tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/10/2011 : BLACK ICE - Before the first light

BLACK ICE

Before the first light

MusicCD
Dark PopGothic

[72/100]   

Hungry Eyes Records
17/10/2011, Didier BECU

We guess that outside the American Bay Area no one has ever heard from Black Ice and that itself is a shame.
True, we actually say this about every unsigned band or talents that seem to be wasted just because of the ignorance from the music-audience but still we think that this time we got it right. Not that these Americans do anything new, at contrary!

But what they do is done good and they're coming up with a sound that we just haven't heard enough the last years.
From the moment the laser hits the disc you'll hear nine tracks that will let you relive the finest postpunk-moments from bands like Penetration, Siouxsie & The Banshees or even Ghostdance.

Due to the dark vocals from Miss Kel (love that name!) you'll tend to categorize this as goth and in a way it is but if this album (which already is their third one) would have been released in, say 1985, we're convinced that we might have used words like "an almost classic".

You can accuse Black Ice from digging in the past but it's better to be stuck in the past and coming up with the right melodies then pretending to be the future and being bland, not?

So yes, check 'em out!

 

 

Didier BECU
17/10/2011


 

Next reviews
VIC ANSELMO • In My Fragile
SANKT OTTEN • Gottes Synthesizer
MARKUS SCHULZ PRESENTS DAKOTA • Thoughts Become Things II
A7IE • Narcissick
GOD MODULE • Séance
SASCHA DRAGHEIM • Patient_ce
SPLINN • Becoming Ourselves
SKINNY PUPPY • hanDover
IN CAMERA • IV Songs + II
A THOUSAND SOCIETIES • Le Crépuscule Des Idoles

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + GOTHIC
LEBANON HANOVER • Tomb For Two
FLESH & FELL
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
RED TEMPLE SPIRITS • Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...
VIC ANSELMO • In My Fragile
EXIT TO EDEN • From The Other Side
THE WOLF GANG • First Blood EP
LIFE IN SODOM • The Hollow and Haunted House EP
DEAD GUITARS • Stranger

 

Same genre: DARK POP
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room