tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse

KOVLO

Timelapse

MusicCD
Post Rock

[79/100]   

Fluttery Records
28/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Kovlo is a Swiss band that makes instrumental post rock. Usually you hear a quiet sound carpet with an occasional subtle intense moment.

Each number (five in total) refers to an event that happened at the birth of one of the group member. Walesa refers to the day Lech Walesa was elected president of Poland, The Dakota Killing to the murder of John Lennon and in Suez to the reopening of the canal.

In 2013 Kovlo released the popular soundtrack Tutti Gui- Everybody Sometimes Fall. And you surely hear cinematic sounds on Timelapse too, while the style can be compared with Mogwai or Sigur Ros.

Most of the songs have a quiet pace, repetitive guitar riffs and a slow build up. Opener Walesa is an atmospheric piece of five minutes that stands out because of the echoing, atmospheric guitar parts. Opec Raid opens with a more threatening tone from the slide guitar, which nicely fits the tone of the song title. This twelve minute track is slow with a surfacing bass. In The Killing Dakota the guitar reigns, while Suez has a great groove that breaks with the ethereal nature of the three previous songs. The last song, Lake Nyos, is characterized by exciting drumming parts and an interesting song structure.

The best songs of the album are at the end. Of course, it all depends on your taste, but if you love cinematic post-rock, try Kovlo.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


NL

Kovlo is een Zwitserse band die instrumentale postrock maakt. Meestal hoor je een rustig geluidstapijt met af en toe een subtiel intens momentje.

Ieder nummer (vijf in totaal) verwijst naar een gebeurtenis op de geboortedatum van een groepslid. Zo verwijst Walesa naar Lech Walesa die in 1990 de president van Polen werd, The Dakota Killing gaat over de moord op John Lennon in 1980 en Suez over de heropening van het kanaal in 1975.

In 2013 bracht Kovlo de populaire soundtrackTutti Gui-Everybody Sometimes Fall uit. Dat is allesbehalve vreemd, want ook Timelapse klinkt bij momenten heel filmisch, met een stijl die je soms met Mogwai of Sigur Ros kan vergelijken.

De meeste songs hebben een gezapig tempo, repetitieve gitaarriffs en een trage opbouw. Opener Walesa is een atmosferisch stukje muziek van zo’n vijf minuten dat opvalt door zijn galmende, sfeerrijke gitaarfragmenten. Opec Raid opent met de dreigendere toon van een slidegitaar, wat overigens mooi bij de toon van de songtitel past. Deze twaalf minuten durende track wordt langzaam opgebouwd met een bas die stilletjes komt bovendrijven. In The Dakota Killing krijgt de gitaar opnieuw kleur. Op Suez krijgen we een lekkere groove die met het etherische karakter van de drie vorige songs breekt. De laatste song, Lake Nyos, wordt gekenmerkt door boeiende drumpartijen en een interessante songopbouw. 

Het beste van de plaat zit hem in de staart, de twee laatste tracks zijn immers van hoog niveau. Het hangt natuurlijk een beetje van je smaak af, maar wie van filmische postrock houdt, moet zich maar eens in Kovlo verdiepen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse 28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse 28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf