tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel

PJ HARVEY

The Wheel

MusicCD single
Indie Rock

[90/100]   

Island Records
28/01/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Five years after Let England Shake, the album for which PJ Harvey won her second Mercury Prize, the successor is ready. She won her first award in 2001 for Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea. Polly-Jean is the sole artist who managed to win the prestigious British music price twice. The long-awaited successor The Hope Six Demolition Project will be released on 15th April. The Wheel is the first single.

Let England Shake was about Britain’s war past. On The Hope Six Demolition Project, Polly-Jean succeeds with themes such as politics and war. For inspiration she travelled to Afghanistan, Kosovo and Washington with photographer Seamus Murphy. In an interview she said: “When I’m writing a song, I visualise the entire scene, I can see the colours, I can tell the time of the day, I can sense the mood, I can see the light changing, the shadows moving, everything in that picture. Gathering information from secondary sources felt too far removed for what I was trying to write about. I wanted to smell the air, feel the soil and meet the people of the countries I was fascinated with.”

In The Wheel, you hear PJ Harvey singing in the upper registers, just like she did on Let England Shake. Instrumentally, PJ seems to return to her older rock style. The propulsive guitar intro is followed by a chorus with a question and an answer. A polyphonic answer. The rhythm is supported by hand-clapping. The saxophone is involved as well. In the second track The Wheel (edit), the intro and outro are shortened.

The lyrics can be interpreted in different ways. Is PJ Harvey referring to the migration crisis and does “the revolving wheel” stands for the wheels of a vehicle that takes the children away? Or is she singing about the revolving cylinder of a handgun and the young victims that are caused by it? PJ Harvey doesn’t need to prove herself as a songwriter anymore. She’s an excellent observer and has a lot of empathy. She’s perfectly able to identify with someone else and to write from that point of view.

The Wheel is a great track and a fine foretaste for the upcoming album. Impatiently we are waiting for 15th April, when The Hope Six Demolition Project is in the record stores.

Lyrics:

A revolving wheel of metal chairs

Hung on chains squealing

Four little childrin flying out

Ablind man sings in Arabic

Chorus:

Hey little children don't disappear

(I heard it was 28.000)

Lost upon a revolving wheel

(I herad it was 28.000)

Now you see them, now you don't

Children vanish behind vehicle

Now you see them, now you don't

Face, limbs, a bouncing skull

A tableau of the missing

tied to the governement building

8.000 sun-bleached photographs

Faded with roses

Hey litlle children don't disappear

(I herad it was 28.000)

Lost upon a revolving wheel

(I head it was 28.000)

All that's left after a year

(Iheard it was 28.000)

A faded face, the trace of an ear

(I heard it was 28.000)

Outro:

And I watch them fade out

And I watch them fade out

...

Benny CALUWE
28/01/2016


NL

Vijf jaar na Let England Shake, het album waarmee PJ Harvey in 2011 haar tweede Mercury Prize won, is de volgende plaat klaar. Haar eerste onderscheiding won ze in 2001 voor Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea. Polly-Jean is trouwens de enige artieste die deze prestigieuze Britse muziekprijs twee maal in ontvangst mocht nemen. De langverwachte opvolger, The Hope Six Demolition Project ,wordt uitgebracht op 15 april. The Wheel is de eerste single.

Let England Shake ging over het Britse oorlogsverleden. Op The Hope Six Demolition Project gaat Polly-Jean opnieuw aan de slag met politieke en oorlogsthema’s. Ze liet zich inspireren door haar reizen naar Afghanistan, Kosovo en Washington die ze samen met fotograaf Seamus Murphy ondernam. Daarover zei ze in een interview: “Als ik een song schrijf, visualiseer ik het hele tafereel, kan ik de kleuren zien, kan ik het uur van de dag zeggen, voel ik de stemming, zie ik het licht veranderen, de schaduwen bewegen, alles in dat beeld. Informatie uit de tweede hand stond te ver af van de dingen waarover ik probeerde te schrijven. Ik wilde de lucht opsnuiven, de bodem onder mijn voeten voelen en de inwoners ontmoeten van de landen die me fascineerden..”.

In The Wheel hoor je PJ Harvey net als op Let England Shake in de hoge registers zingen.

Instrumentaal lijkt PJ naar haar oudere rockstijl terug te grijpen. Na een voortstuwend intro komt een refrein met een vraag en een antwoord. Een meerstemmig antwoord. Een uitnodigend handgeklap ondersteunt het ritme. De saxofoon is ook van de partij. De tweede track is The Wheel (edit) met een ingekorte in- en outro.

De songtekst is voor interpretatie vatbaar. Verwijst PJ Harvey naar de migratiecrisis en staat the revolving wheel voor de wielen van een voertuig waarop de kinderen uit het zicht verdwijnen? Of heeft ze het over de draaiende cilinder van een pistool die jonge slachtoffers maakt? Als songschrijver hoeft PJ Harvey zich niet meer te bewijzen. Ze is een uitstekend observator en heeft veel empathie. Ze kan zich prima inleven en vanuit een ander oogpunt schrijven.

The Wheel is een voortreffelijke song en een heerlijk voorproefje van de nieuwe plaat. Het blijft reikhalzend uitkijken naar 15 april, de dag waarop The Hope Six Demolition Project in de rekken ligt.

Benny CALUWE
28/01/2016


28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel 28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel 28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel 28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel 28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel 28/01/2016 : PJ HARVEY - The Wheel

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
01
12
LINEA ASPERA
@ Centre Tour à Plomb Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat