tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/09/2014 : MINIUT MACHINE - Live and Destroy

MINIUT MACHINE

Live and Destroy

MusicCD
Dark Wave

[80/100]   

Desire Records
07/09/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Minuit Machine are a synth wave band based in Paris. They’re the association between Hélènede Thoury’s electronic melodies and Amandine Stioui’s vocals. The project was born in Hélène's mind back in June 2013 during a tour with Phosphor (her former band). In September that same year, she met Amandine and fell in love with her voice. The sound of this French duo is based on powerful electronic drums and the accumulation of dark synth lines (a mixture that range from minimal wave to electronic rock).

Their debut album Live & Destroy can count. Opening with Love Is God: nice slow darkwave at it s best, this track gives a nice example of what can be expected: nice synth loops, rhythmic electronic drums and the really special voice of Amadine!

Ego and Comedown are a little more uptempo. The somewhat harsher synths give these tracks some more depth. Personal favourites are Alienation (perhaps the most danceable track on the album): great electronic loops and drum machines.

Toi Et Moi N'existe Plus is brilliant dark wave that puts you back in time. Most lyrics are very nice to listen to. They're dealing about life, love, self-destruction and fear: or just all the struggles we encounter one day or another, all the doubts and darkness that can sometimes bring us down. And of course the idea that our worst enemy could be our own mind!

Blessed with a deep industrial feel in their synths, it all sounds very nice for a debut album, I hope to hear some more from this French female duo in the near future.

Tracklisting:

A1 - Love Is God

A2 – Ego

3 – Comedown

A4 – Trauma

A5 – Midnight Love

B1 – Alienation

B2 – Ghost

B3 – Sabotage

B4 – Toi et moi n'existe plus

B5 – Apologies

B6 - Agoraphobia (album version)

 

Peter HESELMANS
07/09/2014


Music reviews

15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO