tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : LAISSEZ FAIRE - No Land for Escape

LAISSEZ FAIRE

No Land for Escape

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost PunkRock

[76/100]   

Echozone
24/08/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

“No Land for Escape” is the first album of the Greek band Laisser Faire (Thessaloniki), formed in 2003.

No toxic beats, heavily distorted, ultra aggressive vocals, dark synths and more of that addictive stuff this time … Why not, you ask? Should you even read on? Well yeah, I think so … That’s if you’re interested in good songs, exciting guitars, catchy male and female vocals and fine craftsmanship. “No Land for Escape” offers a fine contemporary mix of late eighties and early nineties music.

Comparisons with other bands is usually a rather dangerous activity but hey, danger makes me feel alive … so here we go: I hear echoes of Red Temple Spirits, Lush, Ikon, The Comsat Angels, Perverted by Desire and even Skeletal Family, largely depending on who’s singing: Helen Kazatza or Alex Milkidis.

The songs? If I had to choose a single it would be the “Lush”ious “Electrify”. “Make Me Glow” is the twinkling star in the land of no escape and also “Things We Never Shared” and “Blind” are above average. “Escape” is worth your attention because of the exquisite guitars near the end of the song. Yummy!

Indie rock, post punk, new wave, independent post wave … Who cares? I played this CD about 10 times over the last 2 weeks. Maybe that’s what you really need or want to know?

“No Land for Escape” is no masterpiece, it is the promising debut album of a talented Greek band! An album that should open some (international) doors. I, for one, am looking forward to their next album. Hopefully it doesn’t take them another 8 years …

Laissez Faire? Sure …

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


NL

“No Land for Escape” is de debuut-CD van het Griekse Laissez Faire (Thessaloniki), dat al bestaat sinds 2003. Het label van dienst is Echozone.

Deze keer geen toxische beats, ijzige stemmen straight out of hell, inkzwarte synths en meer van dat lekkers. Wel sterke songs, opwindende gitaren, catchy male en female vocals en degelijk vakmanschap. Het betere werk van vooral de jaren tachtig en de jaren negentig in een eigentijds jasje. “No Land for Escape” is een aangename CD en dat is nu eens niet sarcastisch of neerbuigend bedoeld!

Vergelijken met andere groepen is steeds een riskante onderneming maar af en toe eens gevaarlijk leven moet kunnen, toch? Ik hoor vage en minder vage echo’s van Red Temple Spirits, Lush (eerste nummer), Ikon, The Comsat Angels, Perverted by Desire en zelfs Skeletal Family, onder andere afhankelijk van wie er zingt. Dat is nu eens Helen Kazatza, dan weer Alex Milkidis.

De songs? Het vlotte “Electrify” heeft een hoog Lush-gehalte en zou ik persoonlijk kiezen als single. “Make me Glow” gloeit als geen ander nummer op deze CD en ook “Things We Never Shared” en “Blind” overstijgen de grauwe middelmaat. “Escape” krijgt tot slot nog een eervolle vermelding voor de exquise gitaarpartij naar het einde van het nummer toe!

Indie, post punk, new wave, independent post wave … Who cares? Deze CD heeft al een keer of 10 opgelegen de laatste 2 weken. Dat is misschien wat u echt moet of wilt weten?

“No Land for Escape” is geen sublieme plaat, geen meesterwerk, wel het veelbelovend debuut van een talentrijke Griekse band. Een CD die wat mij betreft best wel wat (internationale) deuren mag openen … Haal uw portemonnee dus nog maar eens boven! Ik kijk alvast uit naar hun volgend album!

Laat ze maar doen, die Grieken!

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


 

Next reviews
QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME • A Time For A Timing
PHILLIP NOYCE • Dead Calm
THE PRESENT MOMENT • Loyal To A Fault
WILLIAM FAULKNER • The Sound and the Fury | Het geluid en de drift
TAIFUN • Trondheim
JOSH OTTUM • Watch TV
MARTIN SCORSESE • Shutter Island
EXIT TO EDEN • From The Other Side
PAPA TOPO • La Chica Vampira
ORPHX • Radiotherapy

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK + ROCK
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

 

Same genre: ROCK
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum