tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/08/2011 : LAISSEZ FAIRE - No Land for Escape

LAISSEZ FAIRE

No Land for Escape

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost PunkRock

[76/100]   

Echozone
24/08/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

“No Land for Escape” is the first album of the Greek band Laisser Faire (Thessaloniki), formed in 2003.

No toxic beats, heavily distorted, ultra aggressive vocals, dark synths and more of that addictive stuff this time … Why not, you ask? Should you even read on? Well yeah, I think so … That’s if you’re interested in good songs, exciting guitars, catchy male and female vocals and fine craftsmanship. “No Land for Escape” offers a fine contemporary mix of late eighties and early nineties music.

Comparisons with other bands is usually a rather dangerous activity but hey, danger makes me feel alive … so here we go: I hear echoes of Red Temple Spirits, Lush, Ikon, The Comsat Angels, Perverted by Desire and even Skeletal Family, largely depending on who’s singing: Helen Kazatza or Alex Milkidis.

The songs? If I had to choose a single it would be the “Lush”ious “Electrify”. “Make Me Glow” is the twinkling star in the land of no escape and also “Things We Never Shared” and “Blind” are above average. “Escape” is worth your attention because of the exquisite guitars near the end of the song. Yummy!

Indie rock, post punk, new wave, independent post wave … Who cares? I played this CD about 10 times over the last 2 weeks. Maybe that’s what you really need or want to know?

“No Land for Escape” is no masterpiece, it is the promising debut album of a talented Greek band! An album that should open some (international) doors. I, for one, am looking forward to their next album. Hopefully it doesn’t take them another 8 years …

Laissez Faire? Sure …

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


NL

“No Land for Escape” is de debuut-CD van het Griekse Laissez Faire (Thessaloniki), dat al bestaat sinds 2003. Het label van dienst is Echozone.

Deze keer geen toxische beats, ijzige stemmen straight out of hell, inkzwarte synths en meer van dat lekkers. Wel sterke songs, opwindende gitaren, catchy male en female vocals en degelijk vakmanschap. Het betere werk van vooral de jaren tachtig en de jaren negentig in een eigentijds jasje. “No Land for Escape” is een aangename CD en dat is nu eens niet sarcastisch of neerbuigend bedoeld!

Vergelijken met andere groepen is steeds een riskante onderneming maar af en toe eens gevaarlijk leven moet kunnen, toch? Ik hoor vage en minder vage echo’s van Red Temple Spirits, Lush (eerste nummer), Ikon, The Comsat Angels, Perverted by Desire en zelfs Skeletal Family, onder andere afhankelijk van wie er zingt. Dat is nu eens Helen Kazatza, dan weer Alex Milkidis.

De songs? Het vlotte “Electrify” heeft een hoog Lush-gehalte en zou ik persoonlijk kiezen als single. “Make me Glow” gloeit als geen ander nummer op deze CD en ook “Things We Never Shared” en “Blind” overstijgen de grauwe middelmaat. “Escape” krijgt tot slot nog een eervolle vermelding voor de exquise gitaarpartij naar het einde van het nummer toe!

Indie, post punk, new wave, independent post wave … Who cares? Deze CD heeft al een keer of 10 opgelegen de laatste 2 weken. Dat is misschien wat u echt moet of wilt weten?

“No Land for Escape” is geen sublieme plaat, geen meesterwerk, wel het veelbelovend debuut van een talentrijke Griekse band. Een CD die wat mij betreft best wel wat (internationale) deuren mag openen … Haal uw portemonnee dus nog maar eens boven! Ik kijk alvast uit naar hun volgend album!

Laat ze maar doen, die Grieken!

Didier PIETERS
24/08/2011


 

Next reviews
QUELQU'UN RAMASSE L'ARME DU CRIME • A Time For A Timing
PHILLIP NOYCE • Dead Calm
THE PRESENT MOMENT • Loyal To A Fault
WILLIAM FAULKNER • The Sound and the Fury | Het geluid en de drift
TAIFUN • Trondheim
JOSH OTTUM • Watch TV
MARTIN SCORSESE • Shutter Island
EXIT TO EDEN • From The Other Side
PAPA TOPO • La Chica Vampira
ORPHX • Radiotherapy

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE + POST PUNK + ROCK
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void