tempobet yeni adresi
like this movie classics review

21/08/2011 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Shutter Island

MARTIN SCORSESE

Shutter Island

MovieMovie classics


[67/100]   
21/08/2011, Didier BECU

Apart from a good CD or an interesting book, we also like good movies over here so you’ll also find movie reviews here in the future.
“Shutter Island” is the latest film by Martin Scorsese who, along with Robert De Niro, combine to make one of the most inspiring duos Hollywood ever had, but times aren’t what they used to be.
More and more it seems like De Niro wants to end his filmography on a low while Scorsese has not been the director who brought us pearls like “Raging Bull” or “Good Fellas” for a long time.
Besides, Scorsese already has found his new Benjamin, who is of course, Leonard Di Caprio with whom he made “The Departed” and of course “The Aviator”.
“Shutter Island” is the sort of horror film that reminded us of his remake from J.Lee Thompson’s “Cape Fear” as once again we’re entering the brain of some madman.
Teddy Daniels (Di Caprio) is a marshall who’s sent to Shutter Island which is a deserted island where insane criminals are delivered to the atrocities from Dr. Cawley (once again an amazing Ben Kingsley).
Daniels is on the island to investigate an escape from a female patient.
For once, he’s quite keen on the job as in that famous institution also lives the pyromaniac who set fire to his house, causing the death of his wife.
What starts as the usual police thriller but as soon as we learn more about Daniels himself, the movie develops into some weird psychological puzzle.
With a running time of more than two hours this movie is at times quite wordy and you don’t have to be that much of a genius to get the plot once you’re in the middle of the movie.
Of course there’s always the genius named Scorsese even if this movie belongs to one of the lesser ones the man has made and such things are always a shame as we knew this man once made movies like “Casino”.

Didier BECU
21/08/2011


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)