tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse

KOVLO

Timelapse

MusicCD
Post Rock

[79/100]   

Fluttery Records
28/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Kovlo is a Swiss band that makes instrumental post rock. Usually you hear a quiet sound carpet with an occasional subtle intense moment.

Each number (five in total) refers to an event that happened at the birth of one of the group member. Walesa refers to the day Lech Walesa was elected president of Poland, The Dakota Killing to the murder of John Lennon and in Suez to the reopening of the canal.

In 2013 Kovlo released the popular soundtrack Tutti Gui- Everybody Sometimes Fall. And you surely hear cinematic sounds on Timelapse too, while the style can be compared with Mogwai or Sigur Ros.

Most of the songs have a quiet pace, repetitive guitar riffs and a slow build up. Opener Walesa is an atmospheric piece of five minutes that stands out because of the echoing, atmospheric guitar parts. Opec Raid opens with a more threatening tone from the slide guitar, which nicely fits the tone of the song title. This twelve minute track is slow with a surfacing bass. In The Killing Dakota the guitar reigns, while Suez has a great groove that breaks with the ethereal nature of the three previous songs. The last song, Lake Nyos, is characterized by exciting drumming parts and an interesting song structure.

The best songs of the album are at the end. Of course, it all depends on your taste, but if you love cinematic post-rock, try Kovlo.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


NL

Kovlo is een Zwitserse band die instrumentale postrock maakt. Meestal hoor je een rustig geluidstapijt met af en toe een subtiel intens momentje.

Ieder nummer (vijf in totaal) verwijst naar een gebeurtenis op de geboortedatum van een groepslid. Zo verwijst Walesa naar Lech Walesa die in 1990 de president van Polen werd, The Dakota Killing gaat over de moord op John Lennon in 1980 en Suez over de heropening van het kanaal in 1975.

In 2013 bracht Kovlo de populaire soundtrackTutti Gui-Everybody Sometimes Fall uit. Dat is allesbehalve vreemd, want ook Timelapse klinkt bij momenten heel filmisch, met een stijl die je soms met Mogwai of Sigur Ros kan vergelijken.

De meeste songs hebben een gezapig tempo, repetitieve gitaarriffs en een trage opbouw. Opener Walesa is een atmosferisch stukje muziek van zo’n vijf minuten dat opvalt door zijn galmende, sfeerrijke gitaarfragmenten. Opec Raid opent met de dreigendere toon van een slidegitaar, wat overigens mooi bij de toon van de songtitel past. Deze twaalf minuten durende track wordt langzaam opgebouwd met een bas die stilletjes komt bovendrijven. In The Dakota Killing krijgt de gitaar opnieuw kleur. Op Suez krijgen we een lekkere groove die met het etherische karakter van de drie vorige songs breekt. De laatste song, Lake Nyos, wordt gekenmerkt door boeiende drumpartijen en een interessante songopbouw. 

Het beste van de plaat zit hem in de staart, de twee laatste tracks zijn immers van hoog niveau. Het hangt natuurlijk een beetje van je smaak af, maar wie van filmische postrock houdt, moet zich maar eens in Kovlo verdiepen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse 28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse 28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi