tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/09/2014 : MINIUT MACHINE - Live and Destroy

MINIUT MACHINE

Live and Destroy

MusicCD
Dark Wave

[80/100]   

Desire Records
07/09/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Minuit Machine are a synth wave band based in Paris. They’re the association between Hélènede Thoury’s electronic melodies and Amandine Stioui’s vocals. The project was born in Hélène's mind back in June 2013 during a tour with Phosphor (her former band). In September that same year, she met Amandine and fell in love with her voice. The sound of this French duo is based on powerful electronic drums and the accumulation of dark synth lines (a mixture that range from minimal wave to electronic rock).

Their debut album Live & Destroy can count. Opening with Love Is God: nice slow darkwave at it s best, this track gives a nice example of what can be expected: nice synth loops, rhythmic electronic drums and the really special voice of Amadine!

Ego and Comedown are a little more uptempo. The somewhat harsher synths give these tracks some more depth. Personal favourites are Alienation (perhaps the most danceable track on the album): great electronic loops and drum machines.

Toi Et Moi N'existe Plus is brilliant dark wave that puts you back in time. Most lyrics are very nice to listen to. They're dealing about life, love, self-destruction and fear: or just all the struggles we encounter one day or another, all the doubts and darkness that can sometimes bring us down. And of course the idea that our worst enemy could be our own mind!

Blessed with a deep industrial feel in their synths, it all sounds very nice for a debut album, I hope to hear some more from this French female duo in the near future.

Tracklisting:

A1 - Love Is God

A2 – Ego

3 – Comedown

A4 – Trauma

A5 – Midnight Love

B1 – Alienation

B2 – Ghost

B3 – Sabotage

B4 – Toi et moi n'existe plus

B5 – Apologies

B6 - Agoraphobia (album version)

 

Peter HESELMANS
07/09/2014


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith