tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/08/2011 : EXIT TO EDEN - From The Other Side

EXIT TO EDEN

From The Other Side

MusicCD
Dark PopGothic

[66/100]   

Transwaved Records
21/08/2011, Didier BECU

People carrying a cross is nothing new on a cover but in the case of Exit To Eden it is, as the torture instrument has the form of a guitar.
Genius or just some bad joke?
We guess it's a mixture that presents us the best of both worlds as this Austrian band surely know how to deliver a good goth-rock song even if a genre like dark rock has its place as well.
On this debut they're represented by eight songs and from the very first moments it's crystal clear that singer RadoMir must have stood several times in front of mirror pretending to be Carl McCoy or Andrew Eldritch.
Nothing wrong with that, especially if they can manage to write a song like "Sarah" (without any doubt the strongest track on here or closing track "Remember" that could have graced any Bauhaus album).
Not all compositions are that strong and at times we felt that the guitar sound could have been a bit more adventurous. But there's still a future for this band, who played gigs with the likes of Vic Anselmo, Nik Page, Last days Of Jesus and Tanzwut.
Some will accuse them of clinging too much to the past and even if you can see quite well which heroes might have inspired them, Exit To Eden is a more than nice, welcome for people who like the sound of old school goth-rock that doesn’t avoid the rock part.

Didier BECU
21/08/2011


 

Next reviews
PAPA TOPO • La Chica Vampira
ORPHX • Radiotherapy
PROYECTO MIRAGE • Slaves Of Capital
TZOLK'IN • Tonatiuh
THE SHOES • Crack My Bones
PLACEBO EFFECT • Gargoyles & Galleries
PETE AND THE PIRATES • One Thousand Pictures
LIQUID G. • Biohazard & Medical Waste
PETER ACKROYD • Poe, A Life Cut Short | Edgar Allan Poe, de biografie
DANCE OR DIE • Nostradamnation

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + GOTHIC
LEBANON HANOVER • Tomb For Two
FLESH & FELL
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
RED TEMPLE SPIRITS • Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...
BLACK ICE • Before the first light
VIC ANSELMO • In My Fragile
THE WOLF GANG • First Blood EP
LIFE IN SODOM • The Hollow and Haunted House EP
DEAD GUITARS • Stranger

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)