tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/08/2011 : TAIFUN - Trondheim

TAIFUN

Trondheim

MusicCD
IndieRock

[63/100]   

Honest House
22/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

The data of the record Trondheim contains keywords which can be acted with a few clues. I am referring to the game 'Give Us A Clue', where titles of songs, books, theatre plays or movies are guessed by a panel of players based on the mime and the improvisational talent of a fellow player. No – this review has not the intention of being a caricature, but listening to Trondheim I am forced to think of one of the standard hints that the players of the game can suggest: sounds like... and – this record sounds like: the thirteenth in the dozen.

What you hear is: a lot of guitar, quite solid guitar, and the standard rhythm of the drums. Through all of this: voices. Sometimes the songs fade down, the tempos slow down and then again it goes loud and hard. At no time am I surprised. Being surprised is not the only criterion to value music, but let the umpteenth performance of the umpteenth version of a familiar general rock concept at least astonish. But that is also not the case. Unfortunately.
Although I cannot think of decisive musical arguments, I have to encourage this band, in all fairness. These musicians need a growing process and they are quite welcome to it.

Bernadette ALLAERT
22/08/2011


NL

De gegevens van de plaat Trondheim bevatten trefwoorden die met enkele aanwijzingen kunnen worden uitgebeeld. Ik denk hierbij aan het spelletje Hints, waarbij je aan de hand van de mimiek en het improvisatietalent van een medespeler, de titels van liedjes, boeken, theaterstukken of films probeert te raden. Neen, ik maak van deze bespreking geen karikatuur, maar ik moet bij het beluisteren van Trondheim de hele tijd denken aan één van de standaardhints die de spelers van het spel elkaar kunnen aangeven: klinkt als, … En deze plaat klinkt als: de dertiende in het dozijn.

Wat je hoort is: veel gitaar, nogal stevige gitaar en de standaardritmes van een drum. Daar doorheen: stemmen. Soms verstillen de nummers, vertragen de tempo’s, en dan gaat het weer luid en hard. Ik word op geen enkel moment verrast. Verrassing is niet het enige criterium om muziek te beoordelen, maar laat de zoveelste uitvoering van de zoveelste versie van een algemeen vertrouwd rockconcept dan op zijn minst verbluffen. Maar ook dat gebeurt niet. Helaas. Niettegenstaande ik geen doorslaggevende muzikale argumenten kan bedenken, gebiedt de eerlijkheid mij om deze groep welgemeend aan te moedigen. Deze band heeft namelijk een groeiproces nodig. En dat gun ik ze van harte.

Bernadette ALLAERT
22/08/2011


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag