tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/08/2011 : TAIFUN - Trondheim

TAIFUN

Trondheim

MusicCD
IndieRock

[63/100]   

Honest House
22/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

The data of the record Trondheim contains keywords which can be acted with a few clues. I am referring to the game 'Give Us A Clue', where titles of songs, books, theatre plays or movies are guessed by a panel of players based on the mime and the improvisational talent of a fellow player. No – this review has not the intention of being a caricature, but listening to Trondheim I am forced to think of one of the standard hints that the players of the game can suggest: sounds like... and – this record sounds like: the thirteenth in the dozen.

What you hear is: a lot of guitar, quite solid guitar, and the standard rhythm of the drums. Through all of this: voices. Sometimes the songs fade down, the tempos slow down and then again it goes loud and hard. At no time am I surprised. Being surprised is not the only criterion to value music, but let the umpteenth performance of the umpteenth version of a familiar general rock concept at least astonish. But that is also not the case. Unfortunately.
Although I cannot think of decisive musical arguments, I have to encourage this band, in all fairness. These musicians need a growing process and they are quite welcome to it.

Bernadette ALLAERT
22/08/2011


NL

De gegevens van de plaat Trondheim bevatten trefwoorden die met enkele aanwijzingen kunnen worden uitgebeeld. Ik denk hierbij aan het spelletje Hints, waarbij je aan de hand van de mimiek en het improvisatietalent van een medespeler, de titels van liedjes, boeken, theaterstukken of films probeert te raden. Neen, ik maak van deze bespreking geen karikatuur, maar ik moet bij het beluisteren van Trondheim de hele tijd denken aan één van de standaardhints die de spelers van het spel elkaar kunnen aangeven: klinkt als, … En deze plaat klinkt als: de dertiende in het dozijn.

Wat je hoort is: veel gitaar, nogal stevige gitaar en de standaardritmes van een drum. Daar doorheen: stemmen. Soms verstillen de nummers, vertragen de tempo’s, en dan gaat het weer luid en hard. Ik word op geen enkel moment verrast. Verrassing is niet het enige criterium om muziek te beoordelen, maar laat de zoveelste uitvoering van de zoveelste versie van een algemeen vertrouwd rockconcept dan op zijn minst verbluffen. Maar ook dat gebeurt niet. Helaas. Niettegenstaande ik geen doorslaggevende muzikale argumenten kan bedenken, gebiedt de eerlijkheid mij om deze groep welgemeend aan te moedigen. Deze band heeft namelijk een groeiproces nodig. En dat gun ik ze van harte.

Bernadette ALLAERT
22/08/2011


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo