tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/08/2011 : ORPHX - Radiotherapy

ORPHX

Radiotherapy

MusicCD
DroneIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Industrial

[75/100]   

Hands Productions
17/08/2011, Chris KONINGS

EN

Orphx are a Canadian duo (Rich Oddie and Christina Sealey) that have been dancing the thin line between electro and industrial for the past twenty odd years. In 1993 they made psychedelic noise-scapes inspired by the early industrial culture and the Japanese noise scene. Since they celebrated their first Hands release in 1999 a change towards idm and rhythmical industrial was made and six years after their last album (Insurgent Flows) we hear the same subtle idm constructions characterised by hypnotic static and compelling rhythms.

The first two songs (Compulsion and Contamination) fit perfectly in that description and will drag you into their musical landscape, just like Esplendor Geometrico do in a heavier, murkier soil. Radiotherapy I differs slightly with a slow build-up of tribal rhythms until it bursts to life in some sort of technoid krautrock. Again slow starting is Tensile, so slow it almost becomes boring, but gradually you become immersed in a pandemonium of repetitive deep bass rhythms. Orphx work some real magic here.

Lost Again, Radiotherapy II and Future Past stand out with the heavy use of samples and thick layered production. You're not as driven, as with the previous tracks, but great to flow along with the current. With a title like 1200µRH we can only expect a higher pace and they score a bull's eye with the deep house influence.

If you expect some reinvention, look elsewhere because after their dark techno journeys with the maxi's The Division and Black Light they return to their trusted combination of idm and rhythmic industrial with some drone and ambient influences. Easily playable but it would be nice to hear one or two longer songs, lenghts of twenty minutes like Maeror Tri would make it even more hypnotic and they clearly have the skill. A very strong comeback with only a few hints of doubt...

Chris KONINGS
17/08/2011


NL

Nederlandse versie vind je hier: Dark Entries Magazine.

Chris KONINGS
17/08/2011


 

Next reviews
PROYECTO MIRAGE • Slaves Of Capital
TZOLK'IN • Tonatiuh
THE SHOES • Crack My Bones
PLACEBO EFFECT • Gargoyles & Galleries
PETE AND THE PIRATES • One Thousand Pictures
LIQUID G. • Biohazard & Medical Waste
PETER ACKROYD • Poe, A Life Cut Short | Edgar Allan Poe, de biografie
DANCE OR DIE • Nostradamnation
ASPECTEE • Morben
MOON 74 • Newborn

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis