tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/09/2015 : RICHARD HAWLEY - Hollow Meadows

RICHARD HAWLEY

Hollow Meadows

MusicCD
IndieRock

[90/100]   

Parlophone
10/09/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Since his glorious 2003 album Lowedges, baritone bard and balladeer Richard Hawley has christened his LPs after local landmarks - that is, local to his home-town of Sheffield. Hollow Meadows continues this formula in much the same way as the music revisits past glories such as his best-selling Coles Corner and the preceding Standing at the Sky's Edge.

But if you're expecting his recent foray into psychedelia and amplified riffs to continue all over Hollow Meadows, you may be disappointed. This album is much better than that. It still bristles with some semblance of rockist intent on the single Which Way, but for the most part I'm reminded of the aforementioned Lowedges, Coles Corner and the under-rated Late Night Final, more than the squalling feedback of later times.

Hawley's musical time-capsule still contains his trademark sculptured quiff, emotional tugs of the heartstrings, weepy guitar hooks (check Serenade Of Blue out but keep some hankies nearby) and an overall feeling that you've been here before. It's a wholesome experience, truth be told, one with which you can escape the banality and stresses thrust upon us by wooden reality-show 'talent' and celebs desperate for attention.

Richard's nicotine-doused tonsils never fail to uplift and upscale the most basic of songs. Take the admittedly straight-forward self-effacing Long Time Down. Only Hawley and his band could turn this little ditty into a big singalong and hold it there just long enough not to outstay its welcome. And then comes the nape-hair tickling shiver of Nothing Like a Friend, the sort of song that this man does with his eyes shut and his heart wide open. Rediscovery plays an important part of this album and you'll be doing just that in five, ten, twenty years time.

Refreshingly, Hollow Meadows doesn't sound like it's been borne out of tedious branding meetings around a board-table or market positioning - it's the product of soulful (dis)contentment and emotional, physical and mental graft. Far from being hollow, these meadows are creatively still very verdant. His best for a decade.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/09/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper