tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE POSIES - Solid States

THE POSIES

Solid States

MusicCD
IndieRock

[60/100]   

Lojinx
09/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Painfully undervalued since their inception in 1990, The Posies were thrown around various genres by the press back in the day. Some labelled them as grunge (are you kidding?), west-coast pop (hmm, better), country-rock (uh?) and anything other than 'well worth a listen' it seemed. 1993 saw the band enter the country's consciousness with a late-night appearance on cult 'yoof' vehicle The Word performing Flavor of the Month - what a tune.

Decent parent album Frosting on the Beater didn't exactly flourish under the spotlight and the band slipped back under the radar all too quickly. Twenty years on and the band's lynchpin drummer Darius and bassist Joe have passed away suddenly, leaving founders Jon Auer and Ken Stringfellow to glue this eighth album together. They've done a decent job in the main. Scattered and Unlikely Places possess all the trademark harmonies and surfed-up melodies, minus perhaps the 'oomph' of earlier work. Squirrel vs Snake brings to light the disharmonies and mismatches in the US, all of which could apply to the UK in truth.

Solid States sounds like a studio album - laptop and synths are prevalent on the Pet Shop Boys-esque The Definition and closer The Radiance - but the remaining members are promising full band participation on tour-dates. Nice album on the whole, the sleeve is perhaps too subtle for shops but I admire the hard times The Posies have had to overcome to bring it on.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
09/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete