tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/08/2011 : EXIT TO EDEN - From The Other Side

EXIT TO EDEN

From The Other Side

MusicCD
Dark PopGothic

[66/100]   

Transwaved Records
21/08/2011, Didier BECU

People carrying a cross is nothing new on a cover but in the case of Exit To Eden it is, as the torture instrument has the form of a guitar.
Genius or just some bad joke?
We guess it's a mixture that presents us the best of both worlds as this Austrian band surely know how to deliver a good goth-rock song even if a genre like dark rock has its place as well.
On this debut they're represented by eight songs and from the very first moments it's crystal clear that singer RadoMir must have stood several times in front of mirror pretending to be Carl McCoy or Andrew Eldritch.
Nothing wrong with that, especially if they can manage to write a song like "Sarah" (without any doubt the strongest track on here or closing track "Remember" that could have graced any Bauhaus album).
Not all compositions are that strong and at times we felt that the guitar sound could have been a bit more adventurous. But there's still a future for this band, who played gigs with the likes of Vic Anselmo, Nik Page, Last days Of Jesus and Tanzwut.
Some will accuse them of clinging too much to the past and even if you can see quite well which heroes might have inspired them, Exit To Eden is a more than nice, welcome for people who like the sound of old school goth-rock that doesn’t avoid the rock part.

Didier BECU
21/08/2011


 

Next reviews
PAPA TOPO • La Chica Vampira
ORPHX • Radiotherapy
PROYECTO MIRAGE • Slaves Of Capital
TZOLK'IN • Tonatiuh
THE SHOES • Crack My Bones
PLACEBO EFFECT • Gargoyles & Galleries
PETE AND THE PIRATES • One Thousand Pictures
LIQUID G. • Biohazard & Medical Waste
PETER ACKROYD • Poe, A Life Cut Short | Edgar Allan Poe, de biografie
DANCE OR DIE • Nostradamnation

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + GOTHIC
LEBANON HANOVER • Tomb For Two
FLESH & FELL
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
RED TEMPLE SPIRITS • Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...
BLACK ICE • Before the first light
VIC ANSELMO • In My Fragile
THE WOLF GANG • First Blood EP
LIFE IN SODOM • The Hollow and Haunted House EP
DEAD GUITARS • Stranger

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You