tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : LAISSEZ FAIRE - No Land for Escape

LAISSEZ FAIRE

No Land for Escape

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost PunkRock

[76/100]   

Echozone
24/08/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

“No Land for Escape” is the first album of the Greek band Laisser Faire (Thessaloniki), formed in 2003.

No toxic beats, heavily distorted, ultra aggressive vocals, dark synths and more of that addictive stuff this time … Why not, you ask? Should you even read on? Well yeah, I think so … That’s if you’re interested in good songs, exciting guitars, catchy male and female vocals and fine craftsmanship. “No Land for Escape” offers a fine contemporary mix of late eighties and early nineties music.

Comparisons with other bands is usually a rather dangerous activity but hey, danger makes me feel alive … so here we go: I hear echoes of Red Temple Spirits, Lush, Ikon, The Comsat Angels, Perverted by Desire and even Skeletal Family, largely depending on who’s singing: Helen Kazatza or Alex Milkidis.

The songs? If I had to choose a single it would be the “Lush”ious “Electrify”. “Make Me Glow” is the twinkling star in the land of no escape and also “Things We Never Shared” and “Blind” are above average. “Escape” is worth your attention because of the exquisite guitars near the end of the song. Yummy!

Indie rock, post punk, new wave, independent post wave … Who cares? I played this CD about 10 times over the last 2 weeks. Maybe that’s what you really need or want to know?

“No Land for Escape” is no masterpiece, it is the promising debut album of a talented Greek band! An album that should open some (international) doors. I, for one, am looking forward to their next album. Hopefully it doesn’t take them another 8 years …

Laissez Faire? Sure …

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


NL

“No Land for Escape” is de debuut-CD van het Griekse Laissez Faire (Thessaloniki), dat al bestaat sinds 2003. Het label van dienst is Echozone.

Deze keer geen toxische beats, ijzige stemmen straight out of hell, inkzwarte synths en meer van dat lekkers. Wel sterke songs, opwindende gitaren, catchy male en female vocals en degelijk vakmanschap. Het betere werk van vooral de jaren tachtig en de jaren negentig in een eigentijds jasje. “No Land for Escape” is een aangename CD en dat is nu eens niet sarcastisch of neerbuigend bedoeld!

Vergelijken met andere groepen is steeds een riskante onderneming maar af en toe eens gevaarlijk leven moet kunnen, toch? Ik hoor vage en minder vage echo’s van Red Temple Spirits, Lush (eerste nummer), Ikon, The Comsat Angels, Perverted by Desire en zelfs Skeletal Family, onder andere afhankelijk van wie er zingt. Dat is nu eens Helen Kazatza, dan weer Alex Milkidis.

De songs? Het vlotte “Electrify” heeft een hoog Lush-gehalte en zou ik persoonlijk kiezen als single. “Make me Glow” gloeit als geen ander nummer op deze CD en ook “Things We Never Shared” en “Blind” overstijgen de grauwe middelmaat. “Escape” krijgt tot slot nog een eervolle vermelding voor de exquise gitaarpartij naar het einde van het nummer toe!

Indie, post punk, new wave, independent post wave … Who cares? Deze CD heeft al een keer of 10 opgelegen de laatste 2 weken. Dat is misschien wat u echt moet of wilt weten?

“No Land for Escape” is geen sublieme plaat, geen meesterwerk, wel het veelbelovend debuut van een talentrijke Griekse band. Een CD die wat mij betreft best wel wat (internationale) deuren mag openen … Haal uw portemonnee dus nog maar eens boven! Ik kijk alvast uit naar hun volgend album!

Laat ze maar doen, die Grieken!

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


 

Next reviews
QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME • A Time For A Timing
PHILLIP NOYCE • Dead Calm
THE PRESENT MOMENT • Loyal To A Fault
WILLIAM FAULKNER • The Sound and the Fury | Het geluid en de drift
TAIFUN • Trondheim
JOSH OTTUM • Watch TV
MARTIN SCORSESE • Shutter Island
EXIT TO EDEN • From The Other Side
PAPA TOPO • La Chica Vampira
ORPHX • Radiotherapy

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK + ROCK
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
19
05
42 years of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!
30
04
DAVID GEDGE (THE WEDDING PRESENT)
'I do like to make the song as personal as possible!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo
19
05
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
ICOLATE