tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse

KOVLO

Timelapse

MusicCD
Post Rock

[79/100]   

Fluttery Records
28/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Kovlo is a Swiss band that makes instrumental post rock. Usually you hear a quiet sound carpet with an occasional subtle intense moment.

Each number (five in total) refers to an event that happened at the birth of one of the group member. Walesa refers to the day Lech Walesa was elected president of Poland, The Dakota Killing to the murder of John Lennon and in Suez to the reopening of the canal.

In 2013 Kovlo released the popular soundtrack Tutti Gui- Everybody Sometimes Fall. And you surely hear cinematic sounds on Timelapse too, while the style can be compared with Mogwai or Sigur Ros.

Most of the songs have a quiet pace, repetitive guitar riffs and a slow build up. Opener Walesa is an atmospheric piece of five minutes that stands out because of the echoing, atmospheric guitar parts. Opec Raid opens with a more threatening tone from the slide guitar, which nicely fits the tone of the song title. This twelve minute track is slow with a surfacing bass. In The Killing Dakota the guitar reigns, while Suez has a great groove that breaks with the ethereal nature of the three previous songs. The last song, Lake Nyos, is characterized by exciting drumming parts and an interesting song structure.

The best songs of the album are at the end. Of course, it all depends on your taste, but if you love cinematic post-rock, try Kovlo.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


NL

Kovlo is een Zwitserse band die instrumentale postrock maakt. Meestal hoor je een rustig geluidstapijt met af en toe een subtiel intens momentje.

Ieder nummer (vijf in totaal) verwijst naar een gebeurtenis op de geboortedatum van een groepslid. Zo verwijst Walesa naar Lech Walesa die in 1990 de president van Polen werd, The Dakota Killing gaat over de moord op John Lennon in 1980 en Suez over de heropening van het kanaal in 1975.

In 2013 bracht Kovlo de populaire soundtrackTutti Gui-Everybody Sometimes Fall uit. Dat is allesbehalve vreemd, want ook Timelapse klinkt bij momenten heel filmisch, met een stijl die je soms met Mogwai of Sigur Ros kan vergelijken.

De meeste songs hebben een gezapig tempo, repetitieve gitaarriffs en een trage opbouw. Opener Walesa is een atmosferisch stukje muziek van zo’n vijf minuten dat opvalt door zijn galmende, sfeerrijke gitaarfragmenten. Opec Raid opent met de dreigendere toon van een slidegitaar, wat overigens mooi bij de toon van de songtitel past. Deze twaalf minuten durende track wordt langzaam opgebouwd met een bas die stilletjes komt bovendrijven. In The Dakota Killing krijgt de gitaar opnieuw kleur. Op Suez krijgen we een lekkere groove die met het etherische karakter van de drie vorige songs breekt. De laatste song, Lake Nyos, wordt gekenmerkt door boeiende drumpartijen en een interessante songopbouw. 

Het beste van de plaat zit hem in de staart, de twee laatste tracks zijn immers van hoog niveau. Het hangt natuurlijk een beetje van je smaak af, maar wie van filmische postrock houdt, moet zich maar eens in Kovlo verdiepen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/01/2016


28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse 28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse 28/01/2016 : KOVLO - Timelapse

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott