tempobet yeni adresi
like this movie classics review

21/08/2011 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Shutter Island

MARTIN SCORSESE

Shutter Island

MovieMovie classics


[67/100]   
21/08/2011, Didier BECU

Apart from a good CD or an interesting book, we also like good movies over here so you’ll also find movie reviews here in the future.
“Shutter Island” is the latest film by Martin Scorsese who, along with Robert De Niro, combine to make one of the most inspiring duos Hollywood ever had, but times aren’t what they used to be.
More and more it seems like De Niro wants to end his filmography on a low while Scorsese has not been the director who brought us pearls like “Raging Bull” or “Good Fellas” for a long time.
Besides, Scorsese already has found his new Benjamin, who is of course, Leonard Di Caprio with whom he made “The Departed” and of course “The Aviator”.
“Shutter Island” is the sort of horror film that reminded us of his remake from J.Lee Thompson’s “Cape Fear” as once again we’re entering the brain of some madman.
Teddy Daniels (Di Caprio) is a marshall who’s sent to Shutter Island which is a deserted island where insane criminals are delivered to the atrocities from Dr. Cawley (once again an amazing Ben Kingsley).
Daniels is on the island to investigate an escape from a female patient.
For once, he’s quite keen on the job as in that famous institution also lives the pyromaniac who set fire to his house, causing the death of his wife.
What starts as the usual police thriller but as soon as we learn more about Daniels himself, the movie develops into some weird psychological puzzle.
With a running time of more than two hours this movie is at times quite wordy and you don’t have to be that much of a genius to get the plot once you’re in the middle of the movie.
Of course there’s always the genius named Scorsese even if this movie belongs to one of the lesser ones the man has made and such things are always a shame as we knew this man once made movies like “Casino”.

Didier BECU
21/08/2011


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia