tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/08/2011 : TAIFUN - Trondheim

TAIFUN

Trondheim

MusicCD
IndieRock

[63/100]   

Honest House
22/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

The data of the record Trondheim contains keywords which can be acted with a few clues. I am referring to the game 'Give Us A Clue', where titles of songs, books, theatre plays or movies are guessed by a panel of players based on the mime and the improvisational talent of a fellow player. No – this review has not the intention of being a caricature, but listening to Trondheim I am forced to think of one of the standard hints that the players of the game can suggest: sounds like... and – this record sounds like: the thirteenth in the dozen.

What you hear is: a lot of guitar, quite solid guitar, and the standard rhythm of the drums. Through all of this: voices. Sometimes the songs fade down, the tempos slow down and then again it goes loud and hard. At no time am I surprised. Being surprised is not the only criterion to value music, but let the umpteenth performance of the umpteenth version of a familiar general rock concept at least astonish. But that is also not the case. Unfortunately.
Although I cannot think of decisive musical arguments, I have to encourage this band, in all fairness. These musicians need a growing process and they are quite welcome to it.

Bernadette ALLAERT
22/08/2011


NL

De gegevens van de plaat Trondheim bevatten trefwoorden die met enkele aanwijzingen kunnen worden uitgebeeld. Ik denk hierbij aan het spelletje Hints, waarbij je aan de hand van de mimiek en het improvisatietalent van een medespeler, de titels van liedjes, boeken, theaterstukken of films probeert te raden. Neen, ik maak van deze bespreking geen karikatuur, maar ik moet bij het beluisteren van Trondheim de hele tijd denken aan één van de standaardhints die de spelers van het spel elkaar kunnen aangeven: klinkt als, … En deze plaat klinkt als: de dertiende in het dozijn.

Wat je hoort is: veel gitaar, nogal stevige gitaar en de standaardritmes van een drum. Daar doorheen: stemmen. Soms verstillen de nummers, vertragen de tempo’s, en dan gaat het weer luid en hard. Ik word op geen enkel moment verrast. Verrassing is niet het enige criterium om muziek te beoordelen, maar laat de zoveelste uitvoering van de zoveelste versie van een algemeen vertrouwd rockconcept dan op zijn minst verbluffen. Maar ook dat gebeurt niet. Helaas. Niettegenstaande ik geen doorslaggevende muzikale argumenten kan bedenken, gebiedt de eerlijkheid mij om deze groep welgemeend aan te moedigen. Deze band heeft namelijk een groeiproces nodig. En dat gun ik ze van harte.

Bernadette ALLAERT
22/08/2011


Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela