tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/08/2011 : ORPHX - Radiotherapy

ORPHX

Radiotherapy

MusicCD
DroneIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial

[75/100]   

Hands Productions
17/08/2011, Chris KONINGS

EN

Orphx are a Canadian duo (Rich Oddie and Christina Sealey) that have been dancing the thin line between electro and industrial for the past twenty odd years. In 1993 they made psychedelic noise-scapes inspired by the early industrial culture and the Japanese noise scene. Since they celebrated their first Hands release in 1999 a change towards idm and rhythmical industrial was made and six years after their last album (Insurgent Flows) we hear the same subtle idm constructions characterised by hypnotic static and compelling rhythms.

The first two songs (Compulsion and Contamination) fit perfectly in that description and will drag you into their musical landscape, just like Esplendor Geometrico do in a heavier, murkier soil. Radiotherapy I differs slightly with a slow build-up of tribal rhythms until it bursts to life in some sort of technoid krautrock. Again slow starting is Tensile, so slow it almost becomes boring, but gradually you become immersed in a pandemonium of repetitive deep bass rhythms. Orphx work some real magic here.

Lost Again, Radiotherapy II and Future Past stand out with the heavy use of samples and thick layered production. You're not as driven, as with the previous tracks, but great to flow along with the current. With a title like 1200µRH we can only expect a higher pace and they score a bull's eye with the deep house influence.

If you expect some reinvention, look elsewhere because after their dark techno journeys with the maxi's The Division and Black Light they return to their trusted combination of idm and rhythmic industrial with some drone and ambient influences. Easily playable but it would be nice to hear one or two longer songs, lenghts of twenty minutes like Maeror Tri would make it even more hypnotic and they clearly have the skill. A very strong comeback with only a few hints of doubt...

Chris KONINGS
17/08/2011


NL

Nederlandse versie vind je hier: Dark Entries Magazine.

Chris KONINGS
17/08/2011


 

Next reviews
PROYECTO MIRAGE • Slaves Of Capital
TZOLK'IN • Tonatiuh
THE SHOES • Crack My Bones
PLACEBO EFFECT • Gargoyles & Galleries
PETE AND THE PIRATES • One Thousand Pictures
LIQUID G. • Biohazard & Medical Waste
PETER ACKROYD • Poe, A Life Cut Short | Edgar Allan Poe, de biografie
DANCE OR DIE • Nostradamnation
ASPECTEE • Morben
MOON 74 • Newborn

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu