tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : LAISSEZ FAIRE - No Land for Escape

LAISSEZ FAIRE

No Land for Escape

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost PunkRock

[76/100]   

Echozone
24/08/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

“No Land for Escape” is the first album of the Greek band Laisser Faire (Thessaloniki), formed in 2003.

No toxic beats, heavily distorted, ultra aggressive vocals, dark synths and more of that addictive stuff this time … Why not, you ask? Should you even read on? Well yeah, I think so … That’s if you’re interested in good songs, exciting guitars, catchy male and female vocals and fine craftsmanship. “No Land for Escape” offers a fine contemporary mix of late eighties and early nineties music.

Comparisons with other bands is usually a rather dangerous activity but hey, danger makes me feel alive … so here we go: I hear echoes of Red Temple Spirits, Lush, Ikon, The Comsat Angels, Perverted by Desire and even Skeletal Family, largely depending on who’s singing: Helen Kazatza or Alex Milkidis.

The songs? If I had to choose a single it would be the “Lush”ious “Electrify”. “Make Me Glow” is the twinkling star in the land of no escape and also “Things We Never Shared” and “Blind” are above average. “Escape” is worth your attention because of the exquisite guitars near the end of the song. Yummy!

Indie rock, post punk, new wave, independent post wave … Who cares? I played this CD about 10 times over the last 2 weeks. Maybe that’s what you really need or want to know?

“No Land for Escape” is no masterpiece, it is the promising debut album of a talented Greek band! An album that should open some (international) doors. I, for one, am looking forward to their next album. Hopefully it doesn’t take them another 8 years …

Laissez Faire? Sure …

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


NL

“No Land for Escape” is de debuut-CD van het Griekse Laissez Faire (Thessaloniki), dat al bestaat sinds 2003. Het label van dienst is Echozone.

Deze keer geen toxische beats, ijzige stemmen straight out of hell, inkzwarte synths en meer van dat lekkers. Wel sterke songs, opwindende gitaren, catchy male en female vocals en degelijk vakmanschap. Het betere werk van vooral de jaren tachtig en de jaren negentig in een eigentijds jasje. “No Land for Escape” is een aangename CD en dat is nu eens niet sarcastisch of neerbuigend bedoeld!

Vergelijken met andere groepen is steeds een riskante onderneming maar af en toe eens gevaarlijk leven moet kunnen, toch? Ik hoor vage en minder vage echo’s van Red Temple Spirits, Lush (eerste nummer), Ikon, The Comsat Angels, Perverted by Desire en zelfs Skeletal Family, onder andere afhankelijk van wie er zingt. Dat is nu eens Helen Kazatza, dan weer Alex Milkidis.

De songs? Het vlotte “Electrify” heeft een hoog Lush-gehalte en zou ik persoonlijk kiezen als single. “Make me Glow” gloeit als geen ander nummer op deze CD en ook “Things We Never Shared” en “Blind” overstijgen de grauwe middelmaat. “Escape” krijgt tot slot nog een eervolle vermelding voor de exquise gitaarpartij naar het einde van het nummer toe!

Indie, post punk, new wave, independent post wave … Who cares? Deze CD heeft al een keer of 10 opgelegen de laatste 2 weken. Dat is misschien wat u echt moet of wilt weten?

“No Land for Escape” is geen sublieme plaat, geen meesterwerk, wel het veelbelovend debuut van een talentrijke Griekse band. Een CD die wat mij betreft best wel wat (internationale) deuren mag openen … Haal uw portemonnee dus nog maar eens boven! Ik kijk alvast uit naar hun volgend album!

Laat ze maar doen, die Grieken!

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


 

Next reviews
QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME • A Time For A Timing
PHILLIP NOYCE • Dead Calm
THE PRESENT MOMENT • Loyal To A Fault
WILLIAM FAULKNER • The Sound and the Fury | Het geluid en de drift
TAIFUN • Trondheim
JOSH OTTUM • Watch TV
MARTIN SCORSESE • Shutter Island
EXIT TO EDEN • From The Other Side
PAPA TOPO • La Chica Vampira
ORPHX • Radiotherapy

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK + ROCK
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers

 

Same genre: INDIE
DEZ MONA • LOOSE ENDS
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE GODFATHERS • ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
01
On this day, 40 years ago, Fad Gadget performed at the Amsterdam Meervaart Theatre.
28
01
Electronic Duo, Akustikkoppler Tap Into The Past And Future With New Album
27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 32 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi - Naked Piano Mix 2020
28
01
POISONED HASTIA
Reptile
27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void