tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : LAISSEZ FAIRE - No Land for Escape

LAISSEZ FAIRE

No Land for Escape

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost PunkRock

[76/100]   

Echozone
24/08/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

“No Land for Escape” is the first album of the Greek band Laisser Faire (Thessaloniki), formed in 2003.

No toxic beats, heavily distorted, ultra aggressive vocals, dark synths and more of that addictive stuff this time … Why not, you ask? Should you even read on? Well yeah, I think so … That’s if you’re interested in good songs, exciting guitars, catchy male and female vocals and fine craftsmanship. “No Land for Escape” offers a fine contemporary mix of late eighties and early nineties music.

Comparisons with other bands is usually a rather dangerous activity but hey, danger makes me feel alive … so here we go: I hear echoes of Red Temple Spirits, Lush, Ikon, The Comsat Angels, Perverted by Desire and even Skeletal Family, largely depending on who’s singing: Helen Kazatza or Alex Milkidis.

The songs? If I had to choose a single it would be the “Lush”ious “Electrify”. “Make Me Glow” is the twinkling star in the land of no escape and also “Things We Never Shared” and “Blind” are above average. “Escape” is worth your attention because of the exquisite guitars near the end of the song. Yummy!

Indie rock, post punk, new wave, independent post wave … Who cares? I played this CD about 10 times over the last 2 weeks. Maybe that’s what you really need or want to know?

“No Land for Escape” is no masterpiece, it is the promising debut album of a talented Greek band! An album that should open some (international) doors. I, for one, am looking forward to their next album. Hopefully it doesn’t take them another 8 years …

Laissez Faire? Sure …

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


NL

“No Land for Escape” is de debuut-CD van het Griekse Laissez Faire (Thessaloniki), dat al bestaat sinds 2003. Het label van dienst is Echozone.

Deze keer geen toxische beats, ijzige stemmen straight out of hell, inkzwarte synths en meer van dat lekkers. Wel sterke songs, opwindende gitaren, catchy male en female vocals en degelijk vakmanschap. Het betere werk van vooral de jaren tachtig en de jaren negentig in een eigentijds jasje. “No Land for Escape” is een aangename CD en dat is nu eens niet sarcastisch of neerbuigend bedoeld!

Vergelijken met andere groepen is steeds een riskante onderneming maar af en toe eens gevaarlijk leven moet kunnen, toch? Ik hoor vage en minder vage echo’s van Red Temple Spirits, Lush (eerste nummer), Ikon, The Comsat Angels, Perverted by Desire en zelfs Skeletal Family, onder andere afhankelijk van wie er zingt. Dat is nu eens Helen Kazatza, dan weer Alex Milkidis.

De songs? Het vlotte “Electrify” heeft een hoog Lush-gehalte en zou ik persoonlijk kiezen als single. “Make me Glow” gloeit als geen ander nummer op deze CD en ook “Things We Never Shared” en “Blind” overstijgen de grauwe middelmaat. “Escape” krijgt tot slot nog een eervolle vermelding voor de exquise gitaarpartij naar het einde van het nummer toe!

Indie, post punk, new wave, independent post wave … Who cares? Deze CD heeft al een keer of 10 opgelegen de laatste 2 weken. Dat is misschien wat u echt moet of wilt weten?

“No Land for Escape” is geen sublieme plaat, geen meesterwerk, wel het veelbelovend debuut van een talentrijke Griekse band. Een CD die wat mij betreft best wel wat (internationale) deuren mag openen … Haal uw portemonnee dus nog maar eens boven! Ik kijk alvast uit naar hun volgend album!

Laat ze maar doen, die Grieken!

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


 

Next reviews
QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME • A Time For A Timing
PHILLIP NOYCE • Dead Calm
THE PRESENT MOMENT • Loyal To A Fault
WILLIAM FAULKNER • The Sound and the Fury | Het geluid en de drift
TAIFUN • Trondheim
JOSH OTTUM • Watch TV
MARTIN SCORSESE • Shutter Island
EXIT TO EDEN • From The Other Side
PAPA TOPO • La Chica Vampira
ORPHX • Radiotherapy

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK + ROCK
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos