tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse

KOVLO

Timelapse

MusicCD
Post Rock

[79/100]   

Fluttery Records
28/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Kovlo is a Swiss band that makes instrumental post rock. Usually you hear a quiet sound carpet with an occasional subtle intense moment.

Each number (five in total) refers to an event that happened at the birth of one of the group member. Walesa refers to the day Lech Walesa was elected president of Poland, The Dakota Killing to the murder of John Lennon and in Suez to the reopening of the canal.

In 2013 Kovlo released the popular soundtrack Tutti Gui- Everybody Sometimes Fall. And you surely hear cinematic sounds on Timelapse too, while the style can be compared with Mogwai or Sigur Ros.

Most of the songs have a quiet pace, repetitive guitar riffs and a slow build up. Opener Walesa is an atmospheric piece of five minutes that stands out because of the echoing, atmospheric guitar parts. Opec Raid opens with a more threatening tone from the slide guitar, which nicely fits the tone of the song title. This twelve minute track is slow with a surfacing bass. In The Killing Dakota the guitar reigns, while Suez has a great groove that breaks with the ethereal nature of the three previous songs. The last song, Lake Nyos, is characterized by exciting drumming parts and an interesting song structure.

The best songs of the album are at the end. Of course, it all depends on your taste, but if you love cinematic post-rock, try Kovlo.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


NL

Kovlo is een Zwitserse band die instrumentale postrock maakt. Meestal hoor je een rustig geluidstapijt met af en toe een subtiel intens momentje.

Ieder nummer (vijf in totaal) verwijst naar een gebeurtenis op de geboortedatum van een groepslid. Zo verwijst Walesa naar Lech Walesa die in 1990 de president van Polen werd, The Dakota Killing gaat over de moord op John Lennon in 1980 en Suez over de heropening van het kanaal in 1975.

In 2013 bracht Kovlo de populaire soundtrackTutti Gui-Everybody Sometimes Fall uit. Dat is allesbehalve vreemd, want ook Timelapse klinkt bij momenten heel filmisch, met een stijl die je soms met Mogwai of Sigur Ros kan vergelijken.

De meeste songs hebben een gezapig tempo, repetitieve gitaarriffs en een trage opbouw. Opener Walesa is een atmosferisch stukje muziek van zo’n vijf minuten dat opvalt door zijn galmende, sfeerrijke gitaarfragmenten. Opec Raid opent met de dreigendere toon van een slidegitaar, wat overigens mooi bij de toon van de songtitel past. Deze twaalf minuten durende track wordt langzaam opgebouwd met een bas die stilletjes komt bovendrijven. In The Dakota Killing krijgt de gitaar opnieuw kleur. Op Suez krijgen we een lekkere groove die met het etherische karakter van de drie vorige songs breekt. De laatste song, Lake Nyos, wordt gekenmerkt door boeiende drumpartijen en een interessante songopbouw. 

Het beste van de plaat zit hem in de staart, de twee laatste tracks zijn immers van hoog niveau. Het hangt natuurlijk een beetje van je smaak af, maar wie van filmische postrock houdt, moet zich maar eens in Kovlo verdiepen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse 28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse 28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends
18
02
Dissonance's New Single, 'Damage: First Assault' Ft. Melodywhore out NOW

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
21
02
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit
20
02
COLD CAVE
People Are Poison
19
02
THE 69 EYES
Jerusalem