tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/08/2011 : TAIFUN - Trondheim

TAIFUN

Trondheim

MusicCD
IndieRock

[63/100]   

Honest House
22/08/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

The data of the record Trondheim contains keywords which can be acted with a few clues. I am referring to the game 'Give Us A Clue', where titles of songs, books, theatre plays or movies are guessed by a panel of players based on the mime and the improvisational talent of a fellow player. No – this review has not the intention of being a caricature, but listening to Trondheim I am forced to think of one of the standard hints that the players of the game can suggest: sounds like... and – this record sounds like: the thirteenth in the dozen.

What you hear is: a lot of guitar, quite solid guitar, and the standard rhythm of the drums. Through all of this: voices. Sometimes the songs fade down, the tempos slow down and then again it goes loud and hard. At no time am I surprised. Being surprised is not the only criterion to value music, but let the umpteenth performance of the umpteenth version of a familiar general rock concept at least astonish. But that is also not the case. Unfortunately.
Although I cannot think of decisive musical arguments, I have to encourage this band, in all fairness. These musicians need a growing process and they are quite welcome to it.

Bernadette ALLAERT
22/08/2011


NL

De gegevens van de plaat Trondheim bevatten trefwoorden die met enkele aanwijzingen kunnen worden uitgebeeld. Ik denk hierbij aan het spelletje Hints, waarbij je aan de hand van de mimiek en het improvisatietalent van een medespeler, de titels van liedjes, boeken, theaterstukken of films probeert te raden. Neen, ik maak van deze bespreking geen karikatuur, maar ik moet bij het beluisteren van Trondheim de hele tijd denken aan één van de standaardhints die de spelers van het spel elkaar kunnen aangeven: klinkt als, … En deze plaat klinkt als: de dertiende in het dozijn.

Wat je hoort is: veel gitaar, nogal stevige gitaar en de standaardritmes van een drum. Daar doorheen: stemmen. Soms verstillen de nummers, vertragen de tempo’s, en dan gaat het weer luid en hard. Ik word op geen enkel moment verrast. Verrassing is niet het enige criterium om muziek te beoordelen, maar laat de zoveelste uitvoering van de zoveelste versie van een algemeen vertrouwd rockconcept dan op zijn minst verbluffen. Maar ook dat gebeurt niet. Helaas. Niettegenstaande ik geen doorslaggevende muzikale argumenten kan bedenken, gebiedt de eerlijkheid mij om deze groep welgemeend aan te moedigen. Deze band heeft namelijk een groeiproces nodig. En dat gun ik ze van harte.

Bernadette ALLAERT
22/08/2011


Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love