolition Project gaat Polly-Jean opnieuw aan de slag met politieke en oorlogsthema’s. Ze liet zich inspireren door haar reizen naar Afghanistan, Kosovo en Washington die ze samen met fotograaf Seamus Murphy ondernam. Daarover zei ze in een interview: “Als ik een song schrijf, visualiseer ik het hele tafereel, kan ik de kleuren zien, kan ik het uur van de dag zeggen, voel ik de stemming, zie ik het licht veranderen, de schaduwen bewegen, alles in dat beeld. Informatie uit de tweede hand stond te ver af van de dingen waarover ik probeerde te schrijven. Ik wilde de lucht opsnuiven, de bodem onder mijn voeten voelen en de inwoners ontmoeten van de landen die me fascineerden..”.

In The Wheel hoor je PJ Harvey net als op Let England Shake in de hoge registers zingen.

Instrumentaal lijkt PJ naar haar oudere rockstijl terug te grijpen. Na een voortstuwend intro komt een refrein met een vraag en een antwoord. Een meerstemmig antwoord. Een uitnodigend handgeklap ondersteunt het ritme. De saxofoon is ook van de partij. De tweede track is The Wheel (edit) met een ingekorte in- en outro.

De songtekst is voor interpretatie vatbaar. Verwijst PJ Harvey naar de migratiecrisis en staat the revolving wheel voor de wielen van een voertuig waarop de kinderen uit het zicht verdwijnen? Of heeft ze het over de draaiende cilinder van een pistool die jonge slachtoffers maakt? Als songschrijver hoeft PJ Harvey zich niet meer te bewijzen. Ze is een uitstekend observator en heeft veel empathie. Ze kan zich prima inleven en vanuit een ander oogpunt schrijven.

The Wheel is een voortreffelijke song en een heerlijk voorproefje van de nieuwe plaat. Het blijft reikhalzend uitkijken naar 15 april, de dag waarop The Hope Six Demolition Project in de rekken ligt.

Benny CALUWE
28/01/2016


28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel 28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel 28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel 28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel 28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel 28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation