tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/08/2011 : TAIFUN - Trondheim

TAIFUN

Trondheim

MusicCD
IndieRock

[63/100]   

Honest House
22/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

The data of the record Trondheim contains keywords which can be acted with a few clues. I am referring to the game 'Give Us A Clue', where titles of songs, books, theatre plays or movies are guessed by a panel of players based on the mime and the improvisational talent of a fellow player. No – this review has not the intention of being a caricature, but listening to Trondheim I am forced to think of one of the standard hints that the players of the game can suggest: sounds like... and – this record sounds like: the thirteenth in the dozen.

What you hear is: a lot of guitar, quite solid guitar, and the standard rhythm of the drums. Through all of this: voices. Sometimes the songs fade down, the tempos slow down and then again it goes loud and hard. At no time am I surprised. Being surprised is not the only criterion to value music, but let the umpteenth performance of the umpteenth version of a familiar general rock concept at least astonish. But that is also not the case. Unfortunately.
Although I cannot think of decisive musical arguments, I have to encourage this band, in all fairness. These musicians need a growing process and they are quite welcome to it.

Bernadette ALLAERT
22/08/2011


NL

De gegevens van de plaat Trondheim bevatten trefwoorden die met enkele aanwijzingen kunnen worden uitgebeeld. Ik denk hierbij aan het spelletje Hints, waarbij je aan de hand van de mimiek en het improvisatietalent van een medespeler, de titels van liedjes, boeken, theaterstukken of films probeert te raden. Neen, ik maak van deze bespreking geen karikatuur, maar ik moet bij het beluisteren van Trondheim de hele tijd denken aan één van de standaardhints die de spelers van het spel elkaar kunnen aangeven: klinkt als, … En deze plaat klinkt als: de dertiende in het dozijn.

Wat je hoort is: veel gitaar, nogal stevige gitaar en de standaardritmes van een drum. Daar doorheen: stemmen. Soms verstillen de nummers, vertragen de tempo’s, en dan gaat het weer luid en hard. Ik word op geen enkel moment verrast. Verrassing is niet het enige criterium om muziek te beoordelen, maar laat de zoveelste uitvoering van de zoveelste versie van een algemeen vertrouwd rockconcept dan op zijn minst verbluffen. Maar ook dat gebeurt niet. Helaas. Niettegenstaande ik geen doorslaggevende muzikale argumenten kan bedenken, gebiedt de eerlijkheid mij om deze groep welgemeend aan te moedigen. Deze band heeft namelijk een groeiproces nodig. En dat gun ik ze van harte.

Bernadette ALLAERT
22/08/2011


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams